Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
on May 16, 2011
I've read all of Chelsea's other books. Loved them. They are all laugh-out-loud books. Chelsea manages to get herself into some seriously bazaar situations, and her quick wit seems to always be her saving grace. If you've ever wondered how or why "all" that seems to pile down on this one woman, after reading this book, you'll wonder no more. She welcomes crazy in and then full on embraces it.

This book is written by the people who fill Handler's day, not Handler herself--which, of course-- you probably already know. The common theme in all the mini narratives is this: Chelsea lies, has huge boobs, pees her pants with alarming frequency, loves herself some late night chicken fingers, drinks too much and is overly generous. So, the moral is, although you're not getting Chelsea's voice from this book, you're getting the next best thing.

To be honest, not every essay is amazing (one even smacks seriously of Single White Female--now that is borderline scary) which is the reason I rated this book a 4 rather than a 5. It's worth the read, though. Seriously. If you're a fan of her comedy, her other publications or her show, you'll appreciate the raw way she infuses herself into the lives around her with a "take no prisoners" attitude. She spares no one, and inflicts the worst upon the ones she loves the most.

I wish I worked for her.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
on July 5, 2011
I have watched Chelsea Handler on Chelsea Lately, and I have read "Are You There Vodka, It's Me Chelsea?", so I had an inkling of what to expect from "Lies that Chelsea Handler Told Me." But it was even better then I expected.

This book is written by friends and colleagues of Chelsea, and it is basically their stories of her pranks and lies to them. You see, Chelsea loves to lie and she loves to pull pranks, and the two go hand in hand. I can see why she loves to lie, she is fabulous at it! As each person told their tales, I marveled at her skill. The ability to weave a lie so convoluted that it had to true, is amazing. Writers getting their pictures taken for Time Magazine, a dog that may be a cat, artificial legs...it's all there.

What makes it even funnier is that the people know she lies, so each time they are presented with something, they are 99% certain it is probably a lie. But there is that 1% chance it might be true, and that is what she plays on.

I listened to the audiobook, and each section was read by the person who wrote it, which made it doubly enjoyable!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2011
Wow! What a bitch! I love Chelsea Handler and it was so fun to read about her pranks. She is the queen of pulling tricks on her friends and family! I was stunned by a few of the stories but highly entertained. This book is not for the light of heart, it is down right disgusting at times but really, really funny!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 6, 2011
DO NOT expect this book to be as funny as her other books. Keep in mind that this is NOT written by Chelsea Handler, but by her friends. However entertaining, this book is short, but good, not hilarious.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
While it is not exactly an enormous feat to read all of Chelsea's books, I feel as if I have come to know her over the years through her essays and memoirs. When this book came out, I was a bit leery. Though it's about Chelsea (who is almost always funny), it wasn't written by her and therefore I was suspect. Still, I had read all of her previous books and was in a serious Handler drought so I decided to take a chance. I was disappointed. While I chuckled a few times and smiled every couple of chapters, it lacked the side-splitting milk-coming-out-of-your-nose kind of laughter.

Basically this book is a collection of essays written by Chelsea's family, friends, and writers about the pranks that Chelsea has pulled on them ranging from attempting to ruin a co-workers honeymoon to trying to get her brother to sleep with one of her staff. Some of the essays are funny but it's really hit or miss. Interestingly, I found the sections written by her comedic writers to be the least funny and those written by her family made me giggle. Still, I think these essays made her come off as sounding mean and ungrateful. While I have a suspicion that this isn't true, it did taint my view of her a little bit.

For fans of Chelsea, I think you might find some interest in this book. But I will spend my time re-reading "Are you there vodka" instead.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 11, 2011
Like many other reviewers, I have read all of Chelsea's other books. My favorites include Chelsea Chelsea BANG BANG, followed by My Horizontal Life. "Lies" kinda missed the mark for me since some stories (many) miss the mark of being funny, or they're just retold tales from her previous books (obviously told in a different Point of view). I only recall the first story being "bookmark" worthy funny. It was a quick, fun read nonetheless, but kinda took me longer to get through than my two favorite books of hers. I recommend this book - but only to rent/borrow from the library.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 10, 2011
You know, I can't really comment on the writing on this book as I purchased this as a gift to someone and a filler for free shipping for over $25 on Amazon. I can, however, comment on the reaction of the person that received the gift. She loved it! A few weeks later after she finished reading the book. She started to tell me all these little episodes of Chelsea. I can usually tell when someone is just being nice, but nope, she was genuinely happy with this book. Thanks Chelsea Handler for making me look good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 29, 2011
Although I am a HUGE Chelsea Handler fan I was less than impressed with her latest book.I think she is hilarious and I always enjoy reading her off the wall writing. I knew that this book was not going to be written by her persay but rather a collection of stories about her written by people she knows. Some stories were by family members, others by staff and a few by long time friends. Some of the stories were way better than others. Only two had me really cracking up in true Chelsea Handler style and all of the stories were basically the same. They all started out talking about how much of a jerk Chelsea is, then a story about her and her ridiculous shennanigans would be told, and the segment would wrap up with talking about how awesome and generous Chelsea is. Overall I enjoyed reading the stories about stuff that Chelsea pulled especially in her younger years. It was amusing to learn that she has always been a prankster and hasn't changed much since. I would suggest reading her other books before this one so you don't get the wrong idea about her books. It was okay, but like I said not as awesome as her other work because she wasn't the one actually writing it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 4, 2011
I was dissappointed by this book. To be honest it's not that funny, especially when compared to her other books. If I had the choice, I wouldnt buy this book again. I dont even have a desire to read the last two chapters.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
I've felt Chelsea's books were on a decline. The first was phenomenal (5-stars), the second was still funny but not as great, and the third was mostly disappointing and uncomfortable. I wasn't going to buy another book by her but gave this a chance because it wasn't by chelsea. I figured fresh authors could pull her books up from the decline.

The first chapter by Baby Bird Johnny is HILARIOUS -- I was so happy I'd bought this book. Then it started to wain. After the first few chapters I was bored and tired of the stories. All of the writers are good writers, and funny people, but it just got old reading about all of Chelsea's pranks. It was just too easy to put down and when I'd finally pick it up again I'd think "gah here we go again." I guess I lost interest.

Also if you're a sympathetic person this book isn't for you. The entire book is about awful things chelsea has done to people. Cruel, horrible things. If you can't laugh at someone else's expense, (and good for you, I wish I was more like you) avoid this book.

Funny parts for sure, but overall, the decline continues.

Update: I forgot to mention an entire chapter is dedicated to an email thread between Chelsea Lately and the exces about censoring the show. I saw this in a previous book and thought it was "filler" -- could really do without email chapters in the next book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler (Paperback - December 29, 2009)
$12.01

My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One Night Stands
My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One Night Stands by Chelsea Handler (Mass Market Paperback - November 19, 2013)
$8.00

Uganda Be Kidding Me
Uganda Be Kidding Me by Chelsea Handler (Paperback - February 17, 2015)
$12.97
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.