Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Chi-Raq easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars52
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 16, 2013
Robert Randolph & The Family Band recognize and pay tribute to the jam and gospel roots of their musical backgrounds with a heaping dose of blues-funk with rocking rhythms. Comprised of strong originals and equally solid covers, "Lickety Split" is a successful return for Robert Randolph & The Family Band.

First track... "I think I'm 'bout to break a string in here!" howls Robert Randolph on "Amped Up," a gospel-rock belter from the steel-guitar master's fourth studio album. It's a quintessential Randolph moment, unhinged, dorky and Holy Spirit huge."

"Lickety Split" showcases the talents of Family Band members Lenesha Randolph (vocals), Danyel Morgan (bass, vocals), Brett Haas (guitar, keys) and Marcus Randolph (drums). Trombone Shorty makes a guest appearance on the track "Take the Party," while guitar legend Carlos Santana joins the group on "Brand New Wayo" and "Blacky Joe."

Randolph's guitar playing is prominent throughout the record. "The band's chops are dazzling, but Randolph himself steals every scene. His steel-guitar wails, it moans, it stings -- on the slow-burning "Welcome Home," it floats like a warped harp. Check the ecstatic "Born Again," which spirals into psychedelic slide-guitar crossfire."

Scattered among ten original tracks are renditions of "Love Rollercoaster" by The Ohio Players and The Rascals' 1966 hit "Good Lovin.'" Following the pace of a collection set in motion by the speedy opening track "Amped Up," "Good Lovin'" is a fitting happy-go-lucky song to sign off with.

Randolph has turned heads by transforming his pedal steel guitar into a potent instrument rivaling the best conventional guitarists, and his Family Band are much more than back-up musicians deployed around him. They represent the flow and the soul of his music. This release is unrelentingly fun, it's like a funky, blues-rock hoedown.

Enjoy !
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
While their last album, "We Walk This Road," seemed like somewhat of a departure for them, "Lickety Split" has Robert Randolph and the Family Band back where they belong, making great music. I recently had the opportunity to see them perform much of this new material live, and as you'd expect, it all worked extraordinarily well. This album is full of explosive guitar work and lots of great jamming. Robert probably won't ever be thought of as a sophisticated song writer, but he sure can make you get up and dance. This album does that as well as any he's recorded. While I didn't love their last album, this one is all I hoped for, and more. Fans new and old will be well satisfied with this effort.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
This CD rocks...with that out of the way Randolph, in my humble opinion, has captured a live vibe on this newest release. His playing and vocals are spot on and the melodys abound! Lickety Split, Get Ready, Amped up, and Welcome Home are my favorites. Brand New Wayo with Carlos Santana would have been MUCH BETTER if he did not constantly call out Santana's name...very annoying and the cover of Love Rollercoaster is utterly pointless, which is the reason for only 4 stars. If you like this man's style and music...get it!
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2014
Great music on this CD. I saw Robert Randolph and his band on a show on TV and liked their music so much I searched for his album and bought this. I listen to it in the car and will probably download it to my I-Phone too!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2014
As a true music lover who genuinely cares about sound quality, I honestly can't recommend this album for one simple reason: IT'S TOO BLEEPIN' LOUD!!! What do I mean by that, you might be wondering? Well somebody in the mixing room must've been asleep at the board because the EQ levels have been boosted way past what I feel are "acceptable" limits (even for a rock album, which is hard to fathom), with the differences between high and low range frequencies becoming less and less distinct on EVERY-SINGLE-TRACK! My heavens, if you're looking for a stereo reference CD to test how good your sound system is then this one clearly does not make the grade. For those who previously bought Metallica's 'Death Magnetic' album will know exactly what I'm talking about here.

This is a real tragedy because Robert Randolph and his band really brought their "A" game on this release. I haven't heard them sound this hot and inspired since their studio debut. I personally felt they could've done without their cover of the Ohio Players' 'Love Rollercoaster' since it doesn't quite surpass the original (might be on par with the Chili Peppers' version, come to think of it), but other than that it's a righteous return to form for them performance-wise. Still, all the better to just wait for a re-release where the volume levels are thoroughly back "in the green" where they should be.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2014
Robert Randolph is rapidly becoming well know, his presence in the blues world is a wonderful thing. I look forward to hearing Mr. Randolph in the future.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
A very groovy sound coming from a current band. The kind of music that will make you dance around the house as you cook dinner.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
It's nice to hear RRFB sounding like RRFB again. Following "We Walk This Road," which tried to strip out everything original the Family Band had to offer, "Lickety Split" is a true delight.
This is a joyful outing for Randolph and Company. The music is heaven-sent and everyone is clearly having a good time.
This is the typical RRFB salad -- a volatile mix of rock, funk, Gospel and blues. I never get tired of it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2013
I mean that only in the best way RR&FB have been one of my favorites since I saw them as warm up for a lame Black Crows set. The range of this band is always amazing, they can play gospel, rock, blues and soul. Sometimes in the same song. This album was the funkiest and it has Trombone Shorty to boot!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
As the title implies, this album is another unfortunate victim of the loudness war. For those who do not know what this is, it is when the volume of the music is raised on the medium (in this case on the CD). At first this sounds like it should not be a problem, however all formats have limits. Unfortunately, the volume on this album has been pushed up to near the max volume level the CD format can handle and thus necessitated heavy use of dynamic range compression. This results in a lack of dynamic range in the music (the difference between the loud and quiet parts) as well as audible distortions in the music from the sound waves clipping (this occurs when the volume of the music stored on the CD hits the maximum supported volume level and the waveform plateaus until the volume level decreases). What this all means is that the audio quality is atrocious. I would even go so far as to say the CD is borderline defective. When you buy a CD you are buying an audio product, therefore the audio quality should be high, especially when it is from a major label like this one.

On the plus side, the music quality is good, that is the songs are well written and seem to be preformed well.

Overall I would not recommend this album to anyone who cares about music or audio quality.

For more information on the loudness war/the impact of a dynamic range and what clipping is and what it sounds like I would recommend the following videos:

Loudness war:
[...]
Clipping:
[...]

If you want an explanation of what clipping is start at 1:41. If you just want to here what clipping sounds like skip forward to 3:12. This video was examining a video camera but the issues are valid for all audio (On CDs the clipping is typically introduced when the audio is being mastered)

For information about the dynamic range of other albums and weather they suffer form the loudness war you should look and the following site:
[...]
44 comments12 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.89
$10.99
$56.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.