Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars25
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 22, 2006
It seems like most of the 1-star reviews for this book were written by people who complained that Leitch wrote too clearly about his life experiences or that he used real people (or very thinly disguised real people) as his characters. Based on the writing, I bet all those 1-stars even came from the same person, and probably someone Leitch knew. Maybe someone who didn't like what was written about him.

My thoughts: this book was pretty funny, but if not an out-and-out knee slapper, it was the type of book that drags you into the characters so that the smaller things become funnier as you become more familiar. I'd recommend it to anyone, and I've read Sedaris and Hornby too. And if those bad reviews weren't from someone with a vendetta, I'm wondering where they learned to read.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2006
I read the other reviews of this book and, honestly, THEY are full of crap. This book is hilarious and insiteful. If you're looking for a novel or some non-fiction, then don't buy this book. If you're looking for a good relaxing read with no pressure and some great stories about a complete loser; buy this book.

Will Leitch's stories range from the very familiar to the very strange. He's a fantastic story-teller and this book proves it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2003
This book makes you want to go visit Mattoon, home of much of these stories. The people there seem infinitely more pleasant than those in New York, and they're funnier too. Plus, any baseball fan will relate to just about everything in there. My only problem: There's some weird sexual stuff in there, without warning. You're reading about Little League baseball, and then bam you're in a Penthouse forum. that was scary.
But a great read. Funny, funny stuff.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2003
Leitch makes you feel ok about being a freak. His irreverent stories and antecdotes are amusing and comforting. It's nice to know that someone can be so honest these days - bearing his soul for all to view - writing about his heartbreaks, just so we feel better about ours. The e-column is a real treat, the book even better!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2004
this is a great read. start to finish it flows very well. will's humorous vignetes get better as you continue. this book serves as a great reminder on how bad things can get and let's you appreciate the small things in life
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2004
So, initially the book was given to be by the publisher at a holiday party and I lost it. I felt obligated to replace it and read it.
Life as a Loser appeals to the voyeur and the "unique individual" in all of us. In one sense it is like finding someone's journal and reading it- learning all about some of their inner workings. On the other hand, many of us twenty-somethings can identify with the trials and tribulations of Will. Though we may not all share the exact same story- the themes and the feelings are the same.
The book won't save any lives or answer any questions- but it just may bring a bit of comfort letting you know that life can be really screwed up and that you aren't the only one in the world who can't understand why "all this is happening to you."
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2003
Will Leitch -- the witty, self-deprecating, brilliant twentysomething who moved from the cornfields of Illinois to the bright lights of New York City -- has turned his popular online column into a hilarious full-length book, and he has turned in a major achievement.
First, let's get the title out of the way: Leitch is not a loser in the sense you might think. From reading his book you know he's had succses with the ladies, you know he has scores of friends, you know he has worked at the New York Times. But Leitch calls himself a loser because of the inner workings of his mind. We learn of his neuroses, his loving but over-analyzed relationships with his family, and most of all the insecure way Leitch goes through life wondering if other people think he's a loser. But most of all, we laugh. In fact, when reading Leitch I usually laugh twice at each episode of his crazy life -- first with him, then at him.
Leitch is part Andy Rooney, part Dave Barry, part Roger Ebert, part Dave Eggers, part Jane Austen. When he discusses his love of sports, you'll think he's a typical man's man, but when he discusses his obsession with his weight, you'll think he's a girlie-man. He'll never stop surprising you.
Leitch's writing is a breezy read, but it's also touching when he tells us something he's passionate about. No bookshelf is complete without his work.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2004
Will Leitch's writing is honest, funny, lively, and engaging. The only thing I don't like is the book's sloppy copyediting (obvious grammatical errors, inconsistent smart/straight quotes, etc.), and the boring book design (there are other fonts out there besides Helvetica and Times Roman!). Given the high quality of the book's content, it deserved a better overall presentation.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2004
This book made me laugh out loud on the subway, and everyone stared at me. It would make a great movie starring Jon Cusack!!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2003
How can you not love the writing of Will Leitch? He's hysterical and brilliant. This book is a collection of some of his best stuff to date.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse