Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHERYL BENTYNE RETURNS WITH 14 IMPASSIONED COLE PORTER SONGS
9-time Grammy-winning jazz vocalist/arranger Cheryl Bentyne once again steps away from the legendary 'Manhattan Transfer' foursome for her latest solo project based on composers of the Great American Song Book. Making a triumphant personal return, she serves up 14 slices of the Cole Porter song book on this recording. Using her hip, rangy soprano, she is a paragon of...
Published on September 16, 2012 by RSProds

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
very best singer
Published 24 days ago by ANDRES B. MONSERRAT


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHERYL BENTYNE RETURNS WITH 14 IMPASSIONED COLE PORTER SONGS, September 16, 2012
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
9-time Grammy-winning jazz vocalist/arranger Cheryl Bentyne once again steps away from the legendary 'Manhattan Transfer' foursome for her latest solo project based on composers of the Great American Song Book. Making a triumphant personal return, she serves up 14 slices of the Cole Porter song book on this recording. Using her hip, rangy soprano, she is a paragon of phrasing, intonation, a wondrous vibrato, and infectious swing, while giving her cohorts plenty of solo room based on interesting arrangements. She is surrounded by a superb group consisting of guitarists Tom McCauley, Octavio Bailey and Larry Koonse; Corey Allen on keyboards and banjo; Doug Webb on reeds; Chris Tedesco on trumpet; bassist Kevin Axt also on tuba; Dave Tull on drums/percussion; and 2 heroic performances by the late jazz tenor sax giant James Moody in one of his final recorded appearances. The 'best of the best' begins with a fiery "You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To" that starts with Bach-ian allusions. Then there's a mysterious, personalized "I Love Paris" and "Begin the Beguine". A sizzling latin-tinged "My Heart Belongs To Daddy" also has a hot Tedesco latin trumpet solo. A quick tempo "It's Alright With Me" has some sensational Bentyne and features a great guitar solo. James Moody comes out swinging on a sizzling "What Is This Thing Called Love" with Cheryl jumping in mid-song with gusto, singing on the arc of her voice. A wonderful "All of You" is a nod to Bentyne's 'Manhattan Transfer' roots in a 'vocalese' treatment of one of the most famous Miles Davis solos of them all-a great vocal and sax performance. And Cheryl turns 'flapper' with a 'Charleston' bounce on a wildly-swinging "Let's Misbehave", with period instrumentation and sound. Cheryl Bentyne shows off her zestful, inventive singing style on "Let's Misbehave" and it gets better with each listen. My Highest Recommendation. 5 IMPASSIONED Stars (14 tracks: Time: 55 mins, 44 secs)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF THE YEAR!, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
This is definitely one of the best vocal jazz albums release this year. Scratch that, it's one of the best jazz albums release this year. Her voice is clear, crisp, swinging, sensitive, and seductive. Her joy and love for Porter's music and lyrics is evident on every track (sometimes i swear I can actually HEAR her smiling). Bentyne has now released two EXCELLENT "Song Book" albums ("The Gershwin Song Book is the other). Here's hoping another one is on her to do list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheryl Bentyne Let's Misbehave, September 30, 2012
By 
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
Some reviews are so incredibly easy they literally write them self...

Such is the case with the latest from Cheryl Bentyne, Let's Misbehave The Cole Porter Songbook.

I would be remiss if I did not mention that this is apparently the last recording featuring the legendary James Moody before his passing, as with so many legends he will truly be missed.

This is not Bentyne's first go at the work of Cole Porter as in 2000 she recorded and released an album from her musical review based on the music and wit of Cole Porter, Dreaming of Mister Porter. With Let's Misbehave, Bentyne works her magic straight from her wheelhouse. The particularly nice aesthetic to this release is that the arrangements are for the most part very traditional. Bentyne does infuse a bit of Manhattan Transer influence into "You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To." The classic "Night and Day" opens with a tasteful reharm with just the slightest tweak to make the tune her own but with an obvious deep and abiding respect from the iconic songbook from which she sings. The disc opens with "Love For Sale" and with impeccable phrasing and timing, Bentyne again takes full command of this legendary body of work and turns for what some might consider tired and predictable vocal jazz into a wonderfully entertaining release. As Bentyne approaches sixty her voice is in fine shape and there is plenty of gas still left in the tank. This is simply old school vocal jazz brought up to speed and made incredibly entertaining by a vocalist attempting to offer up a little something special for everyone.

To find fault with this recording would be taking hyper-critical to the next level. Not much to say here, after all it is Cole Porter.

A classic!

Brent Black [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
Whether Cheryl is doing solo or sing with the Transfer, you're gonna love it. Mix in some Porter and you're good to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheryl, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
Very nice singer, I know from the beginning with M.T., his solo performances are so beautiful.
This collecded music, knowing from many time, have a singular personal groove .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Silky Voice and Jazz Riffs, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
Bentyne’s is a voice I could easily fall in love with: warm, sensual, expressive, as when she sings “It’s Delovely” and “Let’s Misbehave,” which are terrific. The arrangements are very jazzy, with sax and guitar solos riffing on the tunes. Her rendition of “Begin the Beguine” is one of the oddest I’ve ever heard, her voice seemingly backed only by various percussion instruments. Well worth listening to, with untraditional jazz arrangements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheryl is fantastic!, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite albums. I live in Los Angeles area. There used to be many jazz clubs throughout the city. You could find me in one almost every week end. Cheryl takes me right back to one of the best jazz cub nights ever. FANTASTIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Delicious, it's delovely!, August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
I've been a big fan of the Manhattan Transfer for years, and I've been to plenty of the group's concert performances. Each member has been known to take their turn on stage doing a solo performance during the show, and Cheryl Bentyne's solo vocals are always lovely to take in. This is the first time I've purchased a solo CD from any of the MT members. Wow! I absolutely adore Cheryl's version of "Begin The Beguine," as it features only her voice and some entrancing percussion. Pure, clear, sparkiing vocals. The whole album is so enchanting to listen to. One can tell that Cheryl has such a respect and great love for some timeless American music from the Great American Songbook. Give this record a listen, you can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This gal is great!, June 9, 2013
By 
Senior Swede (Pittsburgh, PA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook (Audio CD)
Happy to add this to my collection. Finding the "right" female vocalist is difficult for me. I have several of her albums. Beautiful voice from the Manhattan Transfer group. She is right in there with my Diana Krall albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just What I Was After, May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had been looking for an updated version of some of these old standards. I was not familiar with Cheryl Bentyne, but liked what I heard in the samples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook
Let's Misbehave: Cole Porter Songbook by Cheryl Bentyne (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.