Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Prime Music Sweepstakes egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Grooming Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Shop Now HTL
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Les Rarissimes de Thierry De Brunhoff

1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, May 11, 2004
"Please retry"
$235.89 $341.22

$25,000 Prime Sweepstakes: This Week Only
Listen to Prime Music for a chance to win $25,000 in Gift Cards. Play any song, station, or playlist to be automatically entered. No purchase necessary. See Official Rules for details and alternate method of entry. Ends December 5, 2015.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. I Allegro Moderato, Con Spirito Ed Assai Legato
  2. II Andante
  3. III Menuetto Capriccioso (Presto Assai)
  4. IV Rondo (Moderato E Molto Grazioso)
  5. Rondo Brillant B Flat Major, Op.62
  6. Aufforderung Zum Tanz (L'Invitation A La Valse) Rondo Brillant D Flat Major, Op.65
  7. Polacca Brillante 'L'Hilarite' E Major, Op.72
  8. Polonaise No 5 F Sharp Minor, Op.44
  9. Nocturne C Sharp Minor, Op. Posth.
  10. No 1 In B Flat Major
  11. No 2 E Minor
  12. No 3 A Flat Major
  13. No 4 A Minor
  14. No 1 F Minor
  15. No 2 D Flat Major
  16. No 3 A Flat Major

Disc: 2

  1. Ballade No 4 F Minor, Op.52
  2. Barcarolle F Sharp Major, Op.60
  3. Davidsbundlertanze, 18 Charakterstucke Op.6
  4. Humoreske Op.20

Product Details

  • Performer: Thierry De Brunhoff
  • Composer: Carl Maria von Weber, Frederic Chopin, Robert Schumann
  • Audio CD (May 11, 2004)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B00011RUM4
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #677,366 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Doug - Haydn Fan VINE VOICE on October 12, 2009
Verified Purchase
Thierry de Brunhoff trained under the great French pianist Alfred Cortot, who had many years earlier also taught Brunhoff's mother. The son of the immortal creator of "Babar the Elephant", Jean de Brunhoff, Thierry never really knew his father, who died of tuberculosis when Thierry was only three years old. Under the influence of his mother he studied the piano, and was accepted at a very early age - nine - into Cortot's class at the Ecole Normale de Musique. His career developed into that of a concert pianist, and between 1964 and 1968 he made these recordings - two full Cds worth of Romantic piano music. Thierry was involved in a bad automobile wreck, and although still able to play - he recorded the Schumann selections here after the accident - he soon withdrew from further recording, and turned to teaching. In 1974 Thierry left society and joined the Benedictine Order. He was still alive in 2003 when his mother passed away at the age of 99.

Brunhoff's playing might be said to be imbued with much of the imaginative and searching qualities of Cortot. Yet his playing rarely is as excessive - nor as exciting or original. Rhythms and loud passages seldom intrude or break the line - with Brunhoff melodic elements are carefully presented and rarely overshadowed by volumes of forte attacks. He has ideas about what he wants to say, and does so in such ways and with such a manner as to win you over, however little there may be of the overtly virtuoso in his style. Each time I play one of his selections I find myself appreciating Brunhoff's playing more for what he has to say than how he says it. This is not a pianist who seeks to wow us, but rather one who deferentially invites listners to join him in his vision of the music.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in