Customer Reviews


657 Reviews
5 star:
 (388)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (65)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


112 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm 12, and have been for a long time." This is a wonderful film, poignant, restrained, a little bloody and one to talk about
Let the Right One In is poignant, sad, weird, different, elusive, as well as being a fine movie. Oskar is a blond 12-year-old who lives with his divorced mother in an apartment complex in Stockholm. He's bullied incessantly at school. Neither his mother nor his father seems to have much time for him. He's a quiet kid who dreams of getting back at his tormentors. He...
Published on December 7, 2008 by C. O. DeRiemer

versus
749 of 793 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wait before you purchase
Do not buy this movie yet. Magnolia butchered the subtitles and will be releasing a version with the theatrical subtitles in the near future. Magnolia will not replace this disc with the fixed one, so hold off on your purchase. You will know the correct version when you see "subtitles: English (theatrical release)" in the specs on the back.
Published on March 25, 2009 by A. Barney


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

749 of 793 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wait before you purchase, March 25, 2009
Do not buy this movie yet. Magnolia butchered the subtitles and will be releasing a version with the theatrical subtitles in the near future. Magnolia will not replace this disc with the fixed one, so hold off on your purchase. You will know the correct version when you see "subtitles: English (theatrical release)" in the specs on the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


454 of 483 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles really do make a difference, March 24, 2009
This review is from: Let The Right One In (DVD)
I was very disappointed with this DVD. So much so that I'm returning my copy of it. I saw the movie in theatres, and found it masterful. The amazing tone is part of the beauty of the film, and the subtitles on the US DVD release are a travesty. They remove most of the subtlety from the tone and characters (see [...] for examples). The movie I saw in theatres was a masterpiece; the movie on this DVD (using subtitles) is a mediocrity. If you are going to buy this DVD, either download and use the theatrical subtitles or use the mediocre dubbing track. As for me, I'm going to look for another region's copy or wait for a re-release.

In the end, this DVD is a masterclass on why good subtitle translations are critical in foreign films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


485 of 532 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!, March 23, 2009
This review is from: Let The Right One In (DVD)
THE DVD SUBTITLES ARE POORLY, POORLY TRANSLATED AND RUIN THE MOVIE!!!!
Magnolia/MAGNET refused to pay for the original translations and hired there own in order to cut costs. I encourage you to write Magnolia/MAGNET and demand a re-issue with the correct subtitles, and a refund for your defective DVDs and Blu-rays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm 12, and have been for a long time." This is a wonderful film, poignant, restrained, a little bloody and one to talk about, December 7, 2008
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let The Right One In (DVD)
Let the Right One In is poignant, sad, weird, different, elusive, as well as being a fine movie. Oskar is a blond 12-year-old who lives with his divorced mother in an apartment complex in Stockholm. He's bullied incessantly at school. Neither his mother nor his father seems to have much time for him. He's a quiet kid who dreams of getting back at his tormentors. He doesn't seem to have any friends. Then an older man and a child move into the apartment building. Her name, we learn, is Eli. She's 12 years old, too, pale, and at times looks haggard. Oskar meets her one evening in the playground in front of the apartment complex. Snow is deep on the ground. The weather is freezing. The cold doesn't bother Eli. By now we know Eli is a vampire. Oskar realizes this later.

Let The Right One In is a strange fusion of coming-of-age and horror, but the result is something else. Don't ask me what. It doesn't fit in any film genre I'm familiar with. Calling it `horror" is too facile. Calling it "coming of age" is too shallow. In the course of the movie people will die, drained of their blood. Eli's...what?...protector?...partner?...the older man named Hakan she lives with...will kill for the blood he and Eli must have to survive. He'll die a terrible death himself. Eli will tell Oskar that they can't be friends, yet Oskar yearns for friendship. He asks Eli to be his girl friend before he knows she is a vampire and she asks him if he would like her if she weren't a girl. When he asks her age, she tells him she is 12 and has been for a long time. Oskar's innocence may be part of his protection. Eli is not innocent, but at times she seems as fragile as Oskar. Like the man she lives with, Eli will kill for blood. She must.

Kare Hedebrant plays Oskar and Lina Leandersson plays Eli. I understand that at the time of filming Hedebrant was 12 and Leandersson was 11. Both were nonprofessionals. They are unnervingly natural. Neither makes a single false step. Hedebrant is exactly what a lonely, bullied 12-year-old could be. Leandersson is able to imply things we may not want to know just be being still. I wound up hoping for the best for both Oskar and Eli...but what the best might be could go in a number of directions.

This is a film, adapted from his novel by John Ajvide Linqvist, which invites discussion and interpretation. Not everything is kept clear, and, for me, that increases the sense of elusiveness. Lat Den Ratte Komma is a wonderful film.

Excuse me, however, if I reach for a barf bag. The director of Cloverfield, Mat Reeves, has evidently signed to make an English language version for Overture Films and Hammer Films. The chance that something unusual, unsettling and restrained will be turned into butcher shop leftovers is just about, I'd guess, one hundred per cent. See this movie while you can. Since it probably will be shown in only a handful of American theaters, I recommend you buy it sight unseen when it comes out on DVD. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Magpictures: LET THE WRONG ONE IN, March 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Let The Right One In (DVD)
I too bought this film from amazon and wish that Magnolia had disclosed a change in the subtitles from original release of the film. This change completely worsens a great foreign film.

Buyers beware of this problem with the release. Hopefully we can expect Magnolia to own up to their decision and replace what i consider defective copies.

MY thoughts echo another commenter:

Unbelievable. Just read the comment saying that they WILL REISSUE the disc but that they WILL NOT HAVE AN EXCHANGE PROGRAM for those who purchased their DEFECTIVE PRODUCT. So let me get this straight; those of us who love this film, preordered it, then pointed out their mistake, thereby saving others from a mutilated film end up being PUNISHED because of it? Magnolia, you're a real class act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the right one, April 5, 2009
This review is from: Let The Right One In (DVD)
There is no excuse for this pitiful translation - regardless of whether you speak Swedish or not - the dvd subtitle track is awful. Wait for the new edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film, Terrible Subtitles, March 26, 2009
By 
Ki Jong Kim (Seoul, Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let The Right One In (DVD)
I love this movie. I've watch this movie eleven times at theatres including festival screenings. I couldn't hear the swedish language but I liked to hear them, and the subtitles were more than good enough to understand the meanings of the lines as well as the subtle diffence of the original language.

BUT, this dvd has totally different subtitles. Problem is that the translation is terrible. The worst. Totally Irrelevant to the lines or situations. This ruined the beauty of this movie.

The theatrical translations are dubbed into English voice. What the hell is matter with Magnolia? Why didn't they just put the same translations into subtitles? Magnolia Home Entertainment, You disappointed lots of fans of this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING THIS DISC IS DEFECTIVE!, March 24, 2009
This review is from: Let The Right One In (DVD)
1) the translated English subtitles are changed and do greatly mutilate the experience that the theatrical subtitles provided. Magnet films has acknowledged this but will offer no exchange program and has refused to stop distributing this defective disc.
2) the disc is defective in that there is a subtitle selection other than English called, "narrative English" and it is completely blank. There is not a single subtitle on that track. Magnet released a defective product then said it wasn't defective just creatively manipulated because they didn't want to pay for the very well done theatrical subtitles. If you must own this movie now go buy the region free Swedish release. it has the theactrical subs intact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Put the correct subtitles back, April 5, 2009
This review is from: Let The Right One In (DVD)
Until the issue witht the subtitles is corrected and labeled as such so I know what I'm ordering, I will be have to pass on ordering this excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FEEL CHEATED BY SUBSTANDARD SUBTITLE WORK!!!! UPDATED, March 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They obviously do not respect the work, the director, and most of all, the audience. That in this day and age they will choose to cheap out and use substandard subtitles, knowing full well that consumers will have an outlet to complain and therefore hurt their sales, simply means one thing: they didn't care! Well guess what? Now they will have to reissue this disc, or else it WILL HURT their bottom line. We have to take a stand and DEMAND they correct their gross negligence.

UPDATE: Unbelievable. Just read the comment saying that they WILL REISSUE the disc but that they WILL NOT HAVE AN EXCHANGE PROGRAM for those who purchased their DEFECTIVE PRODUCT. So let me get this straight; those of us who love this film, preordered it, then pointed out their mistake, thereby saving others from a mutilated film end up being PUNISHED because of it? Magnolia, you're a real class act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Let The Right One In
Let The Right One In by Tomas Alfredson (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.