Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing talent, January 17, 2003
By 
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
Tammy Cochran is unmistakably a country singer. The prominent steel guitar and her powerful voice are a combination that can't be matched, except maybe by the top-notch songwriting on this CD. The title song is a positive story of how sometimes reality can get in the way of your dreams, but you wouldn't change it for anything. It is one of my favorites, along with "All in How You Look at things" - about looking for the light at the end of the tunnel. "Love Won't Let Me" is about that someone that gives you butterflies, then "I'm Getting There" is her saying 'I'm over you...almost.' Tammy wonders about what might have been in "What Kind of Woman Would I Be". The most haunting song on the CD is "Dead of the Night".

Tammy Cochran sings of love, heartache and hope on her second CD and it absolutely blows me away each time I listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cd, November 14, 2002
By 
Peter (Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
I'd never heard of Tammy Cochran until the new single Life Happened was on the radio. I didn't even know this was her second cd. The song Life Happened sold me on her incredible vocal talent right from the start. That song is amazing. It's one of the best "story" songs out there in country music now. Songs like this are what makes me listen to country music more and more. The words to the song really hook you in and hold you as you listen to find what the outcome will be. I can't imagine anyone loving country music and not being in love with the song Life Happened. If Tammy Wynette were alive today and still putting out cds i'm sure that she'd be singing music similar to Tammy Cochran's. Their vocal styles are remarkably similar if you listen closely. Tammy Whynette would be proud of this new and very talented artist. I wish her all the best in her career. She's gonna go far for sure. Her vocals have a lasting appeal, and many of her songs have a traditional country style to it that many of today's country artists are returning to. It's about time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cochran Does It Again, October 18, 2002
By 
Chris S. "cscotts" (atlanta, ga United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
Though she scored a couple of moderate hits, Tammy Cochran's excellent self-titled debut for the most part flew under the commercial radar upon its' release last year. With any justice, LIFE HAPPENED will take an opposing commercial trajectory and establish Cochran as one of the strongest new singers on the Nashville scene. Those who've heard the first-rate title track will not be the least bit disappointed with the rest of the disc--though Cochran strikes a seamless balance between tradtional and contemporary, there's no doubt her powerful voice was forged in the same fire that seemed to encapsulate that other Tammy's instrument--just listening to the reprise of her first disc's 'If You Can' will make one think she's actually channelling Wynette's spirit. Without a doubt, the best album out of a mainstream country female artist this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True Country, June 13, 2007
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
I almost feel like a grouch to give this less than 5 like all other reviewers. But it's because I'm a listener who needs a little bit more uptempo stuff. Everything else is very good on this album. Tammy has a good, kind of accented and smokey voice. This is solid county singing by a good female voice. Worthy of more radio play than she got. The songs are meaningful. Songs of note:

What Kind of Woman Would I Be - good guitar and drums. Good lyrics - the singer wonders if she could find it in her to leave a bad man and what would happen if she did

White Lies and Picket Fences - The singer remembers, with a feeling of tiredness and resignation, her dream of having a family and living in a home. But her man Billy bails out and leaves her pregnant and alone in a crummy apartment. "Sometimes I think about Billy, but most times I don't" is a good line.

Gettin There - one of Tammy's few uptempo tunes. The singer is moving on with life after a breakup

Life Happened - various high school chums' childhood dreams didn't come to pass, but they put together meaningful adult lives

I Used to Be that Woman

Dead of the Night - a little girl finally can't take the domestic violence of her drunken dad anymore and shoots him as he assaults her mommy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Thing, August 17, 2003
By 
John H. Clark (Las Vegas, NV USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
Back when people use to buy albums,the best songs were on the first few tracks of the first and second sides. Take my advice and start with track 7 (the title track) and go to the end. Then go back and play the whole CD. For most artists, this would be a greatest hits CD. There are no bad songs on this,(I hope)is only the 2nd of many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tammy lives up to her name, October 17, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
Tammy's parents named her after one of country music's legends (notwithstanding that Tammy Wynette's real name was Virginia), so they must have been proud when their daughter showed comparable musical ability. Tammy Wynette would also be proud, if she had lived long enough to hear Tammy Cochran sing. This was Tammy's second album. I fear that there may not be another because, unfortunately, country radio stations are not interested in traditional country music these days so Tammy didn't get enough airplay to make a big impact. Major record companies do not persevere the way they once did.

Tammy wrote two of the songs and co-wrote two of the others. If you can, one of the minor hits from Tammy's first album is reprised here but this album has eleven tracks compared to ten on her debut so ``` still get ten new tracks.

Tammy shows that she can sing ballads and up-tempo songs, but also demonstrates that life has had its good and bad times. This is particularly evident in the songs that she wrote or co-wrote. Dead of the night (about a marriage that ends in a shoot-out) is the kind of song that used to be accepted as part of what country music was all about. Elsewhere, the album contains some optimistic songs but is mainly filled with stories of broken relationships, of which the title track is typical..

Yes, this is a classic traditional country album by an outstanding singer that deserves a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sophomore Album for a Powerful Balladeer!, October 16, 2002
By 
L. Pacheco "BHOC" (Aurora, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
Tammy Cochran has a powerful voice that is sensitive, soaring, and strong! This album is superbly orchestrated with strong ballads, powerful melodies, and thought-provoking lyrics. It is truly one of the best country albums released in awhile. On the title track, "Life Happened," and "If You Can," Tammy favors another First Lady of Country Music, Tammy Wynette, with a cry in her voice and heart-wrenching lyrics. She takes you through a variety of emotions with upbeat tunes and slower day-dreamers. But, no matter what, this is by far one of the greatest country albums and certainly a great second edition of Tammy favorites. There's not a song on here I don't like. It's packed full of great lyrics, melodies, and ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIFE HAPPENED AND SO DID TAMMY!, October 15, 2002
By 
David (Davis, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
Being a fan of Tammy since her debut release last year, I could not wait to get my hands on her sophomore album. NO sophomore jinx here! In fact, this cd continues naturally on the path where her debut left off. It opens with the uptempo LOVE WON'T LET ME......to the awesome WHAT KIND OF WOMAN WOULD I BE....the personal I'M GETTING THERE......the incredible first single LIFE HAPPENED....I cannot say much more....this is just incredible country music with a traditional sound. She deserves to top the charts and be there for decades to come! Way to go TC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love "Life Happened", October 15, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
I loved the single when it came out, and now that I got the whole cd, I love it. It's the kind of cd you can listen to all the way through and love every song. She's got those typical Tammy tear-jerkers, and there's so much feeling behind every song! I highly recommend buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great female voice, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life Happened (Audio CD)
The songs are stories of life that are told with music as a background. This would make a good addition to a collection of female singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Life Happened
Life Happened by Tammy Cochran (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.