Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's Taxed Beyond Belief...
I first became familiar with Lewis Black from his appearances on the "Opie and Anthony" radio show before ever seeing him on "The Daily Show" or his comedy performances. I finally got a chance to see one of his specials on Comedy Central and was laughing hysterically. This guy is extremely full of anger and energy, and knows how to take no prisoners...
Published on January 26, 2004 by Michael Crane

versus
46 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite the disappointment.
First off, let me say, I really like Lewis Black and his style of comedy and I think he is probably THE funniest comic on the scenes today.
That said, I did not like this DVD. It is NOT an apt representation of Lewis Black's comedy. The DVD contains the same stand-up routines that were shown on Comedy Central over the past few years, and thus Black was forced to...
Published on October 8, 2003 by Rifugium


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's Taxed Beyond Belief..., January 26, 2004
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
I first became familiar with Lewis Black from his appearances on the "Opie and Anthony" radio show before ever seeing him on "The Daily Show" or his comedy performances. I finally got a chance to see one of his specials on Comedy Central and was laughing hysterically. This guy is extremely full of anger and energy, and knows how to take no prisoners. "Lewis Black Unleashed" is a fine introduction for those who aren't yet familiar with his stand-up.
The DVD contains four half-hour specials that broadcasted on Comedy Central (one of them being called, "Taxed Beyond Belief"). He's a very topical comedian that doesn't do the "usual" stand-up gig. He talks about politics, the state of the country, scandals, idiotic people and much more. Once he gets going on a rant, he never stops. And the great thing about this guy is that he attacks EVERYONE. This isn't a democratic comedian who only attacks the Republicans; nor is he a Republican who attacks only Democrats. He attacks ALL OF THEM--regardless of who's in which party.
Lewis Black reminds me a lot of the late Bill Hicks (and that's a good thing). He definitely has a "Hicks" influence in him--not saying that his delivery isn't original. On the contrary, he has a certain style that works for him and would not work for anybody else. He's always on target and never misses a beat when it comes to delivering the goods.
Aside from the four half-hour features, the DVD also includes Black's commentary on the Democratic National Convention and the Republican National Convention. While there's not a lot of extras, that's to be expected with a DVD like this. It's a lot more impressive than most. Hopefully he will come out with a full hour special that's uncensored sometime in the near future.
"Lewis Black Unleashed" does a superb job of showcasing this very funny comedian's talents. He's mad, he's bitter--and he's downright hilarious! If you've never seen him perform before, be sure to give this DVD a try. While the specials are only a half-hour long each, it still makes an entertaining viewing. -Michael Crane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a visual collection of Lewis Black..., October 13, 2003
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
If you have seen Lewis Black on Comedy Central and enjoyed it, then this DVD is for you.
It contains all three of his "Comedy Central Presents" specials over the years and also his special on "Taxes" that is presented within a college auditorium. It also contains commercials shown during Comedy Centrals InDecision 2000 era featuring Lewis at the Republican and Democratic conventions.
If you enjoy political humor and sattire, this is definately something you'd enjoy as no political member is safe from Lewis' rampage on the U.S. government.
But he also attacks things such as holidays, Starbucks Coffee ruining our country, and even weather. There's a little bit of everything for everyone to enjoy here.
The only downside is that due to the fact that these were televised events, Lewis obviously had to tone down his act a bit from the profanity filled routine we are used to from his CDs. But that doesn't damage his credibility and humor at all.
This is an excellent way to be introduced to the endless humor that is Lewis Black.
Definately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Man, October 21, 2003
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
Lewis Black is in my top 5 favorite stand up comics ever. I saw him on Comedy Central for the first time about 2 years ago and was sold from segment #1. Lewis Black is unlike any other comic I've ever seen before or since. He steps out of the way of any categorization and serves as the agitated commentator on human stupidity.
The DVD contains all 3 of his Comedy Central presents specials, as well as his "Taxed Beyond Belief" special. To be honest, I would have liked it if Comedy Central would have done his specials uncensored like they did with Dane Cook's DVD but at this juncture, I'll take Mr. Black any way I can. The first special is from 1998 is by far my favorite with his rants on the weather, the famous "if it weren't for my horse..." rant and the Clinton trials. His 2000 special is my least favorite of the three but still maintains enough of his biting social commentary to warrant several viewings. The 2002 special si a close second with his bits on the 9/11 tribute combined with the Super Bowl, Starbucks and patriotism. Through it all, he comes through as very intelligent, witty and surprisingly "right on the money" 99% of the time.
I could honestly deal with a new release from Lewis Black once every 4 months but anything will do. Overall, you have got to hand it to Comedy Central: they have single-handedly given rebirth to the stand-up game and introduced the world to brilliant minds such as Lewis Black. For this alone, I am eternally grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, September 26, 2003
By 
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
This DVD is pure genius. Lewis Black is a true master of comedy. His witty perspectives on political issues combined with his "anger management problems" ensure that you'll be in stiches many times before the end of each performance.
The DVD consits of all four stand-up specials as seen on Comedy Central (only the DVD is unedited). Each one has many, many lines that will make you chuckle even after the show is over.
In closing, this is a must buy for anyone who loves political humor, or just some funny stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Stand Up Comedian of all time!, September 10, 2003
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
I have watched Lewis Black's specials on Comedy Central, and to be quite honest, they were absolutlely hilarious! He has 4 thirty minute specials on this DVD, all of them topical comedy and very funny. I know that I am going out on the first day this comes out to purchase it. The man doesn't get near enough credit that he deserves I think. You can see him on "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart" in an occaisonal skit called "Back in Black".
I garantee that you will laugh until your gut hurts if you buy this DVD(unless you lived in a cave and haven't listened to the news in the past 6 years).
This is truly a masterpiece of comedic genius. As far as stand up is concerned, this is the AMG Mercedes Benz or Porsche Turbo. This the best of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite the disappointment., October 8, 2003
By 
Rifugium (Newtown Square, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
First off, let me say, I really like Lewis Black and his style of comedy and I think he is probably THE funniest comic on the scenes today.
That said, I did not like this DVD. It is NOT an apt representation of Lewis Black's comedy. The DVD contains the same stand-up routines that were shown on Comedy Central over the past few years, and thus Black was forced to CENSOR his act. While he maintains his wild personality bubbling over with rage and insanity, this is only a fraction of what he does and says when he is uninhibited. The weather skit just doesn't work as well without the "gorilla," and the sunblock skit doesn't work as well without the "zebra."
I've been waiting for a DVD from Black for a long time, and this "Comedy Central Presents" one is a vast VAST disappointment. It's good perhaps for beginner fans, but if you are a true fan of Lewis Black, stick with his uncensored cds and hope that he releases a video that isn't tainted by television censoring.
Don't get me wrong, you will laugh while watching this cd, perhaps uncontrolably so, but it's just not the "real" Lewis Black.
"I know I say f*%$ alot, and I'm sorry but I just don't give a s*#%." --Lewis Black
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ranty! Topical! Hilarious!, October 11, 2003
By 
Jaelin B. (Irwin, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
This DVD contains four of Mr. Black's comedy central specials, including the 2000 Comedy Central Presents which Comedy Central never seems to run anymore after 9/11 (though, it seems as though the offending terrorism joke has been cut from it... which makes me wonder why they still never run it on the air...).
Indeed, he largely censors himself for these originally television specials, but I truly don't feel that hinders it. Lewis Black is incredibly good at being funny with or without dirty words. What makes Lewis Black funny is the ranty, crushing wit he brings. Granted, he's funny when he curses a lot. But he's also funny when he doesn't.
The Indecision 2000 clips in the special features were great as well.
I highly recommend this DVD for Lewis Black fans, or just fans of good, intelligent comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Comedian At His Best, September 13, 2005
By 
One of many (somewhere in the blur) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
Lewis Black is undeniably hilarious. He is a delightfully explosive man, letting out his aggression in the form of politcal humor. And we can cherish his agitated opinions through this DVD packed full of comedy.

With Unleashed, we are treated to three of his half-hour stand-up specials (including the two regularly shown specials of Comedy Central's Friday Night Stand Up), as well as "Taxed Beyond Belief", where he teaches a class of young-adult students about taxes (of course, in a completely comedic manner). Also here for your viewing pleasure are special features, including his Comedy Central segments for The Daily Show regarding the 2000 Republican and Democratic National Conventions.

Still, regardless of his appearances on The Daily Show (which are indeed funny), his stand-up comedy is his greatest art and the best part of this DVD. One of the greatest apsects of Lewis Black's stand-up routines (besides the fact that they're non-stop hilarity) is that he makes fun of everyone and doesn't give you the impression he's taking sides. Focussing on his well-executed job of making us roll over in laughter, he knows exactly how to present his jokes -- even if the joke is less than perfect, he'll say it in a way that makes it perfect. He's got that timeless charisma about him. He's a real character!

All in all, if you like people who make anger seem funny, and make serious political conversation seem pointless, then Lewis Black is your kind of man. And, more importantly, Unleashed is your kind of DVD. This is stand-up at it's greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, June 3, 2005
By 
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
For those of you that enjoy Lewis Black, you should definitely enjoy this DVD. If you are unsure of whether or not you like him, the price is definitely worth taking the chance. You will get almost 2 hours worth of very funny sketches and supporting material from one of America's funniest 'angry' comics.

It is a collection of three of his shows on Comedy Central, but they are only 30 minute segments. The extras are pretty nice, though, with his complete coverage of Indecision 2000 for the Daily Show. It also includes two 'Shorties,' namely a segment from Colin Quinn's and a song by Stephen Lynch. Quinn's show was not as funny as I would have hoped, but Lynch's song is outrageously humorous (even though I had heard it before).

A brief warning for those who do not know. Lewis Black can sometimes use coarse language and while his main sketches are 99.99% devoid of such words, on the extras and in a few other locations, a word does slip out. Just a precaution in case you have kids or do not prefer swearing yourself. If you don't mind and know what you are getting into, you'll absolutely love this DVD, save that it perhaps could have been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If it wasn't for my horse ........, December 10, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lewis Black - Unleashed (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Lewis Black. I have watched him on Comedy Central for years now and love to catch his bits on the Daily Show. Definitly a creative genius, a bit hyper and unstabel, but still a genius.
This DVD has several of his stand-up performances from Comedy Central, the best is the entitled "the End". His take on the Super Bowl was a classic.
I have heard some of his audio stand-up routines and it's true they are funnier, likely because he can curse on those. He holds back a little in the DVD, but it was for cable television so it's understandable why. That would be the only downfall, the lack of cursing. Otherwise this DVD is a must for any fan of stand-up comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lewis Black - Unleashed
Lewis Black - Unleashed by Lewis Black (DVD - 2003)
$14.98 $11.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.