Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Paiute Princess" Writes Her Own Page In History
Sarah Winnemucca Hopkins was the daughter of Northern Paiute Chief Winnemucca. Edited by Mrs. Horace Mann,Sarah Winnemucca provides more than a brief glance into the lives of the Northern Paiutes living on the Pyramid Lake Indian Reservation during the late 1800s. Winnemucca gives her voice to the plight of her people as they struggle to survive the effects of...
Published on August 5, 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings
Many parts of this book are very compelling. They're also painful -- while she doesn't focus too much on specific instances of starving children or young men wrongfully executed for crimes they didn't commit, there was quite a bit of suffering in her life and the lives of her people and that really carries through in the the text. I think perhaps some things she glossed...
Published on February 11, 2011 by Anne S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Paiute Princess" Writes Her Own Page In History, August 5, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Life Among the Piutes: Their Wrongs And Claims (Paperback)
Sarah Winnemucca Hopkins was the daughter of Northern Paiute Chief Winnemucca. Edited by Mrs. Horace Mann,Sarah Winnemucca provides more than a brief glance into the lives of the Northern Paiutes living on the Pyramid Lake Indian Reservation during the late 1800s. Winnemucca gives her voice to the plight of her people as they struggle to survive the effects of government Indian policy in the Western United States.
Sarah Winnemucca's autobiography enables the reader to examine how the US reservation system, assimilation policy and the BIA failed to provide adequately for the Paiute people. The author provides the reader with an opportunity to experience the feelings of hope and despair of the Paiute people during the late 1870s and 1880s. Her examples of the corruption by white settlers and Indian agents provides reasonable and believable evidence of what life was like for Sarah Winnemucca and her Paiute family.
Sarah Winnemucca's memories are bitter-sweet. She relates her actions to help not only her own people but the US army during the Indian wars of that era, including the Bannock War. Marrying US Army soldier Lewis Hopkins in the early 1880s, her story also includes events during their marriage. An advocat for her people, Sarah traveled to Washington, D. C. to speak with the President, and she traveled coast-to-coast publicly speaking about the plight of her people as well as her life as a young Paiute woman. Her daring escapades as an Army scout and participant in several Indian wars further illustrate her strength as a Native woman.
This book, written in Sarah Winnemucca's voice, is both a powerful and moving example of the active role some women played in the history of the west. I found her memories to reflect a side of history often overlooked by other authors, and I highly recommend her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the True Perspective of a Native American, January 5, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life Among the Piutes: Their Wrongs And Claims (Paperback)
This book is a little difficult to read and understand at times due to the archaic language, but is definitely a worthy read. It tells the story you never learned in your history class in school. From the beginning legend of how the Native Americans became estranged from their White Brothers who were banished across the seas to the Paiute Elder telling everyone to rejoice in the return of the White Brothers is fascinating yet heartbreaking. We all know it didn't turn out so well for the Native Americans. In reading Sarah's story, which is written from the heart, it is easy to see how the Native Americans were exploited, treated as less than human and moved around like pawns to suit the white man's interest. I have the utmost respect for Sarah and her courage to speak up for her people. I also have the greatest respect for those who have followed, speaking her truths. Wake up people, we are on the wrong track. Bless you Sarah Winnemucca for your wonderful book and your attempts to make things right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Among the Paiutes, June 3, 2000
By A Customer
I read Winnemucca's autobiography for a Native American History class at University and found it to be excellently written! She was such a powerful role model for Indian women during the time and was greatly respected for her role in the Indian community! Although some feminists may critique her for not standing up for her people at some points in her life, her contributions to the Paiutes have made her one of their most revered members over history. As I read this book I was in awe of how great of a woman Sarah must have been considering the time she lived and how priceless her stories are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars typical expectations, April 19, 2009
Sarah Winnemucca's story is told with a dry edge. The sufferings she and the Paiutes endure draw the reader in, but at the same time, the author creates a distance between her identity and the rest of the worlds'. Many details of her life are left out, primarily focusing on tribal activity, government oppression, and her own diverse involvements between the two. The book leaves one feeling depressed, yet intrigued by a flourishing curiosity. One can only read about death, rape, disease, and war so often in one text before the "guilt" sets in.
Life among the Piutes is exactly what anyone would expect given the history and culture. Part of what makes it such a good read is the initial expectation of readers from non-native or non-natively educated backgrounds. It provides a comfortable transition from stereotypical expectations to the deep truths, injustices, and cultures of American Indians. It's an easy read that tells the dark tale of one of many oppressed Native tribes and provokes a quest for knowledge thereafter; a vital tool for any person dealing with preconceived notions concerning an entire race of people with a thirst for truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It almost seems inappropriate to rate this., January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was told that this is the first book written by a Native American. How could I not read it! I wish she and the Piutes could rate us. Excellent story that I find I have to read and put down, repeat. Sad and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars insightful, December 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life Among the Piutes: Their Wrongs And Claims (Paperback)
very insightful to a different time and place by a person giving a sort of life narative It gave me a new window to see through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars indian life, June 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this book, wish I had known about it years ago, it should be required reading in school, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this book. She was an amazing and brave woman. I learned some new things I didnt know. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars History of what the American Indians endured., April 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book provides a great history of what the American Indians endured. The Agents assigned to help them were corrupt, treating the Indians worse than any other injustice endured by other cultures here in the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Look At An Often Unknown Tribe, March 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Until recently I had never heard of the Piutes. I found this book to be a fascinating glimpse into the lives of a culturally rich people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Life Among the Piutes: Their Wrongs And Claims
Life Among the Piutes: Their Wrongs And Claims by Sarah Winnemucca Hopkins (Paperback - Nov. 1994)
$15.95 $13.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.