Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Les Misérables [Vinyl]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Les Misérables [Vinyl]

56 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Vinyl, October 17, 1990
"Please retry"
$140.00 $149.95

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Check Out Our Turntable Store
    Need a new record player? Check out our turntable store for a great selection of turntables, needles, accessories, and more.

Disc: 1
1. La Journée Est Finie
2. L 'Air de la Misére
3. Les Beaux Cheveux Que Voilà
4. J'Avais Rêvé d'une Autre Vie
5. Dites-Moi Ce Qui Se Passe
6. Fantine et Monsieur Madeleine
7. Mon Prince Est en Chemin
8. Mam'zelle Crapaud
9. La Devise du Cabaretier
10. Valjean Chez les Thénardier
See all 14 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. A l Volonté du Peuple
2. Cosette: Dans la Vie
3. Marius: Dans la Vie
4. Voilà le Soir Qui Tombe
5. Le Coeur au Bonheur (Cosette et Marius)
6. L 'Un Vers l'Autre
7. La Faute à Voltaire
8. La Nuit de l'Angoisse
9. Demain
10. Ce N'Est Rien
See all 18 tracks on this disc

Product Details

  • Vinyl (October 17, 1990)
  • Label: Relativity
  • ASIN: B00008FNW7
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (56 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,061,300 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful By max saravia on April 19, 2002
Format: Audio CD
This is the one that got the whole thing started!
For all the loyal fans of Les Miserables, this is a must own. Even if you do not speak French, this album is a real jewel. I found that, as I suspected, the French version's songs are much nicer, more natural, and have better rhymes. Among my favorites: La Journée Est Finie (At the end of the day), J'Avais Rêvé d'Une Autre Vie (I dreamed a dream), Mon Prince Est en Chemin (Castle in the cloud), La Devise du Cabaretier (Master of the House), Le Coeur au Bonheur (A heart full of love) to mention just a few.
This recording became the first version of the stage show in Paris in 1978, long before Schonberg (music) and Boublil (lyrics) ever imagined that a French musical could be adapted for the English speaking world, to later become a multinational, multi-language phenomenon. For obvious reasons, in order to adapt it for the English play, the original concept had to be modified . Segments and songs were added to familiarize the English speaking public with a novel that is standard reading in any French school, and considered by many as the second most read book in history (after the Bible).
The work is faithful to Hugo's novel which was first published in France and Belgium in 1862. Although the novel is very lengthy and rich in infinitesimal details, the main plot around Fantine, Cosette, Valjean, Marius, Javert and others remains truly genuine; unlike the English version, this one does not have the climatic ending.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
30 of 31 people found the following review helpful By Wayne Rossi on February 17, 2001
Format: Audio CD
I only know a handful of words in French. However, this does not stop me from knowing a great recording when I hear it. And this is a great recording.
For me, the highlights of this 2-disc Boublil & Schönberg masterwork are "L'Air De La Misère," "J'avais Rêvé D'Une Autre Vie," "A La Volonté du Peuple," "L'Un Vers L'Autre," and "La Faute A Voltaire." "L'Air..." was sung beautifully by Fantine here, though it would go on to be the intimately familiar "On My Own" in the English version, sung by Éponine. Fantine got to keep "J'avais Rêvé..." as "I Dreamed A Dream," though it also contains a snippet that would be used as the basis for "Lovely Ladies." In my opinion, "A La Volonté du Peuple" will never be eclipsed by its English counterpart "Do You Hear the People Sing?", much as I love the latter. "La Faute A Voltaire" was based on poetry by Victor Hugo, and the main theme will run under "Little People" in the show.
It's a fundamentally different piece than the Cameron Mackintosh production, but I think it is also an absolutely perfect complement to the various recordings of the stage version. The orchestrations are interesting, as there is no readily apparent synthesizer (and the stage versions would use them heavily). As a whole, it perfectly preserves the spirit of Victor Hugo's massive novel.
Highest honor in this album goes to Rose Laurens as Fantine, with close seconds going to Michel Sardou for Enjolras and Marie (this is the only name the notes give) as Éponine.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
31 of 34 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on May 21, 2000
Format: Audio CD
I love this CD. Although I am not a fan of concept albums in general, and always prefer cast recordings, this one is filled with simply wonderful voices and touching performances. The lyrics are good and sound enchanting in French.
While a lot is obviously missing from this CD-- many songs were later added such as "Bring him home"-- I was absolutely amazed by the quality of the performances. I am not certain of all the names of the performers, so I'll refrain from mentioning them, so as not to make a mistake.
Fantine on this record is incredible-- her songs are so touching and emotional she can rival any of the best stage Fantines, and then some. And I like "L'air de la misere" which later obviously became Eponine's "On my own" much better in this format.
Valjean doesn't have many parts strangely enough, but I always thought a tenor Valjean was a bit strange. Here, he is a baritone, who sounds his age, and is very touching.
I love the "Master of the House"!-- this song and the singer fit together so well here, it's definitely the best version I have ever heard. The overreacting and oversinging of this song in the other Les Miz recordings goes on my nerves, and the exaggerated English and wacky voices that are somehow always employed make it sound like Muppet Show. Here, it's fantastic.
The young Cosette and Gavroche are exeptional. And the song which later became "Castle on a cloud" is just more heartfelt than in the other versions I have heard (make that 'all the other CDs'). I also love the Eponine and older Cosette here, while Enjolras's voice completely blew me away (very powerful). Marius is the only, well, not 'mediocre' performer, but he sounds like most other Mariuses I have heard since then.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category