Facility Spring Cleaning Spring Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Sixx AM Fire TV Stick Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing May4th

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 19, 2013
Once upon a time, not so long ago, the only approved image of slavery in the American south was of benevolent masters and happy, slow-witted slaves. Nowadays, it's just the opposite, and anything other than a sadistic master and abused slaves is unacceptable. There are actually a couple of reviews of this poor little book on here that state as much. But neither image bears much resembalance to the reality. This book contains the words of an ex-slave, speaking of and for himself. It doesn't get much more real than that.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
This would be a five-star book were it not for the poor production values. Like all the digitized books scanned by volunteers, it needs a lot of editing.

But this is a Marvelous accounting of relations between the races in the South: antebellum, during the Civil War, and Reconstruction. It was written by a former slave who held no rancor against his former masters. He wanted to get out the message that while Slavery itself is an Atrocity, many blacks and their white owners were reasonably happy "families."

This is not a sensationalist, gory view of the horrors of cruel masters, but instead the fond remembrances of a man who had been well-treated and even properly prepared for Emancipation.

Despite the typos and scanning glitches, I read it through twice and intend to keep it for reference.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2012
I love ante-bellum history and this is interesting in the way it was written. It's easy to read and a bit informative if you have not read civl war and post civil war history. A good soft read.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
Whenever reading contemporary accounts -- or later reflections on a time and place by those who were there -- you CANNOT apply today's standards, values and knowledge to their accounts. You must read it in its historical context. One of the most interesting things about reading first-hand accounts is that there is no PC filter. The reader gets a different perspective to add as another piece of the puzzle to the whole.

To compare this to contemporary accounts does it an injustice on many levels. This is a valuable piece of history; but written in the style of the times. Analogous to watching an old movie that would never make it in today's market; the value is in what it reveals about the time it was produced, rather than the often incorrect vision we have of that time period.

This is but one piece to a very intricate puzzle of a time-period in which no single account can be considered the definitive experience. This is the tale of one person; their view point, and their experiences. We cannot sit here 150 years in the future and pass judgement on this book; calling it either hog-wash, white-wash, or the most accurate portrayal of real-life against the other accounts from the same period. One must take it at its face value, make your own decisions and judgements, and see it for what it is -- one small piece of the whole. It is one person's story. They were there. You were not.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2011
I enjoyed this book. It is a view of life in the South prior to the Civil War as written by a former slave. I suspect strongly that life on the old plantation was a lot more like this than what was portrayed in ROOTS. But then perhaps Mr. Lowery was just an incorrigable liar. You read and decide.
11 comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2013
This book was in line with other books or journals written about the ante-Bellum days. It reflected that the members of the black Race that were able to improve themselves after the War did so with the help of many of the Slave Owners who continued to looks out for the interest of their former slaves than did the so called Liberators from the North whom were the actual persons who created the slave system with Northern Ship Captains and their crews who purchased the Negro people from others of their own race in Africa.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
If you ever wanted or were curious to know about how life was lived in antebellum America, this is it! A great read that will make some people love it just for the history, and others not like it for the same reason. But history happened whether we liked it or not, and I'm this is a good representation of what was happening then.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2014
A very easy read, and if you're interested in slavery and how it was on a plantation pre Civil War than this is a good book. Not exactly the best written but I found it pretty interesting and keep it on my Kindle to read again sometime.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2013
Very Intersting and a eye opener...I felt sorry for all of the women involved...thank God there were some compassionate men
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2015
it was dry reading on the plane. seems to be a lot of history if you can get past all the narrative. I really wanted to like this. I LOVE history but I just couldn't get into this, it jumps around a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse