Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Life in Mono
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Drowners Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars32
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 25, 2007
Its really ironic that the most 'untalented' of the Spice Girls bunch would consistently provide us with such good material into the 2000s. Her last album "Free Me" was a classic that still finds plays on my Ipod.

1. If you love 1960s 'girl-group' melodies, you will love this.

2. If you like film-noir, and the soundtracks to the James Bond and Austin Powers series, you will love this.

3. If you like very poppy verse-chorus-verse, you will love this

4. If you're into Bossa Nova, Brazilian beach pop, and a little bit of reggae, you will adore this.

At its best, this sounds like a lost soundtrack to some 1960s French masterpiece by Truffaut. Very "Umbrellas of Cherbourg" but with a lot more zest and pep. You really have to get it and find out what I'm talking about.

The only downside is that the opening track is the weakest here, so many people may be put off. Do get this and discover a fabulous artist you may have neglected until now just because of her "Spice Girls" tag.

To sum up, Emma is a million times more accomplished and a real artist when compared to the remaining Spice Girls. This one album is better than all the others' solo releases combined. Seriously.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2007
Life In Mono continues in the same vein as Free Me... sort of.

While there are a few tracks with that same sun-drenched bossa nova sound (Mischevious, He Loves Me Not), this is not Free Me II, but the next chapter of Emma's journey. The album opens with a lovely ballad, "All I Need To Know"- gutsy move! Next, the title track is a cover of a song by the group Mono. Where the original was like a dark music box tune, here it's been reworked like a James Bond theme (Anyone else think Ms. Bunton should REALLY do a Bond theme?).

The standouts are "I Wasn't Looking (When I Found Love)" and "Take Me To Another Town", both with catchy melodies and lush cinematic orchestrations. On "Undressing You", and especially the bonus track "Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps", Emma shows she can convincingly go from sweetie to seductress in a heartbeat.

As wonderful as Free Me was, Life In Mono is a more mature affair. This is music for grown-ups, for lounging around on lazy Sundays or sultry late nights. Once again, Emma has proved her talent. She has found music that suites her voice perfectly, and she delivers it with sensuality and class- a rarity in today's popular music.

It remains to be seen if this album will be released stateside as Free Me was, and if it will be sucessfully pitched to the American market, which might too easily mistake it for "Easy Listening", which it most certainly is not. Let's keep our fingers crossed. We need more music like this.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2007
Baby Spice was always my favorite Spice Girl, next to Posh Spice. Fast forward to a little over 10 years later after the Spice Girls hit the scene and who would've ever thought that Emma would be probably the most critically-acclaimed out of all the Spice Girls with her last two solo albums; Free Me and her newest one, Life in Mono.

The production on this is quality! Where her last album, Free Me, succeded in capturing elements of Brazil, bossa nova and 60's flair, Life in Mono upgrades the sound a bit with even lusher instrumentals and superb vocals from Emma. My favorite songs on the album are:

All I Need To Know-The second single from the album and the most beautiful and tender track on the album. A very sweet ballad.

Mischievous-The bossa nova feel to it is incredible and matches Emma's voice perfectly, especially during the middle of the track where Emma sounds really angelic. A standout track on here.

He Loves Me Not-This song captures the sound of Brazil perfectly! One listen to this song's samba-like arrangements will have you imagining yourself in Rio de Janeiro on a lazy Sunday afternoon.

Undressing You-This song screams "Bond Theme"! Emma's being a cheeky gal on this track and it's a very make-love-to type of track.

Something Tells Me (Something's Gonna Happen)-Another bossa nova type of track. A great one to listen to after a long day.

Por Favor-A very slow, very seductive track. Emma's syrupy voice drenches the track with a romantic feel on this one.

Downtown-This one sees Emma covering the classic Petula Clark song. The BBC Children In Need single for 2006 and another UK Top 3 singles hit for Emma.

I'm not sure if this will receive an American release or not, seeing as how the fickle music industry here probably wouldn't think it'd sell over here and is not mainstream enough for American listeners. Truth be told it might not, but don't let that stop you from buying (or in the American case, importing) this lusciously good album. The perfect album for candlelight dinners and amor.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2007
I can only echo what the other reviewers have said: this release is a masterpiece. Everything about it - I am in awe of this recording and cannot stop playing it. What a voice! What delivery! What production! THANK YOU EMMA!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2010
This is the third album that I have bought of Emma Bunton, and just like with her sophomore effort her third album makes it extremely hard to believe that in the early 2000s she was doing bubblegum teen pop. Also with Free Me, this album too has an extremely high replay value. I have to admit though the album could have done without the Petula Clark cover "Downtown" it feels really out of place with the album's bossa nova 1960s pop. My favorites are Something Tells Me (Something's Going to Happen); Life in Mono; Undressing You; Mischevous; and I'm Not Crying Over Yesterdays. Overall wonderful album.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2007
This album is brilliant, and wonderful; however, it will have a limited audience in America. Recommended if you like Claudine Longet or Burt Bacharach's music.

This is contemporary "Bachelor Pad" or "Martini Lounge" at its best. Done without a hint of irony, this is not a tongue-in-cheek peek at the past but a modern reexamination of all that was good in the 60's Brit-Pop sound.

For a contemporary American audience used to the sound of hip-hop or sexy and edgy pop-rock artists like Gwen Stefani you may find Emma Bunton sounds too much like "Easy Listening."

Sadly, this is going to limit the audience in the States for an otherwise outstanding album.

However, if you liked the music in Austin Powers (not because it was kitschy but because you liked it), or if you like the music of "Dimitri from Paris" or "Ursula 1000" you'll find Emma Bunton's "Life In Mono" an excellent addition to your collection.

Expensive import. Go to Amazon.UK and buy it directly from England. Even with overseas shipping and a poor exchange rate it's cheaper, plus you get a package in the mail from England. (How fun is that?)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2011
Never gets old, Masterpiece ..... Awaiting her new album impatiently !!! I have had it for a while and she keeps getting better. So worth the outrageous price they are charging now.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2006
I left this review for a few days so I could give it few listening.

Free Me was a really great album, which I did not buy until March this year.

When I first listen to it I was blown away, I just did not expect this from Emma.

Now over to Life In Mono, First listening It did not seem as good as Free Me.

But its a grower Emma has a sweet singing voice, which is pleasant to listen to. All the songs are good, still having the 60s bossa nova sound to most of them. Best tracks are. Life In Mono, Mischievous, He Loves Me Not, I Wasn't Looking, Take Me To Another Town, I'm Not Crying Over Yesterdays, All That You'll Be, and Something Tells Me.

All in all this is a solid album, and is as good as Free Me if not better.

well done Emma for a third fantastic album, and the best so far.

Rating Six stars, yes it really is that good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2006
If you appreciate sophisticated smartly arranged pop songs with catchy melodies then you should give this CD a try. It's a breath of fresh air in today's melodically-challenged musical landscape. Honestly, this CD has more hooks than Opie's tackle-box. Maybe that's why, like Emma's last CD 'Free Me', I listen to it day after day, which is something I very rarely do with new CDs I buy. She sings in a very pleasant Olivia Newton John-ish voice that straightforwardly accentuates the song's strengths and she doesn't sound much like any of the current slate of new millenium starlets out there . It's strange to me that such wonderful CDs could be made a former Spice Girl, a group I never had much use for, but there it is. I think this CD proves that 'Free Me' was no fluke, and I look forward to seeing where Emma Bunton goes from here.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2007
Life in Mono brings us not Baby spice anymore. Now Emma's all grown up, her voice has matured during the last few years and now she has much better talent than some of the other Spices.

Life in Mono is of a style like her previous Free Me, but much more matured. I got impressed about the sound of this album, it has more soft music, more deep and intense.

"All I Need to Know", "Life in Mono", "Perfect Strangers", "He Loves Me Not", "Take Me to Another Town", "Undressing You" and "Downtown" in my opinion are the best songs from the album, all the other songs are still great, but this ones are my favorite.

I fully recommend this album, it doesn't matter if you liked or not the Spice Girls since it sounds way more different than 11 years ago, when we heard a lot of "wanna's".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.90
$15.98
$11.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.