Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 2, 2003
Wow I can't believe it! This is the first Goosebumps book I've read and it's good so far. I always thought goosebump books are not good until now. The story is about a boy named Max who's birthday party just ended. When Max decides to bring his left over friends upstairs to his room, Max's friend Erin is so excited to go to the attic so they go there instead. Then Max's dog finds a hidden door and starts scratching it. Max finds that there is a mirror that sllows him to turn invisible. The next time Max turns invisible it will be.....forever....
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
Bought for my 8 year old daughter after a discussion about how I used to read these books at her age. It didn't disappoint. Also, the book was in good condition (used) and shipped really fast. Will definitely buy from them again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
This book is in good condition. For a collector this book isn't the original. If your not a collector this book is a bonus. The book i received is three books in one. "Say Cheese and Die" "Curse of the Mummy" and "Let's Get Invisible."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
Though not in the very highest echelon of Goosebumps entries, Let's Get Invislble! comes close, and hails from a time in which Stine took a darker and more carefully written approach to the series. No silly monsters here.

I like Max. He's a good kid who looks out for his little brother, nicknamed Lefty, and is cautious of the potential dangers of the mirror, which turns characters invisible when they pull a light switch. The brothers and their friends (two girls and a boy) compete to see who can be invisible the longest, which eventually becomes less interesting since they do very little with the powers of invisibility. But the mirror is like a drug in that it makes the user grow faint the longer he/she is invisible, though for some reason, Max feels the side effects more than the others. I wish the consistencies were more ironed out, but it still works.

Blogger Troy Steele said that this is the most leisurely-paced of the series, and I agree. Time is taken to build suspense, drip out every moment of angst, and make characters likeable. You really need to "stick with it". Chapters are longer than most in the series, keeping false scares at a minimum and paying more attention to fleshing out the story. It's also the longest of the series, at 139 pages, which I noticed as a kid.

Let's Get Invisible is a good read and I recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2007
Bit disappointed in Stine with this effort, compared to other invisible man (boy/girl) adventures this story is pretty mild entertainment and thriller wise. Stine is one of the better Horror/scary story authors out there, I just expected more. It's almost as if the invisibility part of the story is only even there as it is needed to tie the reason for Max, his brother and friends to hang out around the mirror, the chances to have fun with the characters being invisible just isn't explored. We the reader, only have one experience of a character doing anything with the unsuspecting public and that was very mild indeed.

Plus Stine takes the lazy option of food eaten, clothes, hair and everything else turning invisible as well as the human which again misses the reader out on opportunities for funny or interesting situations with the characters, especially since Max (the main character) would have to have been naked to fully be invisible in the same room as girls that go to his school (including one he thinks is cute). The author could have let the reader have a lot of fun with something like that. There are just a lot of areas this story could have gone that it didn't which make it disappointing being such as simple and uneventful storyline and how predictable is the ending as well?

If you don't know what this book is about but the title seems interesting to you, it's the story of Max who just turned 12, who after his birthday party while taking a girl he likes, her friend and his younger brother up to the attic discovers a room (that somehow his parents and everyone else have never noticed before) which has an old large mirror inside. Tugging on the chain to turn on the light he becomes invisible and only reappears when the light is turned off. This impresses the girls but unfortunately one of their mothers has arrived to take them home. Scared but fascinated of the mirror Max warns his brother not to go near it but of course what little brother ever listens. A couple of days later Max invites his best friend as well the girls back to his house and even though after a while being invisible makes them feel really bad, peer pressure keeps them all having shots at beating the record for time being invisible. Max seems to be the only one actually worried about everyone's health. Unfortunately their health isn't the only thing he needs to fear.

R.L. Stine also has another invisibility adventure of a boy who discovers an invisible man living in his house called My Best Friend is Invisible, although its ending lets it down, it is a lot better story than this one.

The best reads in the invisibility genre are -
Aimed at children
My Invisible Sister by Beatrice Colin & Sara Pinto
Invisible Fran by Jim Benton
Invisible Man's Socks by Alex Shearer
Frankenstein Makes a Sandwich by Adam Rex
You are Invisible by Susan Saunders (Also has, like this book does, kids in an attic if you're into this)
The Invisible Day by Marthe Jocelyn
Selby's Shemozzle by Duncan Ball

For those up to the older reading level
Memoirs of an Invisible Man by H. F. Saint
Smoke by Donald E. Westlake
The Invisible Man by H. G. Wells
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 19, 2006
ISBN 059045370X - Maybe because it's an early volume this is, in my opinion, one of Stine's better books. Later in the series, many stories just got a little too silly.

Max has a dog named Whitey, a left-handed brother nicknamed Lefty and a few friends. Pretty standard kid, average life. Until his birthday party, when boredom prompted the kids to investigate the attic and Whitey found a hidden door. Behind the door is a small room that holds just a mirror - but it's not like any mirror you own! Attached to the top of the mirror is a small light and when it's turned on, the person in front of the mirror becomes invisible. For the kids, it's something different to play around with and it doesn't SEEM dangerous.

The only flaw Max finds is that, after being invisible for a while, he feels lightheaded and it takes longer for him to become visible again when the light is turned off. He's not sure why that is, but he's going to find out - and he's not going to like it. If he's around that long!

Not scary-scary, but a little creepy-scary. Makes you look at mirrors a little differently for a day or so. :-) I have yet to come across a Goosebumps title that refers back to an older story, but I couldn't help but think that Max's grandparents have a story that ought to be told - and I hope Stine tells it someday.

- AnnaLovesBooks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
I thought this was a pretty average book. The characters were getting annoying by the end. Their use of the mirror wasn't creepy at all until the very end. So, the middle of the book was somewhat boring. I thought that they could have had much more entertaining adventures with the mirror. The ending was a little more creative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2012
I was bored on a family vacation when I was 13 so my mom got me this book. I had never read an actual book before. I loved it. It was spooky. Max goes into the attic with his friends and discovers a mirror that can make him and his friends invisible. Soon he realizes that he may be unable to become visable again.
I have read every R.L. Stine book thus far. I just wish he would write more adult novels. Until then, I will embrace my childhood and re-read the other books again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2006
When 12 year old Max and his friends find a mysterious mirror in a room in the attic of his home, they discover a strange and amazing magic that has been lurking in Max's house for a long time.

Max blames the discovery on his dog Whitey, who finds the door in the attic the mirror is hidden behind. With his little brother Noah, nicknamed "Lefty" because of his left handedness, and two guests left over from his birthday party, the nervous April and incredibly cute Erin, Max examines the mirror. To his surprise, a lightswitch attached to the mirror changes everything, making him invisible.

In their curiosity Max and his friends, including Zack who left the party early, discover the mirror in the attic is enchanted with a dark and eerie secret. As they experiment with the mirror, Zack gets the idea that it would be fun to stay invisible longer than anybody else. This leads to a contest and to save face in front of his girlfriend, Max must submit. Things get worse though when Max discovers the terrible consequences for "getting invisible". Not even magic can undo what will happen if he doesn't escape the mystery of the magic mirror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2000
Wow, it's hard to believe I've been around THIS long, reading these books. I started to read these books at the age of 9 and now I am 16. Even though it's been a few years, I still remember this book most of all, because it was the first Goosebumps book I ever read. My copy is so old, it doesn't have a number printed on the side (meaning Stine never thought his books would become a series and Scholastic didn't bother to number them). I remember coming home from the "Mall of America" and reading this book in my family room. I was truly chilled at the end of the book - well, for a nine year old, everything is scary. Anyways, the book has to have been read by every Goosebumps fan, otherwise you wouldn't be here, on this page at Amazon. So, take out the book from the depths of your closet and prepare to revisit your childhood when you thought that these books were the greatest ones ever written.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse