Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The snapshot images speak for themselves in this captivating compilation
137 color plates distinguish Candida Hofer Libraries, beautifully capturing seats of knowledge around the world from the Pierpont Morgan Library in New York to the Bibliotheque nationale de France in Paris, the Villa Medici in Rome and others. Aside from a brief introduction, no essays intersperse the eye-catching plates, each of which takes up a whole page with a blank...
Published on August 5, 2006 by Midwest Book Review

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many uninteresting photos.
I would not buy this book again. It was as if they were trying to take "art" photos rather than consentrate on the wonderful spaces they were at.
Published 5 months ago by Steven T Johnson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The snapshot images speak for themselves in this captivating compilation, August 5, 2006
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
137 color plates distinguish Candida Hofer Libraries, beautifully capturing seats of knowledge around the world from the Pierpont Morgan Library in New York to the Bibliotheque nationale de France in Paris, the Villa Medici in Rome and others. Aside from a brief introduction, no essays intersperse the eye-catching plates, each of which takes up a whole page with a blank page opposite in a two-page spread. The snapshot images speak for themselves in this captivating compilation highly recommended for bibliophile's coffee tables and photography shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can't bring myself to spend the money.....yet, May 4, 2009
By 
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
I borrowed this book from the library to see if I was willing to spend the money on it. The answer is not quite yet. But nonetheless, it was absolutely gorgeous, and someday it will be in my collection. I'm keeping an eye out for a decent price on a used copy.

The pictures are simply beautiful, and beautifully simple. There were pictures of libraries that I could imagine myself holing up in for days, looking at books, and other libraries that I can imagine just standing in, looking around in awe, unable to read a word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Libraries, April 7, 2008
By 
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
A picture is worth a thousand words! This book says so much and yet there are only a handful of words on each page identifying the library in the photo. As I was "reading" through this book, I realized that I have been in many of the cities or countries where these libraries are located. I missed some beautiful sites. For anyone who has an interest in libraries, this is a must "read." I will be giving this to my son, who is an architect. His specialty is libraries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many uninteresting photos., March 11, 2014
By 
Steven T Johnson (North Oaks, MN USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
I would not buy this book again. It was as if they were trying to take "art" photos rather than consentrate on the wonderful spaces they were at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, but pricey., February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
Purchased as a gift for my bibliophile mother. She loved the book. Amazing photos, but a little on the pricey side. Worth it though, since it was well-received.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
This is truly a dessert for the mind without the guilt of the calories. Beautiful places taken beautifully. Perfect for the person who loves reading and exploring libraries. This is something I may have to order for all my readers this next Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Libraries, November 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
If you want to get a lot of information or large text, this book is not for you. If you want color photos this book is for you. Only 7 pages have text. Fine paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to my at home library, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
Beautifully taken photographs showcase some of the best libraries our world has to offer. A wonderful coffee table book, a centrepiece and piece of art itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book..., December 31, 2010
This review is from: Libraries (Hardcover)
Great book...if you like that sort of thing. Actually it was a gift...for someone who likes that sort of thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Libraries
Libraries by Candida Höfer (Hardcover - August 20, 2014)
$99.95 $82.13
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.