Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro book for aspiring type designers
Acknowledging that "mastering the art of arranging letters in space and time is essential knowledge for anyone who crafts communications for page or screen," this book's focus is on letterforms themselves and even creating them (type design) rather than on arranging them beautifully (typography). Type design is an art (or perhaps 'craft' would be a better word) that...
Published on September 29, 2009 by Jason Castle

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just skims the surface
OK for beginners, but mostly redundant for intermediate/advanced design students. The first half of the book is a very basic rehash of typography 101 (e.g. "this is an ascender. this is a counter"). We finally get into type design/lettering in the second half, but the information provided is very light - we mostly get a showcase of different kinds of custom lettering and...
Published on May 2, 2010 by BN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just skims the surface, May 2, 2010
By 
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
OK for beginners, but mostly redundant for intermediate/advanced design students. The first half of the book is a very basic rehash of typography 101 (e.g. "this is an ascender. this is a counter"). We finally get into type design/lettering in the second half, but the information provided is very light - we mostly get a showcase of different kinds of custom lettering and bare bones intro to letterforms and typeface design. This is also not a how-to guide - doesn't really get into the mechanics of lettering, and offers few examples of it.

Check out Karen Cheng's 'Designing Type' and Leslie Cabarga's 'Logo Font & Lettering Bible' if you really want to learn the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro book for aspiring type designers, September 29, 2009
By 
Jason Castle (San Rafael, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
Acknowledging that "mastering the art of arranging letters in space and time is essential knowledge for anyone who crafts communications for page or screen," this book's focus is on letterforms themselves and even creating them (type design) rather than on arranging them beautifully (typography). Type design is an art (or perhaps 'craft' would be a better word) that requires a blend of both technical and visual skills, and in fact covers such a broad range of disciplines that it can be somewhat intimidating. But, this book seems to provide a "friendly, openhearted introduction" to type design, with a brief overview of the history of the written and printed word, typeface classification and terminology, case studies and type design exercises. There are also interviews with some of the luminaries in this field, including renowned type designer Christian Schwartz, whom I remember when he was starting out at the age of 14!

As in any visual art, type design is a matter of developing your eye, so learning to really look at letters critically is essential. The chapter of this book that I think might be most helpful to the beginning type designer is appropriately titled "Designing Typefaces", which illustrates many of the subtle tricks a designer must use to compensate for optical illusions and such. This is the one area that separates professional type designers from the wannabes, and I must confess that I'm still trying to master it. So, I suggest book-marking this chapter. [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars promising but too thin for the subject, August 22, 2010
By 
Richard Bigus (Kailua, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
This is a book that covers too many topics for a thin (128 pages) and small (7 x 9 inch) volume and consequently does justice to no one topic as well as an illustrated magazine article. Its section "A Compressed History of the Roman Alphabet" fails to mention Gutenberg (though he is mentioned once in a latter chapter) and the text is so sparsely illustrated I'm afraid it will do more to confuse readers than inform them. Its section, "Lettering As Image" is mostly contemporary with the worse examples of its kind I've seen, this subject goes back to the Greeks though the authors begin with the 1890s Art Nouveau.

While this book is not an academic text or how-to book I am using it as a required text in my beginning type class since Karen Cheng's book, Designing Type is currently out of print. The book covers many of the essentials: Type Anatomy (which it calls "Letter Structures"), Typeface Classification Categories (though there is no section on typeface comparison & only the cap & lower case letter "a" is typeset), Calligraphy, Book and Display type (there is also a brief section on "Creating Text Letters & Book Types that is good) and end with a section on designing typefaces. However, this last section is only 17 pages and only covers one typeface, Franklin Gothic. Many of the books marginal captions and notes are the more interesting and informative parts of the book.

The book does one thing well that I am hoping my students will appreciate; and that's its emphasis on how handwriting and hand lettering have functioned as inspirational models in contemporary type design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book!, October 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
Fantastic book! I'm obsessed. Everyone interested in typography should read it. It's so informative and a great read. I can't recommend it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., January 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
A great addition to the design book collection. Be sure to pick this one up today, features really great type examples! A must for type designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource, November 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
Liked the e-book so much that I needed this for a "hands on" resource. Great to revisit and pull more tidbits on design knowledge from again and again. It doesn't hurt to have an inspiring instructor, or lettering enthusiast as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of lettering and type design, January 19, 2012
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
As an artist and designer who's interested in all forms of design, this book was a great introduction to the world of letters. It provides a fascinating background on the alphabet, fonts, and lettering and helps explain the difference between handwriting, lettering, and typography.

This book seems like it would be a great resource for a graphic design student or illustrator who wants to learn more about making their own letters and fonts. Or for someone who is already working a lot with typography and wants to improve their knowledge and skill base it will probably be informative. Looking at some of the examples in the book and reading about the histories of different letter styles inspired me to incorporate more lettering and type into my own work.

I can see what some of the other reviewers are saying that this book will probably not have a lot of new info for an advanced type designer. But for a designer like me who didn't know much about type design and the world of custom lettering, the book was a really enjoyable, informative read. It definitely makes me take a closer look at alphabet letters and typefaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, March 23, 2010
By 
K. McMurrin "Ad-Dicted" (San Francisco, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
I bought this book for my Type 3 class as we had to do a book report. I go to design school and have had to take all of the fundamentals of Typography. I found this book to be very informative and interesting. This book has the perfect amount of background, identification, and application to make it a really useful guide in typography. I wish I had this book when I started out in design. I did expect the book to be fairly big from the picture because there wasn't one of it actual size, but it is actually fairly small, smaller than a binder or anything like that. All the more portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening Book, May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
This book is an excellent selection to those who are interested in learning more about the world of lettering and type.
I would definitely recommend this book to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces (Paperback)
It isn't as much technical as it seems, is more illustrative, shows blueprints of designed type and some sort of how-to design your own type
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces
Lettering & Type: Creating Letters and Designing Typefaces by Bruce Willen (Paperback - September 23, 2009)
$24.95 $19.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.