Industrial Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Ed Sheeran egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Deals Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now HTL

Format: DVDChange
Price:$15.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

194 of 204 people found the following review helpful
on February 28, 2007
This review is designed to assist individuals who are on the fence about upgrading from the previously released Special Edition (SE) DVDs to the Ultimate Edition (UE) DVDs. I do not profess to be an audiophile or videophile, so I won't be bandying about terminology like compression and low-end frequency loss (I'm trying to help you, not impress you). On the other hand, I do comprehend technical terms and realize the importance of presentation and quality; however, this information is for the benefit of the average consumer.

Like so many others, the first thought that came to mind following the announcement of the UE DVD project was 'corporate greed.' My perspective has since changed considerably. In the wake of Sony's acquisition of MGM/UA, there is no doubt that the new parent company is looking to exploit the series for maximum profit. But at least Sony has the resources to do it right.

My waning interest in the Bond series was reinvigorated with the release of "Casino Royale" in 2006, an exceptional reboot which compensates for the disappointing Brosnan era. Given that event, I wanted to revisit the older films, only to discover that the SE DVDs looked less than impressive on a contemporary LCD television. At that point, I wondered if the UE DVDs might live up to the marketing hype.

I always read product reviews on this website to help guide my purchases. I'm equally amused and annoyed by hardcore technophiles who point out 'mistakes' in the UE DVDs - 'Felix Leiter's pants are the wrong color,' 'reverb on the gunshot ricochet is too heavy,' etc. I'm quite certain that none of these amateur critics have ever been employed by EON Productions, United Artists, or MGM, and have never seen an original master film print. Thus they are not credible reference sources for interpreting the artistic vision of the filmmakers. While no one is perfect, I am convinced that the professionals at Lowry/DTS Digital Images went above and beyond to ensure that the finished products accurately reflect how the films should properly appear and sound.

Another factor to bear in mind is that everyone's home theater setup is different, thus audio and video reproduction may vary considerably. Very few of those 'expert' reviewers describe their home theater configurations; however I expect that they all have high-end equipment with optimized settings. I also assume that none of them suffer from color blindness, hearing loss, or any other condition that might invalidate their comments. The average Joe can't distinguish between cerulean and cobalt, and doesn't have a basement that resembles the local Cineplex. For the record, I am viewing the films using a Samsung DVD R-120 directly connected to a Samsung LNR328W 32 inch LCD HDTV using Monster component cables, with sound directly output to Bose Cinemate speakers (2.1 channel stereo).

IMAGE: The clarity, color tones, and level of detail are truly amazing, with the restoration giving an almost three dimensional effect to the picture. There is no absolutely no visible film damage or anomalies such as dust, scratches, hairs, etc. like that which plagued all previous releases. It's like watching a new print, only better.

SOUND: While I don't have 5.1 channel surround sound, the Dolby Digital stereo output is just as revelatory as the restored image. Although I can't comment on surround sound effects and DTS output quality, I can say that the soundtrack (music, dialogue, and effects) is properly balanced for the first time on any video release. I find myself fully hearing and completely understanding many lines of dialogue for the first time. The stereo remixing on the earlier films is subtle but contributes exceptionally to the viewing experience. However, if you prefer the original mono soundtrack, that is an option in the setup menu.

SPECIAL FEATURES: Almost all of the special features available on the SE DVDs have been transferred over to the UE DVDs ("Die Another Day" being the exception), and are joined by new content. Some of the new material is fascinating (period interviews and footage), while other segments are less than enthralling (storyboard sequences). I've not listened to any of Roger Moore's running commentaries, but I rarely watch any DVD in that manner. In short, the original behind-the-scenes documentaries carried over from the SE DVDs still make for the most enlightening viewing.

PACKAGING: It doesn't take a high-paid marketing executive to figure out that if the films were released in four chronologically ordered box sets, the first two boxes would substantially outsell the latter two: this explains why the series was jumbled around. Considering that serious fans will want the entire series anyway, this frequently documented complaint seems petty. Regarding the storage devices (boxes and cases), I often read gripes that the individual movies can't be sequenced into the proper order because the boxes have the film titles printed on the spines. Again, this is a trivial grievance. Reviewers are split over the slimline double-disc cases, some preferring the space-saving measure, while others finding them cheap-looking and not as presentable (I agree with both sides). Because the cases can't hold the accompanying booklets, that paperwork is deposited into one side of the box. I've always found those booklets to be superfluous anyway, and they're not included with the single disc releases.

TECHNICAL ISSUES: Some reviewers have reported experiencing freezing and pixeling during playback of some discs, beyond the usual shift between disc layers. May I suggest that it is not a defective DVD, but rather performance issues with one's player. I had similar problems with "O.H.M.S.S." and other non-UE discs played on my Samsung, however the discs played fine on another unit or my PC.

Since the start of the home video market, the Bond films have been released in nearly every format: VHS (through CBS/FOX and then MGM/UA), Laserdisc, RCA SelectaVision (remember that one?), Pioneer VCD, and DVD (initial releases were THX in cardboard snap cases). To play devil's advocate for a moment, the specifications of Lowry's restoration and digital transfer process will allow for full 1080p high definition versions of each film. So expect yet another massive reissue campaign within the next three years or so to capitalize on the next generation optical disc format. Currently, there exists a competition between Sony's Blu-ray disc and Toshiba's HD DVD - a market struggle somewhat comparable to the VHS vs. Betamax battle of the early 1980s. To be honest, I don't know how much better the picture can get - with a decent LCD screen and an up-converting DVD player, the average viewer will be more than satisfied with the UE DVDs.

By the end of 2007, each film will be available for individual purchase as a single disc releases with no additional features (except cast and crew commentaries as a secondary audio track). However, the box set bundle is a better deal, from both financial and entertainment perspectives. But if you still need additional convincing (as I did), buy the single disc "Goldfinger" for ten bucks - I was sold on the box sets even before the opening titles started.

UPDATE (March 16, 2007): Just purchased a Sony DVPNS75H upscaling DVD player. There are no playback issues like those experienced with the Samsung DVD R-120. In fact, the picture is slightly better. Haven't tried the HDMI link, but the progressive scan output through component cables is beautiful. A word to the wise - any 'defective' discs you have may be just fine, however it could be time to upgrade your player. One more note - the player has this neat screen saver feature which displays a still frame from the menu along with the title of the film when you stop playback (many recent DVDs are encoded with this function).

UPDATE (April 10, 2007): Having watched half the series in chronological order, I finally found a quality issue worth reporting - excessive edge enhancement (artificial image sharpening) during the first half of "The Spy Who Loved Me." The effect is characterized by the presence of black or white outlines around objects (like a halo), predominantly in medium and long shots. The effect is less obvious during the second half of the film. Thinking that I might have been tired while viewing, I perused endless posts on discussion boards dedicated to the UE DVDs to confirm. It's distracting and disappointing, but the UE is still preferable to the SE. Also worth noting is that the frame is cropped on the transfers of "A View To A Kill" and "Goldeneye." No integral image data is lost and the average viewer probably won't notice.

Having read all those online threads, I'm amazed over how purists emphatically debate details, but even after digesting such intense scrutinies, I abide by my own evaluation of the UE DVDs - you WILL be impressed.
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
62 of 64 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon January 6, 2000
"Licence To Kill" is one of the most controversial films in the Bond catalog. For many, it is too violent (in a realistic way, without the comedic or fantasy elements), and does not feature a "Bondian" villian or plot. For others, however it is a return to the classic Fleming style, as seen in "From Russia With Love," and "On Her Majesty's Secret Service."

Of all the actors that have played James Bond, Timothy Dalton provided the most accurate interpretation of Ian Fleming's character. That may be a different character than the one that Sean Connery played, and certainly quite different than the one Roger Moore played, but Dalton's performance as Bond in "License To Kill," and "The Living Daylights," is the truest to Fleming's novels.

The Special Edition DVD of "License To Kill" is quite special indeed. A beautiful widescreen picture, crystal clear sound, and a plethora of special features (like the other Bond special editions) including theatrical trailers and documentaries on the making of the movie make it a must have. The film itself also boasts some of the most exciting action sequences and best character development (what a novel concept!) in all of the Bond films, and features some crackling dialog. If you're an action movie junkie, or like an exciting thriller this one is for you.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
on December 30, 2003
If you enjoyed the first few James Bond films with Sean Connery (before the franchise turned into a campy parody of itself), then you'll like this one. Although it's not based on any of Ian Fleming's original stories, it captures their feel better than anything since _From Russia With Love_.

Timothy Dalton's steely Bond is arguably the closest to date to Fleming's original vision for the MI6 secret agent (not 'spy', please). He's as tough and lean as Connery ever was, and he brings something of Connery's lupine charm to the role.

The rest of the movie is extremely well done. Robert Davi is one of the best villains since Goldfinger, and surely one of the most realistic in the entire series. Carey Lowell, though mostly effective, is a little underwhelming in the acting department. And the plot -- lifted at least partly from Fleming's _Live and Let Die_ (which is the source for the bad thing that happens to Felix Leiter early in the film) -- gives Dalton's Bond an excuse to seethe with volcanic fury and go off seeking vengeance.

If I'm not mistaken (and I don't think I am), this is also the last script to which longtime Bond screenwriter Richard Maibaum contributed. (He died not long after this film was produced.)

I like Pierce Brosnan in the role, and I'd like him better if he got better movies to do; _Goldeneye_ has probably been his best so far. But for some reason, the screenwriters don't want to make him gritty enough. (And by the time they tried with Roger Moore -- in the excellent _For Your Eyes Only_ -- it was far too late.)

I also like _The Living Daylights_. But when I want to watch a non-Connery Bond film, this is the one I pick most often.

Probably all Bond fans out there have already seen it. But if you haven't, you've got a treat ahead of you.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
on January 17, 2001
I have seen where a few critics have down-graded this movie and that is a shame as "License to Kill" has a lot going for it. The concept of Bond as a rogue was a refreshing change, and one of the best concepts in any of the Bond films. Essentially, the plot goes as follows: A renown drug dealer Sanchez (Robert Davi) is arrested in Miami with help of the DEA and Felix Leiter (Bond's CIA contact and good friend). Following the arrest, Felix gets married. Sanchez escapes and commits a brutal act of revenge before returning to Isthmus City. James Bond (Timothy Dalton), determined to take Sanchez down, enlistes Pam Bouvier (Carey Lowell) to help him. One problem for Bond is that Sanchez is well guarded and has numerous contacts. Bond will have to have to be careful in infiltrating Sanchez. The other problem is that he is now a rogue agent, having his license to kill revoked by the British government.
The only real weak points of this movie would be the occasional weak acting from Talisa Soto (Sanchez's girlfriend), and a little bit more swearing than some of the other bond films, but many other elements more than make up for these two minor shortcomings.
Timothy Dalton is superb as James Bond. Dalton is a great, capable actor, and he is perfect for the movie and its concept. Dalton did a superb job and this is a key factor to the success of the film. As a side note, Dalton needed to make a change in the approach from Roger Moore, just as Moore needed to make a change from Connery. This change between actors is important, otherwise comparisons are made, and usually it is the incumbent who loses (in the minds of the general audience). Dalton did the right thing by changing the Bond to a darker persona. The contrast is important because of Roger Moore's 12-year tenure as Bond, which spread over seven films. Carey Lowell makes a very capable Bond woman as it nice to see a tough woman pairing up with Bond. The central villain, Sanchez, is very strong and well acted -- and also a nice change away from villains who want to destroy the world. Benicio Del Toro and Anthony Zerbe are well cast and well-acted as Sanchez's henchmen. Also, it was nice to see Q, played by the late Desmond Llewelyn, get more to do than his usual brief cameo or two. He certainly deserved it and rose to the challenge admirably. It was also nice to see David Hedison return to play Felix Leiter (he previously played Leiter in "Live and Let Die").
Other elements that make this a very enjoyable, memorable Bond film to watch are the location work, great special effects, and great stunts. The stunts with the semi-trucks toward the end are great fun! Michael Kamen's score adds a lot to the movie as well.
VHS or DVD? The VHS version simply contains the movie. The DVD version is a special edition that includes two different audio commentaries which let you watch the movie and hear commentary by some of the cast and production members. They comment about the actors, work on the set, the scenes, and how certain scenes were shot/created. Two music videos are included: "License to Kill" by Gladys Knight is the opening theme, and "If You Asked Me To" by Patti LaBelle marks the closing theme. A promotional feature on the stunt footage at the climax and a documentary on the film itself are also included. Finally, two theatrical trailers and a photo galary with over 100 stills are included.
If you are a fan of the Bond series, I highly recommend this movie, and the same goes toward Timothy Dalton and spy/action movie fans. This movie is also included in the first volume of a Bond Collector's set. If you like extra features, I would recommend the DVD. Overall, I happen to think that "License to Kill" is one of the best Bond movies. Major re-evaluation required.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on April 20, 2007
The Ultimate Bond Collection is sure must in any Bond fan collection, or even in any Action Movie collection.

Not only do we get all the movies, and I mean all 20 of them, in a fully digitally restored image, but also in full Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround sound, not forgetting the DTS system also included...

Can you imagine watching Dr. No or Goldfinger in this manner? Or even Live and Let Die or The Man with the Golden Gun this way?

Simply spectacular.

Although there are some differences in the special features included here, compared to those offered in the equivalent Special Editions, which I would keep just for this reason, if you, like me still have them, instead of simply discard them from your shelves.

Also, the accompanying booklets are nice, but not as colorful as their Special Edition counterparts.

But as far as the main content, which after all are the DVDs, the Ultimate Collection is light years away from their previous releases.

Unless you want to wait until the entire collection is once again re-released, and this time on HD-DVD, which I sincerely doubt, I don't think they will give more impact to the movies themselves (you will still have to wait a couple of years, before the HD-DVD revolution truly takes in the hearts and minds of people - besides, there are even newer developments... so don't hold your breath for this).

The only two negative points here are just minor ones.

One is the everlasting question about the final scene in "From Russia with Love", on the Venice canals, in which James Bond (Sean Connery) and Tanja Romanova (Daniela Bianchi) are scrutinizing the secret "blue" movie taken by the Russians in the Hotel room in Istanbul, earlier in the movie, when Bond meets Tanja for the first time.

The full scene included some additional comments which were cut at the time, due to censorship problems. But today we are all grown-ups and therefore I would have appreciated, if they had it reintegrated as it seemed to be in the intentions of the Producers.

But then again, who knows, maybe the material was lost in the meanwhile (although I doubt it, because on at least on a videotape release I used to own from England, the entire scene was shown, unfortunately I don't have it anymore).

The second point is that they left Madonna's videoclip of her song for "Die Another Day", together with the "Making Of" of the same, out of this DVD release.

So, if you still own the Special Edition of "Die Another Day", do not get rid of it as yet, unless of course, you don't really care for that particular videoclip.

That's all.

The DTS soundtrack is a plus in this collection. If you own a DTS capable DVD player, put it on and you will experience these movies as you never have before, it is far better than the just conventional Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround sound also included.

What can I add beyond all of this? Absolutely nothing.

If you have appreciated the Special Editions, you will absolutely be overjoyed in having the Ultimate Edition.

It is well worth the money.

Bravo Sony, you are doing an exceptionally good job!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon February 7, 2000
'Licence to Kill' marks Timothy Dalton's last appearance as James Bond, and it is a gritty, harder-edged Bond film than any since the halycon days of Sean Connery. Despite Leonard Maltin's comments posted here at, I prefer this film to Dalton's debut, in 'The Living Daylights'. (Rumor has it that the script of the earlier film was written with Pierce Brosnan in mind, as he came very close to playing Bond in the late was filled with quips and one-liners, definitely NOT Dalton's forte!)
In this outing, Bond's longtime friend, Felix Leiter (David Hedison, playing the CIA agent a second time), is brutalized by a vicious druglord (Robert Davi), and his new bride is murdered, and Bond has to go AWOL from the British Secret Service to get revenge. This concept turns Bond into a lone wolf, although Q and CIA operative Pam Bouvier (the athletic and sexy Corey Lowell, later on 'Law and Order'), join him in his vendetta.
As in all the best Bond films, the action is fast and loud, the women don't wear much, and there is a riproaring climax (here, in a high-speed big rig chase). By having Bond act alone, the producers were able to keep the budget down, the high-tech gadgetry to a minimum, and the locations to just Miami and Mexico (substituting as a fictional Latin American country.) All this makes for a lean, mean Bond vehicle, well-suited for Dalton's interpretion of Bond as less witty, and more violent.
Why did the film fail at the box office? Sad to say, audiences weren't prepared for a 007 that was closer to Ian Fleming's vision. Also, 'Lethal Weapon 2' came out at about the same time, and Mel Gibson was at the peak of his popularity, which pulled crowds away. Finally, while Dalton was very macho, and excellent in fight scenes, he lacked the charisma and panache of Connery or Moore, and was uncomfortable saying the occasional one-liners.
All this is a shame, because the film is excellent, one of the better Bond outings! It would be six years before a new generation of filmmakers reinvented 007, in 'Goldeneye', with Pierce Brosnan, at last, as Bond.
Discover for yourself the pleasures of 'Licence to Kill', in the wonderful DVD Special Edition, with commentaries by director John Glen, a 'Making Of' documentary, theatrical trailers, and a LOT of other goodies! You WON'T be disappointed!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on May 12, 2009
Licence to Kill is a product of its time. This James Bond movie was released on the heels of the original "Die Hard" and it shares not only a similar feel but also literally takes some of the same elements from that movie. Oh, and it was also the "Daniel Craig James Bond movie" before there was a Daniel Craig James Bond.

Released in the late eighties, this Bond flick was an attempt to modify the traditional Bond formula. Its basically a revenge picture as Bond attempts to avenge a drug baron's attack upon Felix Leiter and his newlywed bride. The new element this time was to make the adventure a personal one rather than a mission on behalf of queen and country.

The producers chose a style that embraced a gritty feel before Daniel Craig came along, and they clearly chose Die Hard as a model. Unlike the would-be tyrants of previous Bond flicks, the villain here shares with Die Hard's heavy the ultimate desire merely to obtain a lot of illegally-procured cash. Both movies focus upon the villain's point of view and personal frustrations so much that the audience's sympathies are sometimes shared between both hero and villain.

The setting is a little more commonplace this time. Gone are the previous rocket wrist-bands and Eiffel Tower chases. There are a lot more conventional automatic weapons, and the vehicles this time include small planes, speedboats and tanker trucks rather than Aston Martins outfitted with built-in arsenals.

Instead of just suggesting Die Hard, "Licence" sometimes borrowed the same actors. The drug lord and the CIA agent here are played by fellow FBI agents(!)from the earlier movie. If the soundtrack sounds familiar, it's because composer Michael Kamen brought his minimialist style to both films.

That said, the approach works in spades for Licence to Kill. The stunt-pieces are great, and the pacing is lively. Timothy Dalton introduced a serious Bond before Daniel Craig, and while opinions vary, I think he made a great Bond. Most importantly, the essential Bond elements haven't been discarded--the gadgets and the "Bond girls" are still there--they just aren't the focus this time.

Technically, this is a great Blu-ray. This movie has probably never looked better, even during its initial release. Many of the extras are recycled from previous DVD releases, but they still go into more depth than say, the recent "Quantum of Solace" release.

While Licence to Kill was a financial disappointment when it was released, I think history will be kind to this movie and to Timothy Dalton. It has aged gracefully, and is one of the best in the Bond series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon December 29, 2000
Timothy Dalton's 2nd and final appearance as James Bond finds the famous spy going AWOL from the British Secret Service in search of drug kingpin, Franz Sanchez (Robert Davi), the man responsible for the near death of his American friend, Felix Leiter as well as the death of his new bride. This Bond film is very different from the rest of the series, in that it shows Bond as more of a renegade than that of a super spy. Teaming up with an American operative (Carey Lowell), the two work together to destroy Sanchez's organization from the inside out. People will note that this plot has a very "Yojimbo," "Fistful Of Dollars," "Last Man Standing," quality to it, in that Sanchez befriends Bond, who then makes him suspect all his allies, having him eliminate his own men in the process.
As in all Bond films, Licence To Kill has some great stunt sequences, notably 007 firing a harpoon gun at a plane and skiing after it on the water without skis. Also the great tanker truck sequences are amazing. You have to see a rocket launcher being fired at one to believe it!
Timothy Dalton will always be remembered as the most serious James Bond. And although many people criticize him to this day for it, he truly made the part the most real.
It's also interesting to point out that Licence To Kill had the best scored screenings with test audiences than any other Bond film, yet it failed to find an audience in the US but did do well in the UK. The original title was Licence Revoked, but United Artists thought Americans wouldn't know what that meant (we're not that ignorant, UA!) so it was changed.
The DVD version is packed full of extra features including 2 audio commentaries, one with director John Glen, the other with producer Michael G. Wilson. Although Wilson's is quite informative, John Glen's is the most enjoyable in my opinion.
You also get the Licence To Kill music video with Gladys Knight, who claims she now would not have done the song because its subject matter involves killing. And you get the End Credit "If You Asked Me To" music video by Patti LaBelle, one of the most popular End Credit Songs for a Bond movie.
There are also other little goodies such as a still gallery, some publicity footage, a featurette on the exciting stunt footage of the film, and of course, theatrical trailers.
But one of the best bonuses on the disc is the Inside Licence To Kill Documentary. You get a real feel of how hard and difficult the film actually was to make, with Cubby Broccoli unable to stay on location because of the heat and the mysterious burning hand seen on one of the still photos of a tanker explosion. Very cool stuff!
So, although many dislike it here in the USA, this does not mean the film is not credible and more and more people are discovering today what an actual good film it truly is.
"Bless Your Heart."-Wayne Newton
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon October 24, 2006
"Licence to Kill" is the 2nd and final outing of Timothy Dalton as James Bond. It's better than his first turn as Bond "The Living Daylights" and has some great action sequences, beautiful women, and even some drama. In the opening of the film, Bond's friend Felix (David Fedison) is getting married to Della (Priscilla Barnes). Right before the ceremony, Bond and Felix hear that drug lord Franz Sanchez (Robert Davi, an actor you'll recognize from many films. Even though, I can't remember which ones) is nearby and they manage to arrest him; The scene ends with Felix arriving at the chapel, to his overjoyed bride. Problem is, Sanchez has a lot of money and is able to bribe one of the officers to help him in escaping. He exacts his revenge by attacking Felix and Della; With Della dead and Felix in the hospital, Bond resigns from the British Secret Service and goes after Sanchez with a personal vendetta. Aiding him is a beautiful pilot named Pam Bouvier (Carey Lowell) and Sanchez's girlfriend Lupe (Talisa Soto, wife of Benjamin Bratt). A very young Benicio Del Toro turns up as one of Sanchez's henchmen; It was weird seeing Del Toro, because he looks different and his voice is a lot higher compared to his now-raspy voice. A lot of people complain about Dalton's interpretation of Bond, which is a far cry from Connery's (I haven't seen any Roger Moore or Pierce Brosnan outings yet, so I have only Connery to compare to). I agree that Connery is the best Bond, but it's not so much in the acting; But the character. Connery's Bond is almost inhuman. He shows almost no real emotion. He loves women, but he's never seen in love with a woman. He's pretty much immortal, always winning in the end. He seems to have no real friends, except Q...But that's just the guy that makes his weapons. In his outings, Dalton makes Bond human. Everything Bond does in this film is for personal satisfaction, he has friends, he shows emotion. A lot of people don't like this, they like Bond to be what they want to be. But, I have to respect Dalton for what he did. If you like the James Bond series, then you'll probably like this film. It's a pretty strong entry in the series.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on February 26, 2003
In his two films as 007, Timothy Dalton salvaged the role from the jokey one-liner characterization of Roger Moore. Frankly, I don't think Bond would still be around had Dalton not gone back to the source material(Fleming's novels)to reinvent the character. In his(unfortunately)last outing as Bond, Dalton resigns from the service and turns rogue agent to get revenge against a South American drug lord. The gadgets are few and far between. The action is brutal and tense. The villain (Robert Davi)is one of the best of the film series. Desmond Llewelyn, as Q, has more screen time than ever before, and it's a plus. If you've read Fleming's original novels, particularly LIVE AND LET DIE, you realize Dalton had the character nailed. Fleming's Bond was a human being--he got hurt physically and emotionally, he drank, ate, and smoked too much, he had feelings. Admittedly, Dalton didn't handle the humor as well as Connery, Moore, or Brosnan. But he knew how Fleming intended for the character to be and he played him that way. Sadly, when the film came out in 1989, it had to compete with Michael Keaton's much-hyped first Batman film, the last Indiana Jones film, and Lethal Weapon 2. In addition, it was poorly advertised by the film company. With this series of obstacles, one of the best of the Bond films never stood a chance, and Dalton joined George Lazenby as the other underrated 007.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The Living Daylights
The Living Daylights by Timothy Dalton (DVD - 2007)

License To Kill [Blu-ray + DHD]
License To Kill [Blu-ray + DHD] by Timothy Dalton (Blu-ray - 2015)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.