Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Holiday Music in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now HTL

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

202 of 223 people found the following review helpful
on July 17, 2009
Pros: Available in many sizes and washes, reasonable price, comfortable and contoured fit
Cons: Not true to size

Having unusual proportions has always been problematic for me, and as a result, I have tried many different brands and styles of jeans. At 6'4", finding jeans that have a sufficient length provides some difficulty, and with a very narrow waist for my height (30"), it can seem downright impossible. I have no alternative to online retail for finding jeans that fit, so finding them feels very much like a hunt than a casual dressing room routine.

I have tried 7 For All Mankind, Chip & Pepper, Earnest Sewn, American Eagle, and a whole slew of brands to get a feel for what's out there. I never really considered trying Levi's because they just never seemed to draw my attention. I had no interest in Levi's 501's, because I knew they fit too loose, and simply was unaware that Levi's made slim jeans in my size, particularly the 511's in 32x36. Recently, I discovered this, and decided to give the Levi's 511's a try.

In my limited experience in the past, I knew typically Levi's run slightly long. Although a disadvantage to some, for a person of my height who never runs into a pair of jeans that's actually "too long" (I actually fit a 37" inseam), having that extra inch or so is a blessing. Furthermore, as slim jeans, I presumed that they would fit slimmer in the waist than the size indicated. This may also serve as an issue for some, but considering they will stretch with use to your body, is worth accepting (not to mention it works to my favor with a smaller waist than the indicated size).

I ordered a couple pairs of Levi's 511 as a trial run and found my presumptions of running long and slim to hold true, which certainly brought me relief. While even a bit slim for me for the first day, they quickly contoured to my body and became quite comfortable. They fit well and have no extra baggage, as a slim pair of jeans should. While definitely slim, they are only bordering skinny jeans. I find this advantageous, as truly skinny jeans tend to offer very little breathing room and limit heat dissipation. Furthermore, the tighter the fit, the more frequently you are inclined to wash, as the jeans become stretched out more quickly. I feel that the Levi's 511's fit comfortable and tight in the right places, and offer a perfect intermediate between straight/slim straight and the tighter skinny fits.

Currently, Levi's offers a host of different washes and in many sizes to find a friend in just about anyone who has the hankering to try some slim, but not quite skinny jeans. So far, I am enjoying my experience with the Levi's 511's, and I am sure I will enjoy them for many days coming. I really think you will too.
1212 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
134 of 147 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2010
I've had the same body for probably about the last 20 years - tall, lanky but not really what you'd call "skinny". In fact, I'm kind of pear-shaped around the middle. I never considered skinny jeans before because of that. I've been wearing 505's for years, but have tried various other brands before that - nothing fit right. Pants sit naturally below the waist on me, and at my 36"-38" waist, the legs were always really baggy. I always looked like a wannabe gang member or something wearing jeans - even jeans that were very tight around the waist.

But I tried a pair of these at a store and they fit perfectly! They sit naturally where pants want to sit on me, and there's no extra bagginess either in the legs or the butt. (I have no butt, so this is important.) With a 36" waist, they're cut so they do not look "skinny" with my legs, but they actually make me look thinner. And they look really good with boots. ("Boot cut" jeans look ridiculous with boots in my opinion; boots need a tapered leg, not a flared leg.) In other words, they just fit right!

I bought a pair of the black stretch, which actually get somewhat loose after repeated wearings. I tried a pair of the rigid 511's in a store, and I'll buy them next to compare.

In short, I'd recommend these not just for really skinny guys, but also for guys who have that middle-aged pear shape. At the larger waist sizes, the legs are roomy enough that they just look like regular jeans, and they don't look like you're wearing "dad jeans" like the regular fit stuff can.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2014
I've been wearing Levis pretty much exclusively since high school, but this almost certainly marks the end of the line for me. I ordered 3 pairs in 3 colors of 511s, all the same size, to replace my 3 pairs in 3 different colors that had all been worn ragged over the course of years of valiant service.

Part of the reason for my brand loyalty is the ease of just knowing my size & knowing the style; I don't even have to try them on! Well, I guess I can just through that out the window. Despite all 3 pairs being the same size & style, they were markedly different in waist, length & fit; what's more, one pair's seam down the right leg is noticeably off center.

They still looked sharp, and more or less fit, so I figured I'd roll with them. It hasn't even been a year and already two of the pairs have developed small tears in the groin region. If I could wear the same jeans for years through college and my early twenties, it's unfathomable to me that I would wear through a new pair within a year now, given that they take significantly less abuse.

Apparently Levis is spending more on marketing than quality control these days, and it shows.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
on July 31, 2014
In general, I like this style of pants and the quality and the price, etc. etc. I'm not super happy with my purchase, but this was totally my bad, so still 5 stars.
I bought a pair of 511s at Urban outfitters and loved them, so I decided to get a pair off Amazon (which is about half the cost of buying them at Urban Outfitters, without the hassle of cool, fashionable, in shape kids whose presence makes you suffer the realization that you have much less hair and much more gut than you did in the early 2000s). I bought the "Rigid Dragon" (sounds like the title of a Skyrim themed porn?) thinking that was the same style/color that I bought at the store. Turns out, it wasn't, and this color has 1% spandex (vs. the 2% in my other pants), and is therefore less yielding to my aforementioned declining physique. In hindsight, I think the color I bought at the store was "Rinsed Playa" (sounds like the title of a failed Outkast song). That being said, I do like the rigid dragon style: the fabric is stiffer and more durable, and it's a REALLY dark blue, which I dig. I just wish I would have gone a size larger so I wouldn't have to struggle to roll them over my shapely man-calves or fit them over my boots. Also, less junk-crushing would be good.
So anyway, my point is that even if you are buying the same cut and size of these jeans, they will probably fit differently. The fabric composition of each color is on the description, so make sure you check it out.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on August 5, 2015
I recently bought a pair of these Levi's jeans. Upon arrival, I tried them on and they fit and looked perfect. I then left them in my closet until today where I wanted to wear them. This is when I discovered that the 3 belt loops in the left side were missing, making the jeans basically useless for me because I cannot wear the jeans with a belt!

The return window closed some weeks ago, so I cannot return the jeans. I have tried to find a way to make a complaint to Levi's through Amazon, but it does not seem to be possible.

I hope someone from Levi's or Amazon will notice my complaint through this review and get in contact with me.

review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
66 of 78 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2015
The style is very good, but fade serious, totally unacceptable fade into the water after, sewage water has become an instant fancy Amazon operated stores before buying, very disappointed. Amazon recommends strengthening management, cleaning supply, quality assurance.
review image review image review image review image review image
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
69 of 83 people found the following review helpful
on September 21, 2006
I'm a skinny guy. Finding jeans that fit great is hard. But these fit great at a great price. They hug in all of the right places. Seriously, if you're skinny and want a pair of slim jeans, get these. They are amazing.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on January 10, 2015
I bought two jeans on December with the same model Levis 511 and the same size 29X30, however the first jean that I received is too small in comparison with the other. This product has a defect.
I bought the jean in US but I live in Colombia. I cannot return the product because I have to send a package with an extra cost.
Attached the fotos comparing the two jeans that I recieved by Amazon.
review image review image review image review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
59 of 72 people found the following review helpful
on August 25, 2012
I bought three 511s of different colors. One fits PERFECT (most definitely my favorite pair of jeans EVER). One of the other two shrunk a whole bunch during washing and is now way too short and the seam on the legs twists towards the front. The third is great in the legs, but way too tight in the upper thighs compared to the other two. The worst pair of jeans was made in China. The other two were made in Cambodia.

Honestly, it is worth the risk. I found one incredible pair of jeans (Sky Blue) even if the other two are just passable... Levi's quality is very bad. Unfortunately, since I am tall and skinny, it is hard to find a company (like Levi) that produces slim jeans in my size.
1717 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2014
I've always wore a slim fit jean and with the Levi's of old,Levi's was all I would ever wear.I used to buy Levi's 512 slim cut jeans in the size I wore and knew they would fit perfect.They quit making the 512's and moved over seas and now the sizes are all over the place plus the material is some sort of cheap cotton/spandex or something and they don't even shrink right anymore.Nowaday's you wear a pair of jeans one time and they stretch out to be real baggy,at least when they made Levi's in Mexico the fabric was of decent quality plus the sizes were consistant.Bring back the Levi's of old and I will start wearing Levi's again.I wear Lee or Wrangler now.
review image review image review image
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 42 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.