Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


246 of 334 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great articles that will give you fresh insight into 48 issues in American History
While I think the title of the book is needlessly provocative, I think this a very useful book for anyone who has been subjected to the kind of indoctrination that passes for history education in too many of our public schools and colleges. If you are looking for some quick information on these four dozen issues, this can help you pass on some solid information that...
Published on September 8, 2008 by Craig Matteson

versus
33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liberal lies?
I have to admit that reading some of these essays had me wondering. I used to see myself as a liberal-minded teen but most of these "lies" I had never heard of before. Maybe my upbringing wasn't quite so liberal afterall. Most of this has to deal with how Scheiwkart titles his chapters. "The Mexican and Spanish-American Wars were Imperialist efforts drummed up by...
Published on July 5, 2011 by CGScammell


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

246 of 334 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great articles that will give you fresh insight into 48 issues in American History, September 8, 2008
While I think the title of the book is needlessly provocative, I think this a very useful book for anyone who has been subjected to the kind of indoctrination that passes for history education in too many of our public schools and colleges. If you are looking for some quick information on these four dozen issues, this can help you pass on some solid information that probably runs counter to what your friends believe is so. I said the title is needlessly provocative because not all liberals buy into the points of view this book argues against. However, Larry Schweikart is correct that there is a general cultural agenda that supports the liberal view of things. He starts off each article with two or three short quotes from liberal histories that are countered in that article.

The articles cover notions of America's role in the world since the founding, the issues in the various wars we have fought, what FDR knew about Pearl Harbor, Truman and the Atomic Bomb, the JFK assassination, Reagan, key liberal causes such as Sacco and Vanzetti, the Rosenbergs, the Scopes Trial, Columbus and the death of millions of Indians, that pesky wall between Church and State, Women's Rights in early American, the Settling of America and the Indians, and the Robber Barons. Modern issues such as Iraq, 9/11, Global Warming, Media Bias, Educational Bias, and the social theories about our Constitution are also covered. Schweikart admits that saying that the 9/11 conspiracy nuts are liberal is a stretch, but he says he wanted to head off the kind of shoulder shrugs modern texts give to the JFK assassination conspiracy nonsense.

The articles are all relatively short and pack a punch. I am absolutely positive that it will annoy liberals a great deal and some of them will attack the book without bothering to read it. I guess that is a side benefit of the book. Its real point is to push back against what some are trying to make dominant and accepted without critique. Of course, wanting to indoctrinate students is a matter of faith rather than scholarship or education.

If you home school you will definitely want that as an addition to your readings in American History.

You will also want to look at Schweikart's `A Patriot's History of the United States".

A Patriot's History of the United States: From Columbus's Great Discovery to the War on Terror

Reviewed by Craig Matteson, Ann Arbor, MI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easy to follow discussion of issues worth consideration, February 5, 2009
I love doing these reviews. I particularly love the lack of anonymity for most who post their opinions. It is as easy as clicking a link to see the other opinions folks have offered. You can often find that seeing what folks have said about other things is very revealing.

The bottom line is that this book discusses events and issues that have room for the consideration of viewpoints outside the current popular conclusion.

As with any work like this, the proof is in the bibliography. What are the writers sources? Are they primary sources? While you may not agree with some of the conclusions based on the evidence, the author in this case at least makes points that you can follow. You might even go so far as to see how the author has come to his conclusions, even if you do not agree with him.

That is what the free exchange of ideas is all about. Let me suggest that some of the power of the book is not limited to what you are going to specifically read, but rather the books listed as sources that you might want to track down yourself.

For the extremists out there that have just completely attacked this book, let me just suggest that readers simply do a quick click on other opinions written by those folks to get a feel for their bias. In just about every case, you will find that the detractors have a consistent and often intellectually dishonest track record of praising only extreme left offerings (in many cases ones which we now know were filled mostly with incorrect information).

In this case, the author loses a star for some occasionally stale or lackluster writing. However, he does do a good job of keeping your attention on what he is talking about and walking you through his conclusions with references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 48 Liberal Lies/Larry Schweikart, February 21, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent read/ I skipped some chapters to jump ahead to areas of history-that interest me: Lie #24 "Abraham Lincoln Only Freed the Slaves to Beef Up His Troop Strength". Many of these agendas and misconceptions that are held by many people shooting their mouths off:"Bill Clinton was impeached over sex{Lie # 29),etc. I recommend this to anyone,not just Republicans or Republican history buffs-which might put some people off. Historians or Liberal Historians that compare President Obama to Lincoln should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 225 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Check an old encyclopedia, December 15, 2008
By 
CeeCee (Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
We still have an edition World Book Encyclopedia published in 1984 and one published in 1965. It is interesting to verify his complaints about modern text books. The re-writing of history is most disburbing. Find an old encyclopedia and check it out for yourself unless you are old enough to actually remember some of the events of the 1940's till today like I am. Many of us are still around who remember when the nasty lies about the USA were told by our enemies; not by our text books, movies, etc. After verifying facts for yourself, please take action to break this pattern of self-destruction. Please confront your local school boards when you find lies in text books. Hit the text book publishers in the "pocket book." One test is that if a text gets Reagan right, it might be OK. Surely you are old enough to remember those actual events!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 179 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 48 Lies is a Great Book for Students (and Teachers), September 10, 2008
Professor Schweikart has written a valuable and timely book. He takes on rampant political correctness in the writing of history texts and comes through with a five star performance. He is an expert on U. S. economic history but his breadth is apparent when he takes on standard leftist biases in diplomatic history as well as political history. One interesting thing Schweikart notices is that often a liberal slant will emerge on a topic and become entrenched in the texts. Then other historians will test the liberal idea and find many facts to contradict it. However, the history texts do not make the corrections and the bias is passed on to future generations. Schweikart shows this to be the case in the view of the motives in writing the Constitution and also in the Sacco and Vanzetti case (among others). Schweikart is an expert on economic history, but is very capable when exposing biases on Ronald Reagan, JFK, and LBJ. His emphasis is on modern U. S. history, but he is also excellent describing the first Thanksgiving, Thomas Jefferson, and the Mexican and Spanish American Wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, September 14, 2008
Wow, I knew this book was coming out and got it in the mail last week. I sat down with it the first night and ended up reading about a third of it in one sitting.

What a nice change from the usual politically correct historical mantra---what a relief! I know Larry and have read many of his books, but this new book is kind of a Schweikart "greatest hits" collection of short engaging essays. It is a perfect present for someone's bedside reading table.

Schweikart pinpoints four dozen *key* historical debates and *proves* how they have been misinterpreted and politicized in mainstream college and high school history texts (0ne of the books is assigned in my son's history class!!). This book is a scathing indictment of the modern historical profession. Schweikart proves that some (not all) contemporary historical writing is motivated by politics---its end is not the pursuit of truth but rather propagandizing a leftist perspective of American history. When Schweikart gets done surveying American history texts (he has carefully examined over twenty), one must conclude that much of what has been written in them is more folkloric than historic.

Schweikart's overarching conclusion is that, despite the "48 Liberal Lies" ubiquitous in the modern curriculum, the *truth* about American history is, by and large, a positive and uplifting story. Certainly, there have been mistakes and shameful acts, but compared to what? In the large view, the American cup is not only 'half full,' it is 3/4 full! Thank you Larry Schweikart.
Mike Allen
University of Washington, Tacoma
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Liberal lies?, July 5, 2011
By 
I have to admit that reading some of these essays had me wondering. I used to see myself as a liberal-minded teen but most of these "lies" I had never heard of before. Maybe my upbringing wasn't quite so liberal afterall. Most of this has to deal with how Scheiwkart titles his chapters. "The Mexican and Spanish-American Wars were Imperialist efforts drummed up by Corporate Interests?" or "Lee Harvey Oswald shot JFK because he was a deranged Marine and not because he was a Communist?" "Early America was Home to few Gun Owners?" Say what? These may be liberal mindsets but certainly not anything I have heard of before. But maybe I should seak out alternative history or conspiracy theory sites to find these winners.

There are a few theories Schweikart mentions that I do agree with, but these are really unimportant to American history. What is important is how a historian defends his theories, and he does a decent job with that simply because most of his alleged liberal claims have never been mainstream to begin with, or have been successfully disputed long ago. His writing style is good, (very readable) and this book deserves a read. My question is "where did he come up with some of this stuff?!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok. Except the title., January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 48 Liberal Lies About American History: (That You Probably Learned in School) (Paperback)
It should be called "lies about american history" not "liberal lies" even though there is some truth in that.
I say this because this probably turns liberals away from reading a book with extensive evidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Judge it by its Cover, November 3, 2008
By 
The main value in this book is that it provokes debate about American history. Historians do have a tendency to present their opinions as fact, and their opinions often have more to do with ideology than hard facts. One point that should be taken seriously is that historians frequently know little or nothing about economics. The general lack of knowledge concerning economics among historians is not a problem for those who claim to be experts on social history or military history. But many historians claim expertise on matters of economic history. Alleged lie #26 (on the 1950's being a dull age of conformity) is a matter of social history. Different people can have different opinions on such matters.

On the other hand, there is no longer any doubt about the Rosenberg's and many others accused of collaboration with the Soviets. Furthermore, many of the standard lines from historians on economic issues (i.e. the need for government regulation and the causes of the Great Depression) are at very best highly questionable, if not contrary to fact.

Those who think that Schweikart is purely partisan should take note of the fact that he defends FDR and LBJ from absurd conspiracy theories (in addition to absurd 9-11 conspiracy theories). I am not sure about the extent to which these and other conspiracy theories get taught in classrooms. I also doubt that many students take such nonsense seriously. But I suppose such myths do need to be debunked.

The problem with this book is that its title discourages discussion between those who disagree on how to interpret US History. Publishers do sometimes like to use provocative titles as a marketing device, and this is likely what happened here. The title is unfortunate because many on the left should rethink their position, or at least try to engage conservatives and libertarians in more thoughtful debate. Of course, there are many on the left who are too dogmatic to ever engage in an honest debate. But there are a considerable number of people on the left who are open to real discussion who might be put off by this book's title. Try reading it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who Would Ever Know Unless You Investigate and Think, September 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 48 Liberal Lies About American History: (That You Probably Learned in School) (Paperback)
This book is a little dry in areas due to the nature of the content, however, I find it compelling. I am going to lend this to another like minded business partner of mine. His parents are from the Islands, and his Father sat down with him when he was young and in school in Brooklyn. His Father told him that not all of which you learn in the "History" books is accurate.

The war waged on this country from the left ie; Academia is disgraceful. But true to their nature they would never let a little thing like facts stand in the way of the truth, so the better course of action is.... let me think a minute... ahah let's just "push" or "nudge" History. Kind of sounds like John Holdren huh???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

48 Liberal Lies About American History: (That You Probably Learned in School)
$16.00 $13.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.