Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage R6 Siege Shop Now HTL

Life Is Good (Explicit Version) [Explicit]

July 17, 2012 | Format: MP3

$25,000 Prime Sweepstakes: This Week Only
Listen to Prime Music for a chance to win $25,000 in Gift Cards. Play any song, station, or playlist to be automatically entered. No purchase necessary. See Official Rules for details and alternate method of entry. Ends December 5, 2015.
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: July 17, 2012
  • Release Date: July 17, 2012
  • Label: Def Jam Records
  • Copyright: (C) 2012 The Island Def Jam Music Group
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 58:11
  • Genres:
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • ASIN: B008KKVLB4
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (230 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #26,148 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

76 of 79 people found the following review helpful By DMichael on July 17, 2012
Format: Audio CD
Gather Round Kid's. ..that's it, ..ok sit down. Let me tell you the story of master story teller Nasir Bin Olu Dara Jones, and the tale he cooked up and released in Summer 2012. The Summer had wreaked blazing temperatures, all points in the united states saw record numbers recorded on the thermometers. People were going through all sorts of personal crisis, still reeling from the 2008 financial meltdown, and so on. Nas himself having been through a divorce and demanded to cut half his earnings to his former spouse, in which she gladly waltzed to the bank and sat back to watch her account balance grow. Decided in the fashion of Marvin Gaye whom in the late 1970's released an album titled "Here, My Dear." after his tumultuous divorce from Anna Gordy, That he too would sing the blues away, by confessing the truth and the tale of heart ache and struggle but what remains important in between the heartaches and remind his listeners that Life is still Good. Clad in a designer suit, perched in a smokey jook joint in the belly of NYC, draped across his knee, the green dress his former wife had worn on their wedding day, The Ny Mc told the tale

No Introduction: Nas hits hard on this dark, dramatic song that kicks the album off

Loco-Motive: A grimey offering with the style reminiscent of the 90's era without sounding too dated, Nas tells the tale that he is still moving, still living.
A Queens Story: Theatrical stirring violins bring in this track then the beat knocks and Nas begins tellin the tale of his home borough of Queens.

Accident Murderers: A heavy track with the sound of a 90's sample in the kicks and drums a theatrical track feat Ricky Rozay.
Read more ›
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Tupac Shakur on July 17, 2012
Format: MP3 Music Verified Purchase
I just listened to this album last night and I bought it this morning. After listening, I could not describe how amazed I was by a fantastic album put together by Nas. Every single song was just fantastic and fit well with the album (except Summer on Smash which was pretty bad and had no place on this album). Outside of Summer on Smash, I wouldn't hesitate to call every song on this album great.

The thing that's really great about this album is that it's exactly what rap fans have been waiting for: Nas returning to his old self. It isn't quite Illmatic, or even Stillmatic for that matter, but in my opinion it comes pretty close. Lyrically he is a monster once again, his flow is so on point in basically every song, and the production is great. The concept of the album is great idea and you know Nas will keep it lyrically relevant. The fact that he has been in the game for 18 years but he can still come up with the stuff in this album is pretty amazing. Obviously once you blow up and get famous like he did, it's pretty hard to remain true to yourself, but that's exactly what Nas did with this album. I fully feel like it is a successful attempt at a return to his old days when he was one of the guys that dominated rap.

If you have the money and you like rap, definitely get this album. It's fantastic throughout and I can't stress enough how great Nas is in every single song. I definitely think the $14 I paid for it were well worth it for the Deluxe Edition, which includes the single Nasty along with 3 other great songs. Bottom line is, if you enjoy rap, you won't be disappointed by this terrific effort from Nas. Get the album.

Memorable songs from album: Accident Murderers, Daughters, World's an Addiction, You Wouldn't Understand
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Darryn M. Briggs on July 24, 2012
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
If you ever wondered what it would sound like if an acknowleged hip-hop great had lived until today AND produced an album from a grown up's perspective... well here it is.

Nas provides you an opus here that is dope - but not trendy. It is an album for hip-hop heads
that isn't trying to PRETEND that it was made by a 20 year old.

"Daughters" alone brought me in... because I too am 40 with a with a daughter and my concerns and perspectives
have changed since I was a teenaged hip-hop head. That said, "Cherry Wine" has been on CONSTANT replay
since I first heard it. Foregoing "Illmatic," that song would have been in place on "Midnight Marauders."
I can't give any higher praise.

Meanwhile, songs like "Bye, Baby" (aimed squarely at ex-wife Kelis) and "Stay" are poignant and give a perspective
that only someone who has been in relationships and/or entertainment as long as Nas could deliver.

Long story short: If you're looking for paint-by-the-numbers usual offerings, you might be disappointed.
If you too are a long-time lover of hip-hop who has lived long enough to have a change in perspective - and APPRECIATE those changes, then you like me will LOVE this album.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Me on July 23, 2012
Format: Audio CD
...but I will go out on a limb and say this is Nas' best album. I've been a fan since I heard The World is Yours. I've purchased every Nas album and call me crazy but my favorite one up to this point was It was Written and not illmatic. Don't get me wrong, Illmatic was raw, ill and deserving of 5 mics but I thought It was Written was kind of slept on. Lyrically it was so far ahead of its time with songs like I Gave You Power, Suspect Witness, If I Ruled the World amongst others. That album changed the way I viewed rap. I pretty much have liked all of Nas' albums, some more than others. Life is Good is like taking snapshots of the best off each of the previous albums and putting them together in a photo album. Simply beautiful.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse