$6.99 + $3.99 shipping
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by MUSICSCORE444.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting viewers with great music since 1972. All used discs are inspected and guaranteed. Customer service is our top priority!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Lesbian American Composers
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Lesbian American Composers Import

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, May 19, 1998
"Please retry"
$6.99 $3.35

Product Details

  • Composer: Ruth Anderson, Eve Beglarian, Madelyn Byrne, Lori Freedman / Marilyn Lerner, Jennifer Higdon, et al.
  • Audio CD (May 19, 1998)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Composers Recordings
  • ASIN: B000006HHZ
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #333,245 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Poem of Change
2. Raw Silk (A Rag)
3. Portait of Sappho
4. Barbie's Other Shoe
5. Patience & Sarah: I Want to Live
6. Wolf Chaser
7. running the edgE, for 2 flutes & percussive piano
8. I Give You Back
9. Winter
10. SUM (State of the Union Message)
11. running the edgE, for 2 flutes & percussive piano
12. I Give You Back
13. Winter
14. SUM (State of the Union Message)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful By Steve Benner VINE VOICE on May 8, 2001
Format: Audio CD
CRI, the publishers of this disc, "Lesbian American Composers", describe it as a collection of music from composers who `just happen to be gay'. They might equally well have termed it `music from composers who just happen to be women', or, even, for that matter, `just happen to be American'! To my ears, at least, there is little about these compositions that celebrates anything of the composers' gender, sexuality or nationality. The collection presented here nevertheless comes across as something more than merely a marketing gimmick. CRI are to be praised for bringing works such as these to public notice.
The ten tracks on this disc are all comparatively recent compositions (or at least revisions) and come from the hands of (mostly) American women composers, who range in age from 28 to 72. As one might expect, the collection encompasses a wide range of musical styles and aesthetics, from "Raw Silk (a Rag) - a rather straightforward piano rag by "Nurit Tilles' - to Ruth Anderson's hilarious "SUM (State of the Union Message)" - a tape collage of snippets taken from old American TV commercials.
Also as might be expected, Pauline Oliveros provides the most politically challenging work. Her opening "Poem of Change" appears to be a fairly simple work for voice and sonic events but is, none the less, every bit as thought provoking and disturbing as only Oliveros can be. Annea Lockwood's setting of Joy Harjo's poem, "I Give You Back", for solo vocalist, comes a pretty close second, though. In contrast, "Barbie's Other Shoe", an improvisation by Lori Freedman on half clarinet and Marilyn Lerner on piano, has considerably less bite and acerbity than the title might suggest.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

MUSICSCORE444 Privacy Statement MUSICSCORE444 Shipping Information MUSICSCORE444 Returns & Exchanges