Customer Reviews


2,146 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,334)
4 star:
 (411)
3 star:
 (178)
2 star:
 (123)
1 star:
 (100)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


157 of 172 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a Fit
Pros: Available in many sizes and washes, reasonable price, comfortable and contoured fit
Cons: Not true to size

Having unusual proportions has always been problematic for me, and as a result, I have tried many different brands and styles of jeans. At 6'4", finding jeans that have a sufficient length provides some difficulty, and with a very narrow waist...
Published on July 17, 2009 by J. Melvin

versus
47 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 different 511s, 3 drastically different sizes, 3 stars
I bought three 511s of different colors. One fits PERFECT (most definitely my favorite pair of jeans EVER). One of the other two shrunk a whole bunch during washing and is now way too short and the seam on the legs twists towards the front. The third is great in the legs, but way too tight in the upper thighs compared to the other two. The worst pair of jeans was made in...
Published on August 25, 2012 by Mr. Grundig


‹ Previous | 1 2215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

157 of 172 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a Fit, July 17, 2009
By 
J. Melvin (Benicia, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Levi's Men's 511 Slim Fit Jean (Apparel)
Pros: Available in many sizes and washes, reasonable price, comfortable and contoured fit
Cons: Not true to size

Having unusual proportions has always been problematic for me, and as a result, I have tried many different brands and styles of jeans. At 6'4", finding jeans that have a sufficient length provides some difficulty, and with a very narrow waist for my height (30"), it can seem downright impossible. I have no alternative to online retail for finding jeans that fit, so finding them feels very much like a hunt than a casual dressing room routine.

I have tried 7 For All Mankind, Chip & Pepper, Earnest Sewn, American Eagle, and a whole slew of brands to get a feel for what's out there. I never really considered trying Levi's because they just never seemed to draw my attention. I had no interest in Levi's 501's, because I knew they fit too loose, and simply was unaware that Levi's made slim jeans in my size, particularly the 511's in 32x36. Recently, I discovered this, and decided to give the Levi's 511's a try.

In my limited experience in the past, I knew typically Levi's run slightly long. Although a disadvantage to some, for a person of my height who never runs into a pair of jeans that's actually "too long" (I actually fit a 37" inseam), having that extra inch or so is a blessing. Furthermore, as slim jeans, I presumed that they would fit slimmer in the waist than the size indicated. This may also serve as an issue for some, but considering they will stretch with use to your body, is worth accepting (not to mention it works to my favor with a smaller waist than the indicated size).

I ordered a couple pairs of Levi's 511 as a trial run and found my presumptions of running long and slim to hold true, which certainly brought me relief. While even a bit slim for me for the first day, they quickly contoured to my body and became quite comfortable. They fit well and have no extra baggage, as a slim pair of jeans should. While definitely slim, they are only bordering skinny jeans. I find this advantageous, as truly skinny jeans tend to offer very little breathing room and limit heat dissipation. Furthermore, the tighter the fit, the more frequently you are inclined to wash, as the jeans become stretched out more quickly. I feel that the Levi's 511's fit comfortable and tight in the right places, and offer a perfect intermediate between straight/slim straight and the tighter skinny fits.

Currently, Levi's offers a host of different washes and in many sizes to find a friend in just about anyone who has the hankering to try some slim, but not quite skinny jeans. So far, I am enjoying my experience with the Levi's 511's, and I am sure I will enjoy them for many days coming. I really think you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally - jeans that fit!, April 30, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Levi's Men's 511 Slim Fit Jean (Apparel)
I've had the same body for probably about the last 20 years - tall, lanky but not really what you'd call "skinny". In fact, I'm kind of pear-shaped around the middle. I never considered skinny jeans before because of that. I've been wearing 505's for years, but have tried various other brands before that - nothing fit right. Pants sit naturally below the waist on me, and at my 36"-38" waist, the legs were always really baggy. I always looked like a wannabe gang member or something wearing jeans - even jeans that were very tight around the waist.

But I tried a pair of these at a store and they fit perfectly! They sit naturally where pants want to sit on me, and there's no extra bagginess either in the legs or the butt. (I have no butt, so this is important.) With a 36" waist, they're cut so they do not look "skinny" with my legs, but they actually make me look thinner. And they look really good with boots. ("Boot cut" jeans look ridiculous with boots in my opinion; boots need a tapered leg, not a flared leg.) In other words, they just fit right!

I bought a pair of the black stretch, which actually get somewhat loose after repeated wearings. I tried a pair of the rigid 511's in a store, and I'll buy them next to compare.

In short, I'd recommend these not just for really skinny guys, but also for guys who have that middle-aged pear shape. At the larger waist sizes, the legs are roomy enough that they just look like regular jeans, and they don't look like you're wearing "dad jeans" like the regular fit stuff can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skinny Jeans for a Skinny Guy, September 21, 2006
I'm a skinny guy. Finding jeans that fit great is hard. But these fit great at a great price. They hug in all of the right places. Seriously, if you're skinny and want a pair of slim jeans, get these. They are amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 different 511s, 3 drastically different sizes, 3 stars, August 25, 2012
This review is from: Levi's Men's 511 Slim Fit Jean (Apparel)
I bought three 511s of different colors. One fits PERFECT (most definitely my favorite pair of jeans EVER). One of the other two shrunk a whole bunch during washing and is now way too short and the seam on the legs twists towards the front. The third is great in the legs, but way too tight in the upper thighs compared to the other two. The worst pair of jeans was made in China. The other two were made in Cambodia.

Honestly, it is worth the risk. I found one incredible pair of jeans (Sky Blue) even if the other two are just passable... Levi's quality is very bad. Unfortunately, since I am tall and skinny, it is hard to find a company (like Levi) that produces slim jeans in my size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heads up! Fit varries by style/color, July 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In general, I like this style of pants and the quality and the price, etc. etc. I'm not super happy with my purchase, but this was totally my bad, so still 5 stars.
I bought a pair of 511s at Urban outfitters and loved them, so I decided to get a pair off Amazon (which is about half the cost of buying them at Urban Outfitters, without the hassle of cool, fashionable, in shape kids whose presence makes you suffer the realization that you have much less hair and much more gut than you did in the early 2000s). I bought the "Rigid Dragon" (sounds like the title of a Skyrim themed porn?) thinking that was the same style/color that I bought at the store. Turns out, it wasn't, and this color has 1% spandex (vs. the 2% in my other pants), and is therefore less yielding to my aforementioned declining physique. In hindsight, I think the color I bought at the store was "Rinsed Playa" (sounds like the title of a failed Outkast song). That being said, I do like the rigid dragon style: the fabric is stiffer and more durable, and it's a REALLY dark blue, which I dig. I just wish I would have gone a size larger so I wouldn't have to struggle to roll them over my shapely man-calves or fit them over my boots. Also, less junk-crushing would be good.
So anyway, my point is that even if you are buying the same cut and size of these jeans, they will probably fit differently. The fabric composition of each color is on the description, so make sure you check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect fit and nice quality, July 25, 2011
What else to say, the quality is really good and its a really good deal, most confortable jean y wear in many time.

You should be careful if you have any pets, specially cats because this shiny black color is really a fur magnet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These jeans fit me pretty well, June 8, 2011
By 
Tyler Schofield (Chicago, IL , USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was a bit worried when ordering these jeans that they would be too tight, uncomfortable, and feel cheap since the Amazon listing said that they were around 40% polyester. However, since I'm tired of my boot-cut 527s getting caught in my bike chain, I decided to give a slimmer cut a try.

I'm really happy with these jeans. First, according to the tags these jeans are 99% cotton, so I imagine only some washes are made with polyester (I purchased the chain link wash.) They are very soft, and frankly very comfortable. I would say I have large, somewhat muscular legs and have been told I have a large butt as well, yet this pair of jeans does not feel constricting at all. The thigh is about as tight as my 527s, and the calf, while slim, is more form fitting than form defining.

After washing the jeans, I noticed that the waist size seems to have shrunk just a bit, by my guess from about a 34 to a 33. For me this is just fine, I buy 34x36 because the length is perfect and the waist is as near I can get in a 36 inseam. 33s fit my waist better so I'm happy, but others may want to take note.

Summary: These jeans are soft, flexible, and comfortable. They are not heavy enough to be work-wear, but are a great trendy option. Order a size up in the waist, and true to size in the inseam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars yes comfortable soft tight, October 1, 2006
By 
Other than extreme lack of small waists in long inseams 31X36 these jeans out manuver any loose jeans I had (extremly nonbinding). I find them soft and extremly comfortable. Different from everybody elses and don't get hooked on bikes or motorcycles like boot cuts. love em tight maybe tighter super jeans

please LEVI'S please make some in USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Different from store version, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought the exact item in a retail store and loved it. I figured I'd get another pair online since it was more convenient at the time. This pair is def not the same. They are tighter and shorter in length than their store counterpart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! Jeans that FIT!!!, October 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tell me you aren't thrilled to see baggy jeans go out of style. We'll at least for those of us who can't rap & who don't keep gat's down our drawers. Easy now I'm mess'n with ya, and you know who you are.

I have hated the cut of jeans since the early 90's. Sneakers with boot cut jeans make me literally cringe. There was a time where I would actually purchase a pair of Levi's at Sears or some place then go immediately to the tailor's shop and have them "taken in" below the knee. And of course they usually looked crappy but it was still a helluva lot better than wide calf jeans. But I digress.

These jeans fit awesome, I dig 'em, and I plan on buying a few pairs - even a few a size up or so, so when I get older and fatter I still have great looking jeans! I still "rock" on stage sometimes and these jeans show off my "gat" very nicely and the bottom of my jeans don't look like freak'n bell bottoms.

Burn all baggy jeans and score as many 511's as you can afford! Imagine if I was opinionated.

Thank you that is all. Over......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Levi's Men's 511 Slim Fit Jean
$54.00 $24.97 - $58.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.