Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When, How, and Most Importantly, Why (For all parents, no matter what age the child)
FINALLY!!! News we can all use! Most parents today have been inundated with advice about what to do and what not to do when it comes to raising our children. What's been missing has been the part about when and how to do those things. This book supplies those crucial tools.

When it comes down to the difficult details--what to do about cell phones, driving,...
Published on August 7, 2011 by Susan Sugerman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
It has some relevant information, but most of it is very common sense.
Published 5 months ago by Bilingual Master


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When, How, and Most Importantly, Why (For all parents, no matter what age the child), August 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
FINALLY!!! News we can all use! Most parents today have been inundated with advice about what to do and what not to do when it comes to raising our children. What's been missing has been the part about when and how to do those things. This book supplies those crucial tools.

When it comes down to the difficult details--what to do about cell phones, driving, sleepovers, the internet, etc.--the best of us can feel challenged to do the right (or even the "good enough") thing. Fortunately, help is here! This book walks you through the decision-making process in a way that allows you to be consistent with your own values and your own parenting styles (Is it safe? Is it practical? Does it meet my standards for morality and decency?).

You're already the expert on your own kid; Letting Go helps you learn how to use your intuition and good intentions to raise kids who will be responsible, resilient, and self-sufficient in the 21st century. And learn to like them at the same time.

I recommend this book to all parents in my adolescent medicine practice. This should be the first stop the next time you wonder, "Now what do I do?"

Susan Sugerman, MD, MPH, Girls to Women Health and Wellness, Dallas, TX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Larry at ACS, December 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not one for self-help or parenting books, but I heard an interview with Dr. Ginsburg on the radio that got me interested in this book. Specifically, there was some discussion about the use of code words/phrases that allow your child to save face with his/her friends while at the same time extracating themselves from a situation they know they shouldn't be in. I thought it was an outstanding idea so I bought the book.

I haven't been disappointed. Dr. Ginsburg presents his information in an easy to read form, free from a lot of jargon, and provides practical examples that make sense. My daughter is 13 and only wish the book had been written five years ago! There are some things in the book that are forehead slappers that I wish I had done before she reached this age. I'm impressed enough that I'll certainly be looking into his other works as well.

Bottom line: Dr. Ginsburg provides very useful, and more importantly, practical information for parents approaching or in those difficult adolescent years. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the parents of every preteen and teen you care about!, August 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For every parent who has ever asked themselves, "When is my child ready to..." This is the book! Not only how to know when *your* child is ready (no age guidelines here, but personality-based, real help) to take the next privilege or responsibility, but HOW to structure it so that they are safe, and understand how to get and lose these privileges!

An easy read, Dr. Ginsburg really gets what it is like to love, fear and worry about our teens.

This is the how to talk about it, when to do it guide that will make each of us a more confident parent. Argue less, nag not at all, and still grow the kid you've got to be a great adult. Buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My "Mom" Bible!, May 1, 2012
This review is from: Letting Go with Love and Confidence: Raising Responsible, Resilient, Self-Sufficient Teens in the 21st Century (Paperback)
Letting Go with Love and Confidence is a straight forward, easy to read guide on how to raise your child to be an independent adult while keeping your sanity! Ginsburg and Fitzgerald not only provide usable tips and insights, but validate methods you may already have incorporated into your parenting skills set. This book has become my "Mom" bible; I have tabs with notes on almost every page!
I recommend this book not only for an informative, interesting read, but to be used as a reference guide to raising your kids all through their teen years. It's like having a best friend, who has all the answers on raising tweens/teens, ready and waiting to give you advice when you need it!
Lisa G., R.N.
PTO President
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good go-to book, February 16, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Dr G's approach to child-rearing. He is so respectful to kids and yet supports parents' anxieties and concerns. His advice is so practical and so solid. The book is an easy read with its short chapters. If you have teens, grab this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, January 2, 2012
I found this book well written and full of practical and useful information. Susan FitzGerald and Dr. Ginsburg's use of "case studies" makes the information and advice come to life. The guidance provided is sound and actionable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, November 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ken Ginsburg gives us helpful information and advice. He is a dedicated and wise family educator. Very helpful book for parents of teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every parent of a teen should own this book!, February 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a phenomenal resource for any parent of adolescents! It discusses how to parent with just the right mix of warmth, support and monitoring. It offers practical advice on how to both listen and talk well to teens. Dr. Ginsburg lays out the 7 C's of building teen resilience and how to teach/ guide (rather than "discipline") your child. The 10 point stress management plan outlined in this amazing book is hanging on our refrigerator for all to see! The advice on how to immunize teens from troubling peer influences and how to promote authentic success in your child is invaluable. This wonderful text encourages and empowers parents with the loving confidence to nurture their children to fulfill their true potential. PS- Don't ever miss the opportunity to hear Dr. Ginsburg speak about his work- he is dynamic, intuitive, exceedingly bright, energetic, humorous and highly esteemed. This doctor is the real deal!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really ended with confidence, January 14, 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book as my daughter has reached the tween years. So much helpful advice and insight. The parenting approach was very respectful, cooperative, and gentle. A definite recommend on my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, August 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Letting Go with Love and Confidence: Raising Responsible, Resilient, Self-Sufficient Teens in the 21st Century (Paperback)
It has some relevant information, but most of it is very common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Letting Go with Love and Confidence: Raising Responsible, Resilient, Self-Sufficient Teens in the 21st Century
Used & New from: $1.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.