Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$11.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 18, 2009
When I saw the dismal review with one star rating about which was about Fox network and not the tv show Lie To Me, I had to write one. Lie to Me is loosely based on the real life work of psychologist Paul Ekman. I studied some of Ekman's work and read one of his books. I believe this show is very interesting and as true as it can be to deception expert training. I loved the real life footage they show from time to time to mirror the actor's micro-expression. Fascinating work. This show is a mix of fiction and non-fiction and it's quite a nice break from "reality" TV.
22 comments| 133 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2009
This is one of the most unique shows to hit TV in a long time. "Lie to Me" defies so many trends and presents a fascinating show with no guns, no explosions, car chases or tiring cops/robbers drama, and delves into captivating psychology and stories loaded with twists and turns. You can't look away from actor Tim Roth who dominates every scene. One of the best shows overall to hit TV. I was so happy to hear that it's been renewed for a second season and can't wait for the DVD release.
11 comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2009
This TV series is excellent, the best thing on at present. Tim Roth brings superb acting skills to the complex character of Dr. Cal Lightman, an expert in lie detection, based on the research conducted by Paul Ekman, a renowned expert in the field of facial expressions and emotions. The Lightman Group is employed by various agencies to detect deception, whether it is in a life or death scenario finding trapped builders in a collapsing building, searching for kidnapped children or the nuances in romantic relationships. The series explains the science behind the concepts in an easy to understand manner in the first few episodes but doesn't molly-coddle the audience, expecting them to keep up as the series picks up speed and dropping the details explanations. Excellent characterisation, good plot lines, great acting. This show is very good. I await the release of the DVD with a great deal of impatience and hope the following series lives up to the impact the first one made.

If you like your shows with a strong flavouring of intelligence this is definitely one for you.
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 7, 2009
Tim Roth stars as Dr. Cal Lightman, a no-nonsense expert in lie detection who heads The Lightman Group, a Washington D.C.-based team of likeminded professionals who help solve crimes and mysteries by analyzing the facial expressions and behavior of the various individuals involved.

Lightman and his partner, Dr. Gillian Foster (Kelli Williams) are primarily assisted by their young protegees, researcher Eli Loker (Brendan Hines) and Ria Torres (Monica Raymund), a newcomer who was specially chosen for her innate ability to spot lies without any prior training.

Of course, a negative aspect of being so finely tuned to the nuances of human behavior means seeing things in family and friends, even when you might not always want to -- as Lightman has learned the hard way with his ex-wife Zoe (Jennifer Beals). He and Foster have an often-repeated agreement not to "cross the line" when dealing with one another. Yet when you genuinely care about someone, and interact regularly, it's often difficult to keep your eyes closed and mouth shut.

Particularly memorable episodes include "Depraved Heart," where Cal investigates the back-to-back suicides of two Indian sisters -- and reveals something startling about the reason he first got into lie detection -- and "Blinded," where the group tries to find out who's copycatting a serial rapist's brutal assaults before the next woman is assault -- and one of their own is threatened.

This drama provides a great blend of workplace mysteries and personal issues, as well as a number of red herrings (Lightman himself being the master). If you haven't given this show a try, please do -- you'll soon be hooked!
11 comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2009
I have been hooked on this show since episode one. This role suits Tim Roth perfectly; the character is smart, but flawed. the episodes are fast paced and have many twists and turns.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2009
This is the best new crime procedural series to come along in years! Tim Roth is great as a specialist in body language, helping to solve crimes simply by watching how people react and talk. The crimes themselves are interesting too, with some clever plot twists included. The main characters are engaging and interact well. My one tiny complaint is that at times I have trouble understanding Tim Roth because of his accent, but that is very minor. I can't wait for the DVD, and I hope it will include some interesting background on the science of body language.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2009
Can network TV produce a show as good as found on HBO or Showtime? Fox's Lie to Me is a well crafted show which comes close to cable quality on several levels.

It is an intelligent drama with intriguing stories and a great set of characters. Cal Lightman is a walking human lie detector. His character is complex, and his personal relationships are like Gott's cosmic strings with twists and turns forward and backward.

Gillian Foster is Lightman's partner and in many instances his conscience. During this first season she has to deal with her demanding job as well as a crumbing marriage to a government bureaucrat with a secret.

Rita Torres is the new kid on the block. She and Lightman are like two mirrored images with plenty of ignition fodder to keep them on the fiery edge. Torres is pulled into a Catch 22 situation with Eli Loker

Eli Loker is the senior research associate. However, he has a conflict of conscience with a case which adds a subplot to the season. The interpersonal interactions with Rita Torres are well acted.

Emily Lightman is the teen daughter of Cal and Zoe Lightman. Being a child of divorce parents she shuttles between her parents. She is an intelligent, intuitive teenager who loves both parents, even though, she finds her dad somewhat difficult on the father-daughter exchange. Of course, her dad attempts to use his observation skills in reading Emily, but the cardinal rule of parenting is that a teenager is an enigma.

Zoe Landau is the ex-wife and a US Attorney. Her relationship with her ex is complicated. In many ways she is very much like Gillian Foster in personality traits and style.

FBI Agent Ben Reynolds was added late in the season. He is as patient as a bull in a cow pasture, but he adds a definite element to the chemistry of the show.

In my opinion these are the best episodes of Season One: A Perfect Score, Love Always, The Best Policy, Better Half, Blinded, and Sacrifice.

Please keep in mind this is an entertainment series- a very good one. It is not a scientific treatise on body language, lie detection methods, etc.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2011
For the most part, I enjoyed the first season of Lie to Me. Tim Roth is a fine actor, and very well cast as the protagonist, Dr. Lightman. He lends depth and intensity to a script that sometimes veers into the dangerous waters of daytime drama. The plots are uniformly interesting, and nicely paced. The filming was crisp, and the directing was tight, which made up for the woeful mediocrity of the rest of the cast. (The one notable exception to an otherwise bland supporting cast being Mekhi Phifer who plays Agent Ben Reynolds. But, you have to wait until the end of the first season for this much needed spice.)

The real problem with Lie to Me is that, unlike Bones, there is very little science in the science. (And now I am going to speak as someone who has spent countless hours of doctoral research on cross-cultural nonverbal communication.) While the main ideas behind the psycholinguistics of deception are correct, some of the "data" presented in this show are completely misleading. Somehow the writers, whether in their ignorance of the subtleties of the field, or in the interest of presenting something palatable to a general TV audience, have missed the basic point of psycholinguistics, which is that nonverbal and paralinguistic modes of communication are shared by all members of a given society. In other words, we are all "naturals." Reading subtle facial cues ("body language") is a vital part of what keeps society going. In fact, individuals who cannot read these subtle cues are diagnosable as autistic. (Asberger's Syndrome is a form of autism in which the individual cannot read nonverbal emotional cues.) So, there really isn't any magic in reading nonverbal cues.

The other side of that coin is that we cannot correctly interpret nonverbal cues if we are not members of that society. While it is true that there are some universal expressions (fear, surprise), the vast majority of facial cues are culture specific. Lying falls into that category. If a Mayan Indian smiles, nods and says "yes" after being told the world will end in 2012, he or she is NOT agreeing with you, but he or she is also not lying. (Nodding, smiling and saying "yes" are merely signs of politeness. If you asked that same person if he or she had murdered someone after breakfast that morning, you would receive exactly the same response.) The only thing a psycholinguist can accurately judge is whether a person from a given society is displaying discomfort or anxiety. The cause of that discomfort is unknown, of course, and does not mean that the person is lying. (Which is why polygraphs are so notoriously unreliable. Telling the truth can make a person even more uncomfortable than lying.) In that light, I found the constant refrain of "You're lying!" to be not only irritating, but highly inaccurate. (There are also quite a few factual errors which not only reveal a profound ignorance of the legal system on the part of the writers, but an unwillingness to do simple research, both of which are inexcusable in the age of the internet.)

In spite of the reservations I have about this show, I still found it fun to watch Tim Roth, if not much else.
33 comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2009
Finally, a fresh, creative and original concept for a show! If you haven't seen Lie To Me, I highly recommend you do. Tim Roth is excellent, as is the rest of the cast.

To those who are wrongly under the impression that the set is going to be one DVD that's 60 minutes long - have some common sense. There's not a release date set yet (as of 5/17), so therefore Amazon uses generic specs until official ones are provided. I don't think one person's confusion warranted a 1 star rating for the series itself, bringing it down to 4.5 total stars. I guess Amazon should just post "N/A" for unknown specs to avoid that happening.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2009
The study of human emotions and behavior is fascinating. LIE TO ME studies how we all express ourselves and react to others and our world. Fleeting expressions (micro-expressions), glances, seemingly insignificant movements all tell a story.

This show is a remarkable showcase of non-verbal communication. The plots are intelligent and interesting suspended between fiction and reality. A pursing of the lips. a wrinkle of the brow, a frown or twitch could reveal the killer...who's lying and who is telling the truth?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.