Prime Music

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


Lieder & Antiphonen

Hildegard of Bingen , Dunstable Audio CD
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Available from these sellers.

Product Details

  • Audio CD (March 23, 1995)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Entree
  • ASIN: B0000044M2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #745,229 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. 2 Antiphone: Caritas Abundat In Omnia
2. 2 Antiphone: O Virtus Sapientiae
3. Motette, 3stimmig: Sancta Maria
4. Antiphon: O Quam Mirabilis
5. Motette, 3stimmig: Beata Dei Genetrix
6. Antiphon: Hodie Aperuit Nobis Clausa Porta
7. Motette, 3stimmig: Beata Mater Et Innupta Virgo
8. Alleluia. O Virga, Mediatrix
9. Motette, 4stimmig: Ave Maria Gratia Plena
10. Responsorium: O Clarissima Mater
11. Motetten, 3stimmig: Speciosa Facta Es
12. Motetten, 3stimmig: Alma Redemptoris Mater
13. Antiphon: O Frodens Virga
14. Magnificat Octavi Toni (3stimmig)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable bargain September 28, 2001
Though Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) is the composer most prominently displayed on the CD cover, she's the odd person out here; not because she's the only woman composer among the four represented, but because she lived three centuries before Dufay, Dunstable and Brassart, and because those three were known to each other and had direct stylistic connections to each other. Dunstable, who was probably the first to write instrumental accompaniment for church music (e.g., Track 3 here), influenced Dufay, as well as the lesser known Brassart.
This performance is fairly "traditional" as as early music performances go these days. It contains none of (presumably) authentically edgy singing and the microtonal maneuvering of groups like Marcel Peres Ensemble Organum. The recording acoustic is also much drier than is often now heard -- which is either a plus or a minus, depending on your tastes and how big a church or cathedral you want to picture while listening! But the singing here is clear, bell-like, competent and enjoyable. And at this price, the more so!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category