Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, sexy romance
A disastrous break-up headlining the scandal sheets sends Lindsey Brooks heading for cover in the most unlikely of places for a chic woman about town such as herself - the small town of Moose Falls nestled in Montana. All she is looking for is a little peace and quiet far away from the hustle and bustle of Chicago and its busy paparazzi and the chance to reconnect with...
Published on May 27, 2008 by Jennifer A. Ray

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at all what I expected.
Wow, am I in the minority on this one.

According to the back of the book Lindsey Brooks writes a love advice column & lives in Chicago. After an embarrassing incident with her fiancé she retreats to a small Montana town where she hopes to buy back her late aunt's canoe livery. There she meets Rob Colter who now owns the livery. After they become...
Published on February 28, 2009 by mahikahn


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, sexy romance, May 27, 2008
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
A disastrous break-up headlining the scandal sheets sends Lindsey Brooks heading for cover in the most unlikely of places for a chic woman about town such as herself - the small town of Moose Falls nestled in Montana. All she is looking for is a little peace and quiet far away from the hustle and bustle of Chicago and its busy paparazzi and the chance to reconnect with her late aunt through her home town. She certainly never expected this sedate little town and its denizens to launch a soul searching journey of self that leads her to some rather surprising revelations about her life in Chicago and her future.

Of course, the hunky recluse Rob Colter has more than a little to do with that... Antisocial doesn't even begin to describe the man who now owns her aunt's home and canoe rental business. But a man's secrets sometimes demand he keep to himself, and Rob's secrets have the power to destroy the home he has found in Moose Falls.

But as Rob and Lindsey spend more and more time together, neither can deny the intense attraction that threatens to develop into something much more lasting than a mere fling. And it is just that kind of attachment that can endanger everything that Rob has.

What can I say? With each new release, Toni Blake's writing talent impresses me more and more. Letters to a Secret Lover is the latest release from her, and it can only build both her reputation and her fan base. With a story as inspiring as it is sexy, she has crafted a romance that will have you dabbing your eyes with a tissue one moment, and squirming in your seat the next!

Both Lindsey and Rob go through intense personal journeys in this book, both separately and together. The lessons they learn from each other and from their friends are some that will undoubtedly reach many a reader with their absolute truth.

Lindsey's growth is more blatant, as she matures from a frivolous girl-about-town sporting Manolo Blahnik shoes on her feet, to a woman who soon emulates her aunt's place as the heart and soul of the close-knit community of Moose Falls, complete with the much more practical Keds tennis shoes. Of course, Lindsey doesn't give up her Manolo's completely, just as she doesn't lose the vivaciousness and sparkle that are an inherent part of her personality. But the sparkle is tempered with a depth that perhaps was always there, but buried beneath the gilt and glitter of a life in the public eye.

Rob's transformation is slower, and is fairly well contained to his relationship with Lindsey throughout most of the book. The man that appeared gruff and uncaring at the beginning of the book is soon revealed as a man who is deeply afraid of losing the one place that has ever felt like a home to him, and so keeps to himself for fear of his sordid past will be exposed and he will lose everything.

The interspersion throughout the story of mysterious letters penned by Rob pouring his heart out to a mysterious woman do much to show this man's ability to love, even before he is able to finally open up to Lindsey. Of course, the fact that Lindsey accidentally finds these letters soon after she realizes she loves him do just as much to create romantic uncertainty on her part, being unsure whether the man she loves still loves another.

In the end, LETTERS TO A SECRET LOVER culminates in a disastrous showdown with Rob's past, in the most unlikely of ways. For Rob, the absolute worst that could happen, does. But our hero still has much to learn before the end of the book - including a woman's capacity for love and a town's capacity for compassion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great from Toni Blake!, June 22, 2008
By 
S. M. Lutz (St. Louis, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I cannot say enough good things about this book, I absolutely love it! Toni Blake has written another great read with LETTERS TO A SECRET LOVER. The plot is great, the town and its inhabitants are well-developed, and the chemistry between the hero and heroine is so good it is combustable. Like all of Toni Blake's books you can expect a story filled with humor and hot sex scenes.

After an embarassing encounter with her fiance and a window washer, Lindsay Brooks decides to get away from the gossip. Suddenly single and questioning her qualifications as a relationship columnist she runs to Moose Falls, Montana where she spent a summer years ago with her Aunt Millie. She hopes to buy back her Aunt's canoe livery, which is now owned by the sexy flannel-wearing recluse Rob Colter.

Rob Colter had his own reason for moving to Moose Falls, and his own reasons for being a recluse. Lindsay wants to get to know her Aunt Millie by experiencing the things she loved and Rob relucantly agrees to help. Slowly Lindsay is able to penetrate his tough exterior and gains confidence in herself as well.

As city girl Lindsay exchanges her Jimmy Choos for Keds and Rob learns to let people into his life, there is a secret from Rob's past that may threaten it all.

LETTERS TO A SECRET LOVER has it all; romance, humor, and mystery. If you like contemporary romances this is definitely one to pick up! Hope Toni Blake bring us back to Moose Falls in future books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful book, May 27, 2008
By 
Judy "book reader" (Cincinnati, ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Toni Blake's ability to weave an emotional charged story really shines in Letters To A Secret Lover.

Lindsey Brooks has written a successful Love Letter column for years in Chicago. When her own engagement blows up in her face, she retreats to Montana to try to buy back her great Aunt's business. Her first night in town is memorable for she drinks a tad bit to much and who comes to her rescue but Rob Colter. Rob is only the man she needs to buy the business from. According to the town gossip Rob is the town loner and Lindsey will have her work cut out for her getting on Rob's sweet side.

Rob Colter settled in Moose Falls Montana several years ago. He likes his quiet life and the niche he has made in the community. Rob's attempts to ignore Lindsey are hard fought. When she pleads to learn more about her aunt's life Rob agrees to show her around.

Rob and Lindsey's relationship changes from adversaries to lovers. Lindsey comes to realize that what she had with Garrett her ex is nothing compared to what she feels for Rob. But Rob is keeping a terrible secret that he is afraid will change everything if Lindsey or the town finds out.

Letters To A Secret Lover is an poignant journey of love and discovery. Rob and Lindsey aren't picture perfect characters. They have flaws like real people and this makes you really feel their sorrow and joy. Each page will make you fall in love with them as they do. This book should be on every romance readers list of books to get. You will not be sorry. Kudos Toni Blake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and Sexy Wilderness Romance That Will Make you Smile (B+ Grade), June 1, 2008
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Toni Blake can sure write romances that are borderline erotic, but still have a great plot, some laughs and her heroes are oh so incredible! She has done it again with Letters to a Secret Lover and is one of Avon's great, not to be missed authors
Lindsey Brooks' fiancé dumps her after a seduction attempt where she was only wearing in high heel stilettos and an apron. She decides to go lick her wounds in a small town her Aunt Millie has lived. Lindsey feels guilty because she lost touch with Millie, who, last summer before she died, wanted to will Lindsey her old canoe livery; where people can rent canoes to take out on the lake. But Lindsey was too busy with her engagement and writing an on-line blog and syndicated advice column called "Love Letters", so she forgot to respond. Now she has come to Moose Falls to see if she can buy the livery back and figure out what went wrong with her love life.
The owner of the livery, Rob Coulter, is a hermit. Lindsey is not one to give up, and since she drove all this way to the middle of nowhere, she is not leaving until she talks to Mister Mysterious. When Lindsey finally meets Rob, things don't go that well at all because Rob is rude and a bit mean. Even though she thinks he is one hot man who wears flannel very well, she will try figure out a way to get on his good side.
Rob just wants to be left alone. Not even this city girl who seems a bit flaky, but very cute, will convince him otherwise. But, Lindsey is Millie's niece and Millie helped him through so much. So, he decides to allow Lindsey to walk in Millie's shoes, so to speak. As things progress between the two, Rob begins to enjoy having Lindsey around more and more.
Rob makes the mistake of getting a look at Lindsey's leopard print bra, and he has no choice but to kiss her and things progress from there. Things are amazing between the two, but Rob is still so secretive about his past.
Letters to a Secret Lover is a funny, emotional and very sexy romance. Lindsey is a city girl who wants to discover her connection to her deceased aunt who comes to mean so much to her. Rob is an added bonus and it's really cute to see him succumb to Lindsey's charms. These two have one scorching love affair and the love scenes are excellent. The mystery that surrounds Rob is a well written one that will keep the reader guessing. And when you find out what Rob has gone through, you want to wrap him in your arms, much like Lindsey has done.
The town of Moose Falls seems like its own character and is very vital to the story. The townspeople are a quirky bunch but a joy to read about.
Letters to a Secret Lover was a pleasant surprise that made me laugh out loud, gasp in surprise, and go gaga over the major loving between Rob and Lindsey, who can't keep their hands off of each other. Kudos to Toni Blake for another great read!

Katiebabs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not at all what I expected., February 28, 2009
By 
mahikahn (Columbus, Ohio USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow, am I in the minority on this one.

According to the back of the book Lindsey Brooks writes a love advice column & lives in Chicago. After an embarrassing incident with her fiancé she retreats to a small Montana town where she hopes to buy back her late aunt's canoe livery. There she meets Rob Colter who now owns the livery. After they become involved she finds "passionate" letters written to another woman whose name is tattooed on Rob's chest. Now his dangerous past is about to catch up with them both.

First, I thought this was supposed to be a romantic suspense novel, but the "suspense" is little more than one chapter and the "romance" about the same. What there was was a ridiculous amount of sex. After the first time, sex comprises about every second chapter. Rob and Lindsey dislike each other, a lot, at first meeting, yet have an immediate sexual attraction to each other.

Second, there was nothing the least bit "passionate" about the letters. They never mentioned anything Rob & Gina did together, anything Gina had done on her own, or things they'd talked about and there was NOTHING in the letters that was the tiniest bit suggestive.

Third, Lindsey was an idiot. Anyone with two brain cells to rub together knows better than to put such personal, detailed information on a blog.

Fourth, the likelihood that someone on her blog and Rob having a history together was minuscule.

This is the first Toni Blake book I've read and she is a good writer. I just didn't care for this book and how the plot played out. But I'd probably try another of hers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steamy love story with a REAL plot, September 2, 2008
By 
April Carns (Clermont, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a MUST read, but be warned: Once you start reading this, you might not be able to put the book down until the very last page is read! I read different genres, and my favorite authors are very different in writing styles and subjects. I enjoy "discovering" new authors, and "Letters to a Secret Lover" is my first Toni Blake novel. I will be reading more of Ms. Blake's novels.

The novel starts with a short Prologue with our heroine, Lindsey, and gives the readers an idea of what Lindsey is all about. The following chapter has Lindsey running away from what she thought was her "ideal" and "perfect" life in Chicago. She decides to visit Moose Falls, Montana, where she visited her Aunt Millie once as a child. Aunt Millie passed away within the last year, and Lindsey thinks Moose Falls will be the perfect place to escape.

Even though in the beginning Lindsey is portrayed as being a bit selfish and self-centered, she has endearing qualities. Once she arrives to Moose Falls, even her suitcase is jammed with high heeled shoes and matching purses, without even one pair of sneakers for the mountains!

Her first night in Moose Falls, Lindsey gets drunk, and meets the hero of the story, Rob Colter. Rob is hot, and Linsdey thinks he is the perfect guy to get her back into the sex game. Even better, Rob is the new owner of Aunt Millie's canoe livery, which Lindsey now wants to buy.

The story progesses as Lindsey tries to convince Rob to sell her the business, and she believes her "charms" will have Rob handing the business over to her. Rob does not fall for Lindsey's "charm", and actually finds her a bit annoying and tries to avoid her.

Rob has a big secret, and yes (not a spoiler), it is a legimate secret, and is very real-to-life. I did not expect Rob's past to be what it was revealed to be, and it changes the dynamics of this love story.

Although the possibility exists for this novel to be only about steamy sex and the couple "falling madly in love" in one day without any "real" obstacles, the author avoids this path by showing that Lindsey and Rob are "real people" with "real" problems and fears. Both characters are far from perfect, and still have a lot of growing to do. Rob is not your typical "hero", but it is difficult not to root for him.

I think the author makes the reader stop and think about some things: Are people limited on what they can forgive others for? Is there certain situations where a person does not deserve a second chance? My own: What would I do if I was in Lindsey's place when Rob revealed his secret to me? How would I have reacted to this type of information? Could I live with someone with this type of past? Lindsey and Rob are both seeking forgiveness, even though both cannot receive forgiveness from the two people they really want it from.

Near the end, Rob's world as he has known it for the last year may come to a crashing end, and the reader is kept on the edge of their seat wondering if Rob and Lindsey can really live "happily ever after", and if people really are forgiving of others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TENDER, SWEET, HILARIOUS AND STEAMY!!!, December 22, 2008
By 
M. Hebdige "Nanette Hebdige" (California - Las Vegas, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I just finished reading LETTERS TO A SECRET LOVER" and I really enjoyed this book better than SWEPT AWAY.
I am not going to go into detail about the plot, as lot of reviewed have done a great job here on setting the premise to the story.

This is the story of Lindsey and Rob. Lindsey has just undergone a disastrous broken engagement - that was publicly a debacle! She retreats to Moose Falls, Montana where she hopes to get some exposure to the town where her beloved aunt Millie lived.

Imagine the wardrobe of Devil Wears Prada coupled with the total couture attitude, Lindsey waltzes into Moose Falls and completely out of water in this sleepy little town. Feeling guilty about not having been in contact with her aunt, she sets off to explore the town where her aunt lived all her life. The Canoe Livery was given to Lindsey by her aunt in her will - Lindsey refused it, so Rob Colter bought it and is now owns the place.

Rob is a cranky hermit and wants nothing to do with anyone - let alone a fancy female city slicker who knocks on his door wondering if he can sell her the Livery!

In LETTERS TO A SECRET LOVER Toni Blake has written a very poignant, sexy and emotionally uplifting novel. With amazingly tender moments shared by two unlike people, (the letters that Rob writes are so touching you will almost cry at their beauty!) and heart wrenching and hilarious situations this is a wonderful romance!

You will fall in love with the Moose Falls and its quirky towns people! Very reminiscent of those 1940's black and white movies with James Stuart and Gary Cooper! That, plus an engrossing plot, two amazing main characters and love scenes that will leave you panting - LTASL is one of the best contemporary Romances I have read so far this year! Thank you Miss Blake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic, fun, and sexy - wrapped all in one package!, June 5, 2008
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to start this off by giving my opinion of the book cover and back cover blurb. I absolutely LOVE the cover!!! The colors are gorgeous and the couple on the front is just extremely sexy! As for the blurb on the back... I was uncertain of what to think of this book. I honestly didn't know how much I was going to enjoy this one. I bought the book though as I've enjoyed other books by Toni Blake so much that I pretty much just pick up her books no matter the storyline. In this case, I'm REALLY glad I was already familiar with her because I would've missed out on a great read if not! LtaSL has it all... an extremely sweet story line, sweet and steamy sex scenes, comedic breaks, suspense, anticipation, etc... Blake did a fantastic job combining everything into one book and the story is very well-rounded. There was one part in the book that I had pretty much predicted ahead of time, but when it actually came out in the book I was given chills. Blake's writing is powerful and heartfelt. I'm definitely going to be putting some of her other books towards the top of Mt. TBR in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended. Great chemistry, funny moments, and steamy hot!, June 6, 2008
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book. I really enjoyed this one, and there is so much to like about this book. For me I think the best part of this book is how well the author gives the town and the characters a real three-dimensional feel. I really hope we see more of this town in future books by Toni Blake too. The hero/heroine (Rob and Lindsey) were so likable and great together. Lindsey is a city girl who loves fashion, but I was very happy that the author didn't turn her into a twit. She is grounded, smart and very funny. Rob is yummy on a stick. He writes letters to someone named "Gina", and I LOVED how this really helped us see who he really is as a person despite his outward persona of a reclusive non-sociable person. The romance between Rob and Lindsey was amazingly hot and very believable. They build a real friendship too, which really added a lot to this book. I can't recommend it enough to fans who love steamy contemporary romances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dear Abby meets Paul Bunyan with a past, July 27, 2008
By 
Tracy Vest (Northern California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
After suffering a humiliating break up that garnered tabloid attention, advice columnist Lindsey Brooks travels to the wilds of Montana to visit the ranch that was almost her inheritance from a distant aunt. After shunning Aunt Millie's offer when she was alive, Lindsey attempts to purchase the land, home, and canoe livery from the new owner, but he has no interest. As Lindsey decides to remain in Moose Falls and get to know that interesting woman she barely knew, she realizes that she had quite a bit in common with her aunt. And soon finds that she is falling for a man with another woman's name tattooed on his heart - the surly owner of Millie's property, carpenter Rob Colter. Rob is hoping that it is just a convenience thing, but has gotten used to having Lindsey (or as he likes to affectionately call her, "Abby") around. But Rob is a quiet man with a past that he doesn't share too easily, and Lindsey tends to reveal a bit too much in her blog, bringing danger and his past to his door.

Blake is the rare author that can combine a plotline with ultra spicy romance. She takes both her lead characters on personal journeys that force them to confront their greatest fears and become better people because of it. Despite their obvious differences, the two are soul mates in more ways than one. Her secondary characters were also well developed and vivid, making readers want to visit the little town in the mountains again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance)
Letters to a Secret Lover (Avon Romance) by Toni Blake (Mass Market Paperback - May 27, 2008)
$6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.