Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life Less ANXIOUS
A Life Less Anxious: Freedom from panic attacks and social anxiety without drugs or therapy (Volume 1)

I have been struggling with Anxiety/Panic attacks since I was a teenager. I have read so many books, Listen to tons of CD's and bought an expensive Video program. None have ever helped me. Steves books is so well written, I read half the book the first night...
Published on January 1, 2010 by Brenda Forest

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Has very limited benefit
I picked up this book through Amazon primarily hoping that it would give added insight/value to my son who suffers from crippling social anxiety. I found it to be of extremely limited benefit; for the most part, it reads like someone's personal diary or blog rather than something genuinely worthy of publication. Any bits of useful advice, for me, came predominantly in the...
Published on December 27, 2011 by Claire


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Life Less ANXIOUS, January 1, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A Life Less Anxious: Freedom from panic attacks and social anxiety without drugs or therapy (Volume 1)

I have been struggling with Anxiety/Panic attacks since I was a teenager. I have read so many books, Listen to tons of CD's and bought an expensive Video program. None have ever helped me. Steves books is so well written, I read half the book the first night. Even thou I knew I wasnt the only one who struggled with Anxiety,this book shed a new light for me. I have yet to read a book where the Author so totally described my symptoms and understood what I am going thru. I am so glad I bought this book. Yesterday during a snow storm we were out doing errands I tried Steves breathing technique.. IT worked! I had gotten myself so worked up about the snow and fearing the "WHAT IFS" we slid off the road~~ I wasnt sure how I would ever make it home. I then started breathing as Steve says in the books and for the first time in my life,, I was able to get my anixety attack under control. Thank you Steve for writing this book. I highly recommend this bookfor anyone who is struggling with anxiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read for anxiety-beginners and long-term sufferers, January 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I originally bought this book for my husband, a long-time anxiety sufferer relying on prescription medications to control his often-crippling anxiety. He will not attempt any treatments or read any books that seem fishy, new-agey, or "fruity." I decided to give this book a try as it didn't seem to fit into any of the categories to which my husband objects. I hit the jackpot with this book and I am so glad I bought it!

I have more trouble with depression than anxiety, and there were many tips that I have applied to my own life. The author is knowledgeable and funny, which keeps this book from being preachy, like so many self-help books are. I loved that he put detailed stories of what anxiety had done to him and his life. I was able to read those out loud to my husband as I read the book, and that did a lot to pique his interest in this book and actually give it a chance. This is the first self-help book I've ever found that my husband will actually read!

I know this review is getting long, but I have to add that the author addresses the side-effects of anti-depressants, which are regularly prescribed to help with anxiety. Namely, the sexual side-effects. It is difficult to discuss or admit that it happens, but it is such a huge drawback to those medications. This problem has had a tremendous impact on our life and it is one of the big reasons that we'd love for my husband to be off of the drugs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not the only one, December 6, 2009
As a person who has suffered from anxiety, I found this book extremely relatable and very useful. Thanks to this book, I now know I'm not the only one. The book provides practical and realistic ways to alleviate stress in order to overcome debilitating anxiety. I have already begun to incorporate the techniques into my daily life. If you are suffering from anxiety and panic attacks, I would highly recommend this book. I only wish this book was written sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tactics for Even Non-Anxiety Sufferers, December 7, 2009
Let's face it, everyone has times when their own thoughts consume them, and they need to gain balance and peace. This book is a PERFECT read for folks who want to gain control of their minds and achieve a steady, positive outlook on life. The author does a nice job of telling his own story -- whether you can relate to the specifics or not, you can surely appreciate the honesty and candor with which he shares his experiences; by the end of the first part you feel like he is one of your good friends. Which sets the tone nicely for the remainder of the book, which, in my opinion, should be read by EVERYONE. We could all use a physical, mental, and spiritual cleanse - and the non-judgmental, humorous, effective way the author presents his tactics is well-appreciated. A real breath of fresh air compared to the pop-psychology-babble we see on shelves. Great book, great tactics for self-improvement and overall mental health.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, December 10, 2009
A self help book that really helps. As a psychotherapist specializing in Anxiety Disorders, I know the journey can be a lonely one for many. Most people rarely have a chance to connect with someone going through the same emotional issue. The author gives you that chance to hear first hand, someone's successful story of recovery. The book can also be a resource for therapists as part of their recommended reading. The format facilitaties learning and the writing is easy to read, insightful and motivational. It's great to have the "how to" and the "hope", in one book. The well selected quotes are on target and well placed in the text. I highly recommend this book to those who suffer with life altering anxiety. Well done. I'll be looking for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less anxiety in plain English, December 6, 2009
By 
Ben Rhodes (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This is a well written book that I plan to share with others I know that are impacted by anxiety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read about his situation, December 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was my first book on anxiety and it was comforting to hear how SOME of his issues related to what I am going through. This was a short and easy to read book and overall was a good read. I did not walk away with any amazing concepts and or ideas on how to help my anxiety, but again this seems like a good first book to start with. On to the next book :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Approach in a World of RX, December 4, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Refreshing to read that the "younger generation" is also embracing the "self-help" motto that many baby-boomers have. This book is encouragingly contrary to our society's need for immediate (pill-popping) gratification. The book is written in a conversational, smooth-flowing style. The real-life examples and analogies are easy to identify with. The references are varied, and thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and practical!, March 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an intelligent, insightful book written in a conversational style that I found very appealing. The author offers practical, real-life solutions rather than psychological rhetoric for handling anxiety. A fresh, practical approach to living in a stressful world without medicating or escaping in an unhealthy way...a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Has very limited benefit, December 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I picked up this book through Amazon primarily hoping that it would give added insight/value to my son who suffers from crippling social anxiety. I found it to be of extremely limited benefit; for the most part, it reads like someone's personal diary or blog rather than something genuinely worthy of publication. Any bits of useful advice, for me, came predominantly in the form of the pearls of wisdom scattered throughout the text, these being penned by noted authors. I am glad that the author found his way out of his panic attacks and social anxiety but this book is largely a memoir of his own personal experiences; he is not an expert, per say, in the field. Still, it is to his credit, based on the predominantly positive reviews, that there are readers out there who clearly benefitted from his suggestions; I simply do not count myself as one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.