Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great train!
I bought this train for my six-year old grandson. He fell in love with my husband's old N Gauge train, one that had the tracks that had to fit together perfectly, and one that gave a small shock from the transformer if it wasn't together properly. I worried that he would end up hurt on the thing, plus I wasn't thrilled at putting it together all the time - really hard...
Published on January 14, 2009 by Mkhmn

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perfect to test scale or HO toys with kids
Scale model trains generally aren't hands-on toys, especially for smaller children. They're fragile and they can easily fail to work and break irrepairably. They can also be very costly in purchase price and in the investment of time and materials put into building a layout. I won't extol all the virtues of model railroading but obviously it includes art in the...
Published on November 29, 2010 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great train!, January 14, 2009
By 
Mkhmn (Decatur, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
I bought this train for my six-year old grandson. He fell in love with my husband's old N Gauge train, one that had the tracks that had to fit together perfectly, and one that gave a small shock from the transformer if it wasn't together properly. I worried that he would end up hurt on the thing, plus I wasn't thrilled at putting it together all the time - really hard to get the track to work. So when I saw this one that had an easy-put-together track and yet still had all the capability of our older electric train I thought why not?

Well, the train is awesome. The track goes together easily (however it is a little more difficult to get apart - more on that later). It took about 10 minutes to get the train up and going. My grandson had no problems working it and going both forward and backward. He did have a little bit of difficulty getting the train cars to stick together, but once we got that figured out all was well.

Taking the track apart turned out to be tricky - you have to slightly twist one section to get it apart. Once we got that figured out it was easy, but it took a number of minutes to get it to work, so be prepared for that.

Otherwise, great train and track - definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perfect to test scale or HO toys with kids, November 29, 2010
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
Scale model trains generally aren't hands-on toys, especially for smaller children. They're fragile and they can easily fail to work and break irrepairably. They can also be very costly in purchase price and in the investment of time and materials put into building a layout. I won't extol all the virtues of model railroading but obviously it includes art in the scenery, science in the electrics and electronics, social science and even economics in modeling society and industry. So they are much more than a toy and can become a life-long hobby or avocation for an interested person. One way to get started is to research and buy the good stuff, not wasting your time and money on junk like this LL set. But if you over estimate your child's readiness to work with a model versus a toy, your mistake can be costly. You may also not appreciate what modeling takes in terms of how much work it is, how much space it takes, how much is involved in terms of skills and learning.

This train set has got to be the rock-bottom cheapest HO set out there. If not, it's real close. The weaknesses abound. I won't elaborate on them all. The train is not accurate to the prototype (the real thing#. It's made with poorly detailed plastic shell. The engine's motor is cheap, won't slow-start but jumps, won't run slowly, won't stop slowly but jerks to a halt. The cars are too light #they feel like an empty egg shell) and easily derail. The controller only has one DC circuit and one AC and a poor potentiometer type twist throttle that is hard to regulate. The track is very phoney-looking black molded plastic and code 100 rail. Code 100 has very tall metal rails that are easier to manufacturer carelessly and hold trains well but look far too tall for scale. If you "get into it" you won't re-use this track but instead you'll want some code 83 track or to hand lay your own code 70 or 55. Still, the track and the rest of this set is so cheap, you can't beat it to have something almost 'disposable' to get started with and learn all the hard lessons. It's like learning to drive in a beater.

The LL set I have doesn't have the plastic road bed. This is a big improvement for durability in play. Without the plastic road bed, you have to nail the track to a foam or cork road bed on a sheet of MDF or something or the track will easily break. The plastic road bed is, of course, completely phoney for scale modeling and is a concession to the toy aspect of this product. For a toy, I like the Fisher Price Trackmaster trains better. They're bullet proof, both the engines and the track. The durability is amazing and yet they're slightly bigger and better detailed than the wooden railways and less expensive. I do prefer wooden railways for their craftsmanship though, particularly the older Swedish made Brio and the modern Thomas ones. Another awesome toy to check out is the Lego trains. They're quite costly with the power options but have two big advantages for play in that they're able to be totally customized, and they integrate with the whole Lego play system.

So their your have it. If you want to try scale model railroading, this LL set is a cheap start and you'll learn plenty on your way to a rather sophisticated endeavor. If you're looking for a toy, try Trackmaster for children 6 and under, and Lego trains for older children. The play value is far better with either of those. Of course, when I was six, I had to have the 'real' thing. I got an N scale model and loved it. If your child is attracted to the scale realism, no mere 'toy' will suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ho=Scale Train, January 15, 2008
By 
B. Campbell "Mom" (Brockton, Ma United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
The locomotive didn't work when we opened it, but I called the 1-800 number and they sent a new one ASAP (no cost) and now it works great!!! The back trains need some weight in them or they will derail on high. We just added some from the arts/craft store. It's interchangable with other HO Scale models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating toy, April 29, 2009
By 
Tony B. (San Francisco, California United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
The railroad was very hard to put together because the tracks keep getting undone and the diagram for elevating the tracks was not clear. Also, unlike the Thomas the Train type of a wooden track, the design is inflexible. You need to have all your pieces in a particular order, otherwise, you won't be able to close the loop. It is also very difficult to properly position the locomotive onto the tracks (it's got 8 wheels which don't appear to be well aligned) and once you finally get it on, it derails easily. We ended up spending 2-3 times more time on getting the train back on track than actually seeing the train run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Train, January 1, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
Train is a nice size for under the Christmas tree. It was easy to set up and works well. I purchased it for my granddaughters and they love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Morning Disappointment, January 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
The plastic pin within the electric connection broke before we could get the first run set up. It was such a disapointment that no one in the family has talked about it since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some issues, but overall a decent set for the money., December 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
If the track is the slightest bit uneven, the cars behind the engine have a great tendency to derail. This is because of their relatively lighter weight. Other than that, it runs fairly well. The power-loc track is ridiculously easy to put together. Nothing like the standard track that came with the older sets and most sets today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIFE-LIKE TRAINS IN A GOD INSPIRED CREATION- FROM THE MCSWAIN ESTATE TOYS & MORE, January 9, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
Length:: 2:47 Mins

OUR 2ND LINE-RUNS BETWEEN THE PARK & RIDE AND THE CAMPGROUNDS STOP. When we say second line, we mean the elevated track that runs above our Life-Like Freight line that is down below, you will see it pass by the diner as the 2nd line pulls into the park & ride stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 5 year old Grandson, Landon Loved the train...., June 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
My 5 year old Grandson, Landon was so happy.. He can tell you every detail about each train... He Loves trains and has enjoyed every set we have purchased from Amazon....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Returned it., January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Life-Like Trains HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set (Toy)
The engine seemed decent but the box cars were really chintzy so I returned it since I don't believe it will hold up to my 5 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Life-Like Trains  HO Scale Rail Master Electric Train Set
$79.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.