Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! And easy to follow.
I got this DVD to get better in my modern dance class. If your school does Horton exercises and you want to see how they are done on your own time, this is great. It is a professional DVD presentation which first shows you a given exercise using several dancers at different angles to the camera, and then breaks the exercise down into the important things to note and...
Published on October 7, 2005 by A Reader from Chicago

versus
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful moves, but not enough instruction
I am not a dancer, but I thought who better to take tips from about warming up & stretching then people who put their body through hours of intense work daily?
Watching the dancers graceful movements was beautiful to see how the body moves when posture is correct.
The DVD runs like a copy of an old VHS from the 80s with everyone including the guys in bright...
Published on April 13, 2006 by Lena, Massage Therapist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! And easy to follow., October 7, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up (DVD)
I got this DVD to get better in my modern dance class. If your school does Horton exercises and you want to see how they are done on your own time, this is great. It is a professional DVD presentation which first shows you a given exercise using several dancers at different angles to the camera, and then breaks the exercise down into the important things to note and keep in mind. It has good flow, so you can do the exercises as you watch them, which I do.

I am glad I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful moves, but not enough instruction, April 13, 2006
This review is from: Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up (DVD)
I am not a dancer, but I thought who better to take tips from about warming up & stretching then people who put their body through hours of intense work daily?
Watching the dancers graceful movements was beautiful to see how the body moves when posture is correct.
The DVD runs like a copy of an old VHS from the 80s with everyone including the guys in bright neon, tight spandex. Exactly what you see on the picture of the DVD. The chapter menu is good.
There are diff exercises such as flat back stretching, primitive squat descent, lateral torso stretches & release torso swings, leg swings, deep lunges, fortifications (hamstring & calf stretches, balancing on toes, plies, hip propulsion), elementary balance (ballet style), 5/4 swings (lateral torso swing & turn w/leg in split in the air), dimensional tonus (using other moves in slower more toning way), & the first 5 exercises. (exactly what you see on the picture.) I did feel more stretched out, some exercise work as good or better then yoga or look similar to it.
The cons is first they show the dancers doing it with general stiff female voice over, not instructions how they do it so you have to the look at the screen. After is the same woman voice over with pictures of what they did reminding you some posture cues, etc., though not enough to be of that much help.
At the end they show the first 5 exercises only one after the other without stopping.
I would only recommend this to anyone who doesn't have any joint limitations or muscle/bone issues, can do squats several times easily, can swing their leg fwd to their chest & backwards & up & exercises regularly.
I took off two stars for the lack of instruction & stiff presentation & I personally love the movement itself, I don't like how each move is executed with a slow, quick, slow, quick speed. It's great for increasing precision & control, but not good for increasing fluidity & being in the moment in your body other then a logical way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to Horton Technique, January 1, 2011
By 
MTguy "R" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up (DVD)
I'm a dance instructor and bought this video because I was interested in incorporating Horton concepts and exercises into my jazz warm-up.
This is an excellent introduction to the Horton Technique, the video goes through the exercises of the Horton warm-up from a variety of angles then gives specific technical information on how the exercises are to be performed. The pacing is great. The video begins with a brief introduction to the history and philosophy of the technique and its founder and ends with a Horton Family Tree that lists all of the influential dancers and choreographers (Bella Lewitsky, Merce Cunningham, Alvin Ailey) who were trained in Horton technique and were able to use it in their varied styles.
I recommend this video to anyone interested in a highly adaptable technique that emphasizes anatomically corrective movement and the expansion of the expressive capabilities of the body.
I also recommend the Dance Technique of Lester Horton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Changes Needed, August 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up (DVD)
The movements are excellent; however, they need to convert it into a 50 minute workout so that a student can mimic the performer. For this you need a different camera POV. The performer faces a mirror. You see the performer from behind and the side while also seeing the mirror reflection which shows the performer's front. All done on a 36" x 78" mat so the routine can be done in a small room - which is what most people will have. If they make these changes this will be a great, tough workout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, July 31, 2013
This review is from: Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up (DVD)
I gave a low ranking for the Horton DVD because, although it is a perfectly nice and somewhat informative DVD, it is not what I expected. I thought it would be more like a dance class that I could follow along. It's too broken up and in the part that does connect some of the warmup exercises together they only do a few of them, not all that they demonstrate in the breakdown section. I hoped to be able to use it like a without DVD, only as a dance class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am pleased with the exercises it shows (although preliminary), September 20, 2014
This review is from: Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up (DVD)
I teach this technique at the high school level and bought this DVD to reaffirm my knowledge. I am pleased with the exercises it shows (although preliminary). They are demonstrated professionally so the viewers get a sense of how intense the strengthening proccess is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very usefull, January 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up (DVD)
Handy videotape, especially for teachers who would like to incorporate Horton excersises in their modern classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its ok, February 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up (DVD)
After a few years in modern dance class, this material seems very old hat.

Buy it if you've never danced and want to maintain range of motion as you age, or if the Horton technique is a big part of your studio work, but for the average (active) person, its stuff you already know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up
Lester Horton Technique: The Warm-Up by Ana Marie Forsythe (DVD - 2005)
$19.99 $11.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.