Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and general treatment of practice of deceipt
A certain dry humour makes the book very readable. The description of social pressures in learning to lie, and animal world comparisons, are a useful perspective. The central theme - the danger of lying to oneself, or self deception - is of great importance in working in any large organisation. I would prescribe it as essential reading for managers and directors of...
Published on December 2, 1999 by Geoff L Williams

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for academics
Disappointing. The cover and the provocative title suggest a general-purpose work, perhaps in the style of Oliver Sacks or Atul Gawande, but in fact, it is (as one of the cover blurbs puts it), a "scholarly work" - wooden, academic, and snore-inducing prose.

Is the information good and useful? Maybe. Will you enjoy reading this book if you don't have a...
Published on February 3, 2012 by chungking


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and general treatment of practice of deceipt, December 2, 1999
By 
Geoff L Williams (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
A certain dry humour makes the book very readable. The description of social pressures in learning to lie, and animal world comparisons, are a useful perspective. The central theme - the danger of lying to oneself, or self deception - is of great importance in working in any large organisation. I would prescribe it as essential reading for managers and directors of most modern organisations Many readers may lack the objectivity to appreciate and believe the reports contained in the book, though they are well researched and well documented. I hope the next edition may spend more time in coping with lies. There are 13 pages in this book on therapeutic approaches toward the deceitful person. The comments on "groupthink", which involves bias of group behaviour, could also be expanded in future editions, with comments on the efficacy of countermeasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lying as a Phenomenon, October 21, 2007
This review is from: Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit (Paperback)
This book is primarily about pathological liars. It explicitly does not address issues of right and wrong with respect to lying. It is well written and the case studies presented in an interesting manner. Among the notable items presented are studies that indicate that police officers cannot distinguish liars from the honest any better than anyone else and that the rest of us don't generally do much better than chance at it. For a book that does address the moral questions of lying, and as a complement to this book, read Lying: Moral Choice in Public and Private Life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for academics, February 3, 2012
By 
This review is from: Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit (Paperback)
Disappointing. The cover and the provocative title suggest a general-purpose work, perhaps in the style of Oliver Sacks or Atul Gawande, but in fact, it is (as one of the cover blurbs puts it), a "scholarly work" - wooden, academic, and snore-inducing prose.

Is the information good and useful? Maybe. Will you enjoy reading this book if you don't have a professional interest in lying and liars? Not a chance.

What a shame. This had such potential to be a great book on a fascinating topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ecellent psychological look at lying., June 12, 1999
By A Customer
Straightforward. Well written and referenced. A very well laid out book with excellent references for further study on the subject. I gained a great appreciation for the psychological causes of lying. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a scientific exploration of people and lies, December 30, 2012
By 
Jean (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit (Paperback)
This book is wriiten by an MD. Instead of writing about fighting fraud by himself, the author uses more statistics and medical theory to help readers understand why and how people lie, and more importantly, how to work with common lies. I have used some of the skills in this book, and it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lies!, March 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit (Paperback)
All lies! Except for what you read in this book, unless the author lied, and then what can you believe??? I liked reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never be lied to again, August 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit (Paperback)
If you have suspected you are being lied to, this a great book. It goes into the psychology of how and why people lie. I wouldn't however suggest you try it out on your spouse -- if you have a good relationship. BTW, "Never Be Lied To Again" is another great book on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, June 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit (Paperback)
This is the best book I have read about the psychology of deception. It clearly covers all the topic with suficient depth and accuracy. To detect lies I complement it with Mark McClish's "I Know you are Lying".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably Informative and Funny, July 31, 2006
This review is from: Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit (Paperback)
I am a compulsive liar. I admit it. I read this book and now I have greater insight into why I lie all of the time. A great read even if you are "honest."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, February 26, 2009
This review is from: Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit (Paperback)
The book is excellent. The author describes the different kinds of personality disorders related to lying. He also writes about the importance of lying in childhood and adolescence as part of the normal emotional development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit
Lies! Lies!! Lies!!!: The Psychology of Deceit by Charles V. Ford (Paperback - June 1, 1999)
$30.00 $24.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.