Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is simply a repackaging of two TV series that have already been released previously.

Having said that, these are probably the two highest-quality nature shows ever filmed, so if you don't yet own them then I highly recommend this set. These are the original BBC versions of the show, with the great narration by David Attenborough. This is the preferred way to watch these shows, because the Discovery Channel versions of the show is known to have cut/missing footage and most agree that it's a much lower-quality narration.

There are 10 discs in this set: Life is a 4-disc set, and Planet Earth: Special Edition is a 6-disc set.

The audio and video quality on these discs is outstanding. The images are vibrant and the photography is breathtaking - this is the kind of content that HDTV was meant for!

Here are the links to the individual items included:
Planet Earth (Six-Disc Special Edition) [Blu-ray]
Life (David Attenborough-Narrated Version) [Blu-ray]
33 comments| 81 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
One of the best visual displays of some rare beauties of occurancies through out earth. Many parts of the film are memorizing when viewed in HD. If you have blu-ray capability, then do not buy the DVD version as this is something that needs to be watched with the best picture possible.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
Best visual blu-ray video, great, educational, fascinating!!! Love, love, love it!!! Good gift idea too. Get to know your planet!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
This is an experience of immersion into life itself. A direct interaction with multiple species and adaptations. Presents the viewer as both witness and participant the opportunity to learn and reflect on nature's diversity, beauty and relentless give and take for survival and thriving. So much I didn't know. Let me discover the deep empathy and similarity with life forms.
Beautiful photography and music that enhances the environment. Intimate revealing portraits that take you beyond the egocentric world of humans.
Though I had watched Attenborough's bird anthologies, and Blue Sea Life offers a further feast for the senses and heightens understanding of who shares this planet and how remarkable, fragile and evolving we are. And how and why we must become aware and participate in cooperatively conserving and responding to the needs of all forms of Life!

Eagerly look forward
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2012
Saw this on NatGeo or Discovery a few months ago and it was breathtaking, the HD quality is incredible and will leave you mesmerized for hours. I highly recommend this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2013
Sooooo goooooood, Got this for my dad for Xmas, and the entire family ended up watching this together all Xmas day. Its just a really terrific program, fascinating, beautiful, educational, surprising, well shot and narrated. And, the packaging is beautiful also!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2012
Beautiful on my new Sony BDP-S590 paired with a great Samsung TV.

Pros:
Don't have to hear Oprah narrate Life.
DVD extras are finally on the Blue-Ray discs. Bout time!!
Amazing footage and narration.

Cons:
Can't think of any
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
I really like how Life came out with a David Attenborough version. He helps to make the animals and natural scencery as engaging as if you were there and I can really tell he enjoys narrating. I can't really say much about the DVD's themselves; I've been watching them consistently since they have come out and are probably the most watched DVD's I own. Unbelievable scenery, amazing wildlife, this series will be tough to beat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
These are amazing movies. Can't say enough about the quality of video that was taken during the making of these. Spectacular. If you love nature and haven't seen these yet you need to!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
it is the quintessensual essence of David Attenborough.
They sent this fast,carefully, and I was totally satisfied.
your friend always, Sharon
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse