Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Maxwell Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars15
5 star
87%
4 star
13%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 28, 2010
RoseAleta Laurell had already built a strong reputation as a mover and shaker during her tenure as library director at Dr. Eugene Clark Library, the oldest public library in Texas. She had overseen a thorough restoration and expansion of the building, brought in more Spanish resources, and pressed for greater public access to library computers.

Ms. Laurell outdid herself, though, in October 2000 when she went on a major fundraising drive by camping out for a week in a tent that she pitched on the library's dome rooftop. She aimed to raise $20,000 to fund the creation of a children's section, but would people respond to such an outrageous stunt?

Based on a true story, young learners will gain an interesting account of the energy and creativity that can go into fundraising efforts, particularly during lean economic times when donors are less willing to open their wallets and pocketbooks. Cartoon-style illustrations and the catchy title will help to draw in readers who otherwise may avoid a book about finances and community activism.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2010
With its cheerful cartoon-like and colorful illustrations, Stephen Gilpin helps author M.G. King create a little gem of historical writing for children in Librarian On The Roof!

It's about how a small town Texas librarian lives up on the roof of the 100-year-old library for a week, vowing to remain until the community donates $20,000 to upgrade the children's section. Obviously, she gets her way, but not before an unexpected storm nearly knocks her off.

If you've ever been to the Dr. Eugene Clark Library in Lockhart, Texas you will recognize it immediately in the drawings. And if you haven't been to the Barbecue Capitol of Texas, come on down, yall.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2010
Librarian on the Roof tells the true story of RoseAleta Laurell, a feisty librarian in the oldest library in Texas. To raise money for the children's section, RoseAleta spent a week on the library roof. She braved cold, rain, and gusty winds, but refused to come down until the town worked together to meet her fund-raising goal. Whimsical illustrations enhance this delightful story that shows how one person can make a huge difference to a community. Perfect for children of all ages. You won't be able to read it without smiling!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
I may be a bit biased. I drive past this library everyday. I live and work in Lockhart, TX, but this book tells a great story of perseverance no matter where you're from. It also speaks to the importance of making sure that we continue to support our local libraries.

From a child's standpoint, my son loves this book. He thinks its quite funny. It keeps him entertained and interested.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2010
Based on a true story, Librarian on the Roof! follows the adventure of librarian RoseAleta Laurell, who was determined to transform the dusty, outdated children's library of Lockhart, Texas into a place that would appeal to children and show them that reading can be fun. To make changes, she needed money - and to raise money, she decided to spend a week on the library's roof! The colorful, whimsical illustrations bring to life this story of a plucky, megaphone-carrying librarian whose inventive stunt successfully appealed to the hearts and minds of the townspeople. "'What I want to know,' exclaimed one little boy, 'is how she's going to go to the bathroom?' RoseAleta turned to him without batting an eyelash. 'Librarians are very resourceful people,' she replied." Librarian on the Roof! is just plain fun to read aloud and share, as well as an inspirational storybook about motivating oneself and others to get great things done. Highly recommended, especially for public library collections!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2013
I purchased this book for my Library Director for a Christmas gift, as we are building a new Library. We are in need of doing many fundraisers. This book gave her a good laugh and she read the book to the adults present, they thought the book was so appropriate and a good book to read to the story hour children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
In Librarian on the Roof author, M.G. King captures a true story of one person's passion (the love of books) and ignites a community! Whether this book is read to a young child, or is read by a early reader, it is sure to encourage the love for books! Illustration is also a "home run"!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
This librarian, RoseAleta is a very creative and smart gal - and she is a funny person to have around. I admire her guts to do something like this in order to get moeny for the library. Lockhard is a very lucky and blessed town to have had her help them improve the library like she did. Not only children but adults will enjoy this book. Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2010
thank you for your speedy delivery. it is a great book for children and for libraries, especially volunteer libraries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
This is an entertaining, if wacky, look at how librarians see themselves. Harmless fun. Somehow I lack six more words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.