Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES
"LIfe After School. Explained" prepares you for "life after school," believe it or not. It talks about proper dinner etiquette when you're on a business dinner with your boss to be. It talks about money and where to invest it and where to spend and save it. It talks about finding an apartment and where to look and how to look for it. It talks about your first day at work...
Published on May 7, 2012 by Rackel

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cringe-worthy attempt at giving advice
On the face of it, the premise of the book is valuable: impart real-world advice in matters where graduates do not have a lot of experience. However, in practice, the book is narrowly concerned with its readers impressing the right people and maintaining a certain appearance. While this may be useful, particularly to graduates very interested in social climbing, it does...
Published on May 13, 2011 by Moni3


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YES, May 7, 2012
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
"LIfe After School. Explained" prepares you for "life after school," believe it or not. It talks about proper dinner etiquette when you're on a business dinner with your boss to be. It talks about money and where to invest it and where to spend and save it. It talks about finding an apartment and where to look and how to look for it. It talks about your first day at work and taxes. It discusses steps and procedures you can do and make in order to get your life started and off to a good start. Who wants to graduate from high school or college and not have a place to live, a job to maintain, or money to spend and save?
The book talks about proper dinner etiquette, and I never knew how many things I didn't know about trying to impress your bosses at dinner. I just thought you showed up and did your thing and talked and laughed and left. Who knew that there was so much more left for people to learn? This was just impressive because it showed how much experience and research the writers of the book had to do in order to brush up on the topic.
The book also talks about finding an apartment. I found it extremely impressive how the writers of the book managed to explain everything you needed to know about finding an apartment and buying an apartment in under 10 pages. They said everything they need to say and didn't ramble on about the topic at hand. They discussed the landlord, the location, the rent control, the lease, and apartment lingo. It was brilliant. Not too long and not too short. They never ranted on about the lease or the rent control.
The sarcasm in this book is awesome. The outrageous stories concocted about Bert and all his misfortunes. Calling the boss "Simon" because of Simon Says. The sarcastic tone the author uses to move the story along. Like how they convinced us to eat the wine cork in order to impress the boss on your business dinner. Or how the book told us to refer to page 174 if we were getting bored with what we were reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grow the heck up guide to dummies, May 2, 2012
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
The book Life After School Explained, created by Cap & Compass comprises the basic skills needed for a graduate and even adults (who may not have learned, or learned late), to survive outside of their parent's garage. It covers things ranging from business dinner etiquette to retirement plans to taxes and so much more. The writers of the book were resplendent. They used a sense of humor and an comprehensible type of writing. This made the book easy to follow and hard to put down.

Two very strong aspects of this book for me included "How to Love Your Money"(p41) and "Odds and Ends" (p159). In "How to Love your Money", the book makes plain how and where one may consider investing or saving their money. It explains the realistic risks and benefits involved with unbiased opinions. I hear my older co-workers using the vocabulary composed in this chapter all the time. I hear these things being talked about on the news and now I know exactly what they are and can hold a conversation about them.
I would highly recommend this book and I give it a solid five stars. I would more than likely recommend this to students who are still in their senior year of high-school and hoping to graduate...hoping. This way, they might be able to avoid making some of the mistakes they may have upon leaving high school and entering the grown-up world. I would even recommend this book to any adult who is completely lost (I happen to know some) or even someone who just needs a good read that is beneficial to them as an individual and to society.

This book helped me to understand that economics is more than just money. Economics really is a matter of studying and improving actions in life and their consequences.
Really as it is defined it is the interaction between suppliers and consumers in a market place, but learning how to be a consumer is a huge part of it. Consumers have to make decisions every day, this book helps consumers (particularly young ones/rookie consumers) to make those decisions with more grace. Economics is also all about people interacting with each other. Life After School Explained gives some pointers on how to interact in the business place and even with the disabled without looking like a complete chum bucket. Everyone knows that these awkward interactions occur, the fact that a book has been written to help people avoid them is absolutely brilliant and I will be recommending this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for 18 and up, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
Bought a number of copies to give to recent high school and college graduates. Easy to read, great humor, but be certain to buy the most recent edition as it is updated every 2 years to keep up with tax changes/health care updates, etc. Easy to read and a lot of information in a concise manner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A better understanding of what the future holds, May 1, 2012
By 
Quasar (Maine, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
Life After School Explained by Cap and Compass offers a lot of tips on living in a world outside of high school. Anyone can benefit from the helpful life skills offered in this book, from wine tasting to credit cards, it's not only a book for the fresh out of school adults, but for anyone going into anything for the first time. The authors draw you in with sarcasm and funny examples, this makes it enjoyable to read, unlike most books which give you the facts, with no fun. The fact that this book is fun to read, helps you learn what you're reading, not just stare at the book wondering, "What did I just read?!" The humour also helps ease your mind, take the stress out of it, and helps you come to a better understanding of what's being said. If you're looking to rent an apartment, buy a house, or even make more money, the seminars offered in this book are guaranteed to help you out. A whole seminar dedicated to "loving your money" and the best ways to do so, what credit cards are best, why you should invest your money, and how to make money while you spend money. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone, from a fresh out of high school college bound student, to a first time homebuyer of any age. This book offers not only advice for life after school, but life tips in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good book for high school graduates too, July 10, 2008
By 
K.P. (Rawlins, WY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
My son got this book when he graduated college, and wishes he had it right after high school. It has a lot of common-sense advice that generally takes a few years out of school to learn on your own. You'll find info on stocks and bonds, how to act appropriately during a dinner with your boss (you're really not there to eat), what clothes to wear for different functions (business casual vs. business dress), insurance programs, and buying durable goods. A lot of it centers around finances and how to keep yourself out of hot water, and it at least gives you the basics. It's a worthwhile book for all young adults, because they rarely listen to the wisdom of their parents. The tongue-in-cheek advice is perfect for young people, is succinct and makes for an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cringe-worthy attempt at giving advice, May 13, 2011
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
On the face of it, the premise of the book is valuable: impart real-world advice in matters where graduates do not have a lot of experience. However, in practice, the book is narrowly concerned with its readers impressing the right people and maintaining a certain appearance. While this may be useful, particularly to graduates very interested in social climbing, it does not explain that what others think of you, including your bosses and colleagues, should run your life or determine your self-esteem or identity. A common refrain is keeping readers from "looking like an idiot", especially at dinner or in other social situations, reinforcing irrelevant mores about which fork to use in front of clients. I can see it causing readers an undue amount of anxiety, trying to follow the many rules of social-business engagements, that may not go away for years.

Moreover, the prose is written with what passes for humor for some people, but comes off in this book merely as unfocused, tangential, confusing, and flippant. (And disastrously unfunny.) When combined with actual advice, it could be quite difficult for young readers to be able to tell the difference and nearly impossible for non-Americans to glean what information is real and what is not.

Skip this book. Ask Home Depot how to buy paint (there's a section on buying paint...) Make your own mistakes in life and learn from them; that would be more valuable than this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great idea!, January 22, 2005
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
I wish I'd had this book after I graduated. It took years to learn what I could have learned in one afternoon reading this book! Kudos to Cap and Compass! I'll tell every parent of a college student I know about this fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book Is Great!, October 11, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
I loved this book. It was written for people like me who don't know anything about living on their own or how to file taxes, what the heck a w4 is, and how to look for an apartment. I think it is a perfect graduation gift for college kids. (I wish somebody bought it for me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat disappointed, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
The book was useful for budgeting and learning banking terminology. I was hoping for more on professional work ethics for new graduates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Research well done by me!, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life After School Explained (Paperback)
Bought all of Kiplingers 5 top rated money books for young adults. My son seems to be getting something out of them. Mission accomplished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Life After School Explained
Life After School Explained by The Cap and Compass Team (Paperback - July 15, 2011)
$13.95 $12.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.