Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Qty:1
  • List Price: $29.98
  • Save: $0.51 (2%)
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Lies that Chelsea Handler... has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: No major scratches or defects. Case shows moderate wear. We sometimes source from libraries. We ship in recyclable American-made mailers. 100% money-back guarantee on all orders.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Lies that Chelsea Handler Told Me Audio CD – Audiobook, CD, Unabridged

4.2 out of 5 stars 370 customer reviews

See all 17 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Audio CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged
"Please retry"
$29.47
$7.16 $1.04

Zero K by Don DeLillo
"Zero K" by Don DeLillo
National Book Award winner, Don DeLillo’s latest novel -- his richest, wisest and most moving novel since Underworld. Learn more | See related books
$29.47 FREE Shipping. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Lies that Chelsea Handler Told Me
  • +
  • Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang
  • +
  • My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands
Total price: $76.63
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

 Chelsea Handler loves to play elaborate practical jokes on her family and friends that are often deliciously malevolent and always hilarious. Now a number of her victims are getting their day to fight back in her new book.
AOL Pop Eater Nicki Gostin

Chelsea Handler: Keys To A Multimedia Empire NPR- All Things Considered npr.org/2011/05/16/136363758/chelsea-handler-keys-to-a-multimedia-empire --Chelsea Handler: Keys To A Multimedia Empire

 "Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me," Chelsea Handler: Learn about the comedian's tall tales, from the victims who fell for her stories.  --Summer Pick- AZ Central --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From the Author

It's no lie: Chelsea Handler loves to smoke out "dumbassness," the condition people suffer from that allows them to fall prey to her brand of complete and utter nonsense. Friends, family, co-workers--they've all been tricked by Chelsea into believing stories of total foolishness and into behaving like total fools. Luckily, they've lived to tell the tales and, for the very first time, write about them.  --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Audio CD: 6 pages
  • Publisher: Hachette; Unabridged edition (May 10, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1609411153
  • ISBN-13: 978-1609411152
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.8 x 5.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 6.4 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (370 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #319,404 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I've read all of Chelsea's other books. Loved them. They are all laugh-out-loud books. Chelsea manages to get herself into some seriously bazaar situations, and her quick wit seems to always be her saving grace. If you've ever wondered how or why "all" that seems to pile down on this one woman, after reading this book, you'll wonder no more. She welcomes crazy in and then full on embraces it.

This book is written by the people who fill Handler's day, not Handler herself--which, of course-- you probably already know. The common theme in all the mini narratives is this: Chelsea lies, has huge boobs, pees her pants with alarming frequency, loves herself some late night chicken fingers, drinks too much and is overly generous. So, the moral is, although you're not getting Chelsea's voice from this book, you're getting the next best thing.

To be honest, not every essay is amazing (one even smacks seriously of Single White Female--now that is borderline scary) which is the reason I rated this book a 4 rather than a 5. It's worth the read, though. Seriously. If you're a fan of her comedy, her other publications or her show, you'll appreciate the raw way she infuses herself into the lives around her with a "take no prisoners" attitude. She spares no one, and inflicts the worst upon the ones she loves the most.

I wish I worked for her.
1 Comment 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I have watched Chelsea Handler on Chelsea Lately, and I have read "Are You There Vodka, It's Me Chelsea?", so I had an inkling of what to expect from "Lies that Chelsea Handler Told Me." But it was even better then I expected.

This book is written by friends and colleagues of Chelsea, and it is basically their stories of her pranks and lies to them. You see, Chelsea loves to lie and she loves to pull pranks, and the two go hand in hand. I can see why she loves to lie, she is fabulous at it! As each person told their tales, I marveled at her skill. The ability to weave a lie so convoluted that it had to true, is amazing. Writers getting their pictures taken for Time Magazine, a dog that may be a cat, artificial legs...it's all there.

What makes it even funnier is that the people know she lies, so each time they are presented with something, they are 99% certain it is probably a lie. But there is that 1% chance it might be true, and that is what she plays on.

I listened to the audiobook, and each section was read by the person who wrote it, which made it doubly enjoyable!
Comment 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
While it is not exactly an enormous feat to read all of Chelsea's books, I feel as if I have come to know her over the years through her essays and memoirs. When this book came out, I was a bit leery. Though it's about Chelsea (who is almost always funny), it wasn't written by her and therefore I was suspect. Still, I had read all of her previous books and was in a serious Handler drought so I decided to take a chance. I was disappointed. While I chuckled a few times and smiled every couple of chapters, it lacked the side-splitting milk-coming-out-of-your-nose kind of laughter.

Basically this book is a collection of essays written by Chelsea's family, friends, and writers about the pranks that Chelsea has pulled on them ranging from attempting to ruin a co-workers honeymoon to trying to get her brother to sleep with one of her staff. Some of the essays are funny but it's really hit or miss. Interestingly, I found the sections written by her comedic writers to be the least funny and those written by her family made me giggle. Still, I think these essays made her come off as sounding mean and ungrateful. While I have a suspicion that this isn't true, it did taint my view of her a little bit.

For fans of Chelsea, I think you might find some interest in this book. But I will spend my time re-reading "Are you there vodka" instead.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Wow! What a bitch! I love Chelsea Handler and it was so fun to read about her pranks. She is the queen of pulling tricks on her friends and family! I was stunned by a few of the stories but highly entertained. This book is not for the light of heart, it is down right disgusting at times but really, really funny!!
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
DO NOT expect this book to be as funny as her other books. Keep in mind that this is NOT written by Chelsea Handler, but by her friends. However entertaining, this book is short, but good, not hilarious.
1 Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
You know, I can't really comment on the writing on this book as I purchased this as a gift to someone and a filler for free shipping for over $25 on Amazon. I can, however, comment on the reaction of the person that received the gift. She loved it! A few weeks later after she finished reading the book. She started to tell me all these little episodes of Chelsea. I can usually tell when someone is just being nice, but nope, she was genuinely happy with this book. Thanks Chelsea Handler for making me look good.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I said in my review for "Horizontal Life," that I would have loved to be friends with Chelsea Handler while in my twenties, but prefer to read about her from a distance now. This book is verification. Anecdote after anecdote of lies and deceptions, although funny, make me think she would have made me cry, given me ulcers, and who knows what else. Reading the stories though: pretty funny.

Some of the people obviously had help with the writing and that's more or less acknowledged, but it's for the better. Chelsea sounds like a loving and giving friend who delights in torturing people. Some of her pranks really ARE mean, but it sounds like she takes people on vacations to exotic locations, and so that might help compensate. :)

Light and entertaining. A good reader when you don't want to think too hard and would prefer to read the Machiavellian scheming of a diabolical mind.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Lies that Chelsea Handler Told Me
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
This item: Lies that Chelsea Handler Told Me