Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 25, 2012
As Tony Bennett's biographer, I can attest to the authenticity and beauty of this book of reflections. There is a deceptive simplicity to Bennett's words, for he took to heart the message of all of his mentors--Sinatra, Basie, Astaire, Ellington, Satchmo, and the pianist Bill Evans. Before he died, Evans called Tony and told him to just concentrate on two things: truth and beauty. That is what Bennett has done in his music and his painting. There is much more to Bennett that what is already known about him. His book will help to further expand our understanding of this simple but great artist. Simplicity is what Bennett is all about, focusing on perfecting his art at all times. As Dizzy Gillespie said of him, "I think Tony's spirituality is so profound in his performance that that it cuts through everything superfluous, and what's left is raw soulfulness." And when Tony asked Count Basie if he should change anything in his music, Basie said "Why change an apple?" Or as Frank Sinatra said, "You can only be yourself, but you're good at that." Cherish this book.
--David Evanier, Author of "All the Things You Are: The Life of Tony Bennett"
55 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 26, 2012
This is yet another book (probably) released (along with a separate DVD with a similar title) in time to capture the Christmas market. Is it an essential book on Tony Bennett? No. Is it interesting? Yes, in spots. If you've read any of the decent biographies (or his autobiography) on Bennett, you won't glean much new information in this memoir on Bennett or his music. I can't comment on the DVD. And before anyone wonders, I'm a long time fan of Bennett's singing (especially his early work), and his artwork. The fact that he can still function at the high level he does is remarkable, and I only hope I can do the same in my life.

The book is written in a relaxed, conversational style, which is nice. But the information is pretty lightweight. This is more Bennett's philosophy of life, rather than a look at his life. There's a couple of sections of photographs, which back up Bennett's musings on life and his career. Also included are some of Bennett's pen and ink drawings, which (for me) are the highpoint. I only wish he would publish a book with his many drawings and studies of all the musicians he's come across in his life.

The chapters are fairly short and easy to read, but there's some interesting (and informative I suppose) asides included about his life and the many fascinating performers he came in contact with. That's what I zeroed in on-the little bits about other musicians and performers. An example-how he almost missed out on recording his (perhaps) most well known song, "I Left My Heart in San Fransisco". Or his thoughts on Louis Armstrong, or working with Duke Ellington. These inside looks at performers and their music, give music fans a little look "behind the curtain" if you will.

Bennett also includes throughout the book his "The Zen of Bennett" thoughts, which are interesting, but aren't exactly deep. As examples-"Nature is the master artist. Killing is the lowest form of human behavior. Be determined to persevere, even in the face of criticism. Do something to improve yourself, every single day." While these are true for the most part for everyone, and Bennett is trying to show something about himself, they don't exactly speak to anything truly new and informative about the man and/or his music.

Throughout the book Bennett talks about the many stars and well known people he knows and/or has come across during his long, fantastic career-people like Jimmy Durante, Mitch Miller, Count Basie, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong, Cary Grant, Harry Belafonte, Frank Sinatra, Bill Evans (his duets with Evans are simply great), Aretha Franklin, Bill Clinton, Robert De Niro, his family (of course), and so on.

But anyone thinking this is a truly "inside", in-depth look into Bennett's life and music-by Bennett, should reread the title of the book. "Life is a Gift-The Zen of Bennett". That, and the large, designed-to-catch-the-eye portrait of Bennett, that takes up most of the cover. That's the tip-off that there's nothing truly new or earth shattering in the book. Am I glad I read it? Yes. Does it begin with his early days, and progress through his life? Yes. But only in the most superficial way. And that's okay. His easy going style of writing is very relaxed, almost as if you're having a chat with the man. Ultimately, this lightweight read is okay as (possibly) an addendum to other books about Bennett. But if you're looking for an in depth memoir/autobiography, look elsewhere.

Mr. Bennett is a national treasure as far as I'm-and obviously many others worldwide-are concerned. The world will be a poorer place when he passes. He's an artist of obviously great talent in two (!) areas. Certainly he doesn't (I hope) need the money he'll glean from this book (and DVD). At this stage of the game, Mr. Bennett needs to let his music and his artwork speak for him-something easily accomplished in light of so many fine recordings, and now over the years, his sensitively executed artwork. This apparent exploitation of his "name" doesn't do the man any favors. His music and art do.
55 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2012
This book shares with you some of the things that make Tony Bennett tick. He shares everything from some of his family history, to his experiences in World War II and how that shaped his philosophies, to his early years in recording, his career renaissance, and more.

Some of this has appeared elsewhere, specifically in "The Good Life," the autobiography he released a few years, together with Will Friedwald. So some of this will seem familiar. Mr. Bennett has earned the right to say and write whatever he wants, and with most memoirs, sometimes the memory is selective. For example, he proudly boasts, correctly, about the "Complete Recordings" boxed set Sony released last year, saying that there wasn't a song he ever recorded that he was embarrassed by. Yet Bennett fans have documented over 60 songs (yes, some clunkers) that were deliberately kept off the set. Was this a rights issue, or was he embarrassed by them? We don't know because the omissions were never acknowledged...and not mentioned in this book. That's his prerogative.

Another section talks about how he refuses to conform to demographic study, that he appeals to fans of all ages...and that's true. But he doesn't acknowledge that this seemingly endless series of duets albums is catered specifically to those craved demographics...that the dollar transcends art with these projects to many of his fans.

But these are minor quibbles. This man is a legend, and it's thrilling to see him, listen to him, or see his beautiful art. This should be read by any type of performer, especially when it comes to how to respect the audience and the material to be performed. He is the master of his craft. Check out the documentary, too...some neat sights of the man at work.
55 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
I have enjoyed TONY BENNETT music since 1950. He is and always will be my favorite singer. I have all his records and now books! Tony even gave me a signed watercolor of the Bay Bridge several years ago.

To say that I am thrilled with Life is a Gift: The Zen of Tony Bennett as well as David Evanier's book: All The Things You Are; The life of Tony Bennett would be an understatement!

The more I see, hear and read about TONY BENNETT the better I like it!

There is only one Tony Bennett and thank God for Tony. He is as great of a man as he is a singer and painter!

Life Is a Gift: The Zen of Tony Bennett is simply stated, well written and very informative.

I purchased this book from Amazon and it was very simple to do.
55 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Tony Bennett has been around as long as I can remember and I mean that as a tribute to a wonderful singer who has had a long career...a career that has had a very successful second act. In "Life is a Gift", Bennett tells us a few things about himself, but it's mostly what he leaves out that is disappointing.

Autobiographical memoirs are always a little suspect. The author can say what he or she pleases and never have to dive into anything unpleasant. That's mostly the case here. I learned some things about him...a few of his likes (painting, his son, Danny, Astoria, other performers, etc.) and some dislikes (producers, record companies, segregation in the fifties) and so on. But his book is overly filled with advice, which at times sounds patronizing. While it's not unusual for someone who is eighty-six to write about his emotions in this manner, they end up becoming filler for what could have been a meatier, more in-depth book, had he REALLY given in to telling his story.

I'm not sure how hard-core Tony Bennett fans will feel about reading "Life is a Gift". I suspect their reactions would cover a wide range from supportive and enjoyable to a sense of disappointment that, given the chance, the author didn't tell us more.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2014
This look-back by Tony Bennett is comprised of brief chapters for which an outline is offered summarizing the author's main points. Like a catechism followed by the outline of a power-point presentation. Bennett knew all the big names, and so will you, Reader. He bows in gratitude to each and every one of them. I was interested to know that his duets (recording industry's latest resurrection of oldies merged with family members or others) are recorded with two live singers, not just tracks. He seemed so much more at ease in a 1990s, I think, A&e live TV concert. This is too shaped to a formula...is it his or his memor-X?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2013
This book is one of the most up building, encouraging things I have ever read. While some performers are prima donnas Bennett seems to have remained humble and has taken note of life's lessons. He seems to have found a way to be successful without exploiting others. His respect for all persons comes through loud and clear and he clearly does not look down upon others.

At 86 years of age he has maintained his viability as a singer, paints frequently and has a successful marriage to a woman forty years his junior. I'd say that his philosophy must be working.

It's a great read at a very good price. Likewise the DVD entitled "The Zen of Bennett" covers much of the same ground with some great music and recording studio scenes. Also highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2014
This is an incredible book written by an incredible down to earth entertainer. I recommend anyone who is in the entertainment business to read this book. Tony Bennett puts great value on being an entertainer who sings only quality music. He has refused, over the years, to submit to singing gimmicky songs just to make a quick buck for his producers. He puts great value on the type of songs he sings and appeals to people of all ages. Tony has not let stardom go to his head. His main focus is on pleasing his audience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
Good and recommendable book, evidencing simple and profound writing. Anthony Bennett is a seasoned engaging singer who practices and preaches dilligent performance preparation, audience engagement, and postiive presentation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
Tony Bennett is a great man. He's a wonderful singer and a great artist to boot. I come from Glasgow, where I've seen him several times over the past 40 years and he is truly loved in Glasgow. The last time I saw him was an outdoor gig one June at the Glasgow Jazz Festival. We had difficulty hearing him for the racket caused by the pouring rain battering down on the umbrellas, but all of the audience stayed on and endured the Scottish summer weather to hear the great man and his trio.

This book doesn't dwell too much on pedantic details about the music. It does however give a great insight into Tony Bennett the human being and his take on life. An example of his modesty is when he and his wife founded a school for the performing arts in 2001. Whereas most people would be likely to want such an organisation named after them, Tony Bennett called it the Frank Sinatra School of the Arts, after his mentor. This school will live on along with his amazing legacy of recordings and paintings.

I recommend checking out the "Cheek to Cheek" concert he recently did with the fabulous Lady Gaga, a mere 60 years his junior. You will find that a man approaching his 90th year is still singing just great - and boy can he ever hold a note. That's Italian blood for you! On "How Do You Keep the Music Playing" the audience is clearly astonished and moved. He gets a standing ovation and typically shares the glory with the orchestra. If you can't connect with a performance like that, you probably have no soul.

Buy this book and treasure it. I still dip into it every so often and re-visit Tony's world of truth and beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.