Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
16
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 28, 2009
When reading a classic such as Boswell's Life of Johnson, you are mainly looking for two things: good typography and a knowledgeable editor. In this Penguin edition (2008) you get both. With more than 1250 pages of reading, you don't want to be tortured or discouraged by tiny or overstylized type. Here the designer has chosen Adobe Sabon in 9 pt type -- perfect for reading comfortably for long stretches. And you'd be hard pressed to find a better 18th-century scholar than David Womersley (at Oxford). He seems to have a penchant for tackling long and difficult books: Previously, he edited a beautiful edition of Gibbon's Decline and Fall, also published by Penguin. His editorial notes are well supported, unobtrusive, and beautifully written -- a real class act. So if you're looking for the right edition, this is it! Enjoy.
22 comments| 117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2010
James Boswell's Life of Samuel Johnson is often called the greatest biography of all-time and may well be. Perhaps such a work can get no higher praise, but it is also highly notable as the first true modern biography - the first really resembling what we think of as biography today. Boswell set new standards for thoroughness, accuracy, and research, greatly expanding the very concept of what a biography could be. He was also very far ahead of his time in anticipating what was later called gonzo journalism - writers inserting themselves into real-life stories; it is of course not done in the same way as later writers, but the concept is similar. Most remarkable of all, though, is that the book is immensely readable, entertaining, and edifying over two hundred years later, which can be said of very few biographies. It is absolutely essential for anyone even remotely interested in Johnson, Boswell, or the late eighteenth century European intellectual circle.

Johnson was perhaps England's best known writer during his last several decades and one of the most famous in the world besides being widely known and renowned for lexicographical and other accomplishments. However, this book's greatness and fame are such that he has long been known primarily via it. Many read it who have read very little or none of him, showing that, unlike nearly all biographies, it has earned a life of its own. There are many reasons for this, not least the fine writing. Even more fundamental is that the book vividly brings an exciting, integral, and profoundly influential era to life. It covers the late Enlightenment when many of the most important people to ever live were prominent. In addition to Johnson, we get first-hand glimpses of such illustrious personages as Adam Smith, Oliver Goldsmith, Pasquale Paoli, David Garrick, and many, many others. Numerous other heavyweights - Voltaire, Jean-Jacques Rousseau, King George III, etc. - are only slightly in the background. We also get contemporaneous accounts of major events like the American Revolution and the lead up to the French Revolution. In short, though ostensibly the biography of one person, the book is as vibrant, lifelike, and memorable an account of a supremely important era as any history book.

Yet Johnson is always the focus, shown literally from birth to death. Anyone interested in him will find a wealth of information about all aspects of his life as well as his thoughts, feelings, influences, intellectual background, and far more. There is also a great deal of information about his work. Unlike nearly all biographers, Boswell actually knew Johnson well; he was his friend for many years and spent several months annually in his company, essentially interviewing him and making voluminous notes of his conversation. This last is indeed the book's heart and by far its most famous element. Johnson was perhaps his era's most famous conversationalist, revered for wit and argument; Boswell heard many hours of his conversation and reports faithfully. His style here was again innovative. Rather than sprinkling isolated quotes anecdotally, he went to great pains to reproduce full conversations, not only describing the setting and others present but even using drama-like name headings for full verisimilitude. We thus not only see what Johnson said but where, how, and usually why he said it. Many world famous Johnson sayings that would otherwise be lost - i.e., "Patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel" - are immortalized here, as well as some quotes by others. This alone would make the book of great value.

Much has been made of how Boswell's presence affected this; knowing he would write the biography, or at least thinking it possible, he undoubtedly orchestrated much, drawing Johnson out when he might have otherwise been silent. Much of this would have been done in any case as he clearly admired Johnson and loved his talk, but there is no denying the question's importance. Some have condemned Boswell as a shameless celebrity whore or otherwise questioned his motives and veracity, but nearly everyone will consider this nitpicking, fascinating as the question is. For nearly everyone, it makes the book better - far more personal and engaging than biographies are usually even capable of being. Also, for what it is worth, such things mean the book in many ways tells us nearly as much about Boswell as Johnson, making it a sort of hybrid biography/autobiography.

Boswell understandably focuses on the years he knew Johnson, meaning the book is greatly lopsided in favor of the later years after Johnson became famous and nearly all his major work was done. This will annoy those who want a more balanced overview, especially as Boswell makes short shrift of some important early events. Those wanting a more conventional balance should get one of several later biographies, especially as Boswell makes a few errors and, at least according to later sources, leaves out some highly interesting - if not necessarily essential - facts. He openly admits doing so at the start in order to protect Johnson's reputation, though much of what he says elsewhere is unflattering, but some of it may have been unknown to him. For most, though, this is the only Johnson biography that will ever be needed - and its greatness, influence, and importance are such that it is required for all readers with even the slightest interest in English and European literature and history and the art of biography even if they care little or nothing for Johnson or Boswell.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2009
James Boswell--to use a contemporary idiom-- had a mancrush on Samuel Johnson. He wrote this lengthy portrait of his hero--and it's magnificent. This is a vastly entertaining read. Full of fascinating, insightful, provocative, fun, sometimes gossipy detail, Boswell's Life of Johnson is a real treat. After ten pages, I was hooked. In writing his Life of Johnson, Boswell showed us all how fascinating a single man can be when studied in detail by a sympathetic reporter. I suspect that Boswell's Johnson is a much more interesting character than Johnson's Johnson, but that doesn't matter: Boswell's book is a separate creation and entity than Johnson the man. Boswell's hero worship and adulation is infectious. it is difficult not to wish Boswell success in pulling off this grand project: a 1,400 page portrait of a brilliant, admirable, great but flawed man. Get this. You are going to be entertained. Despite its enormous size, this is a fun, interesting, stimulating read. This is the perfect vacation book for anyone who prefers something with more intellectual meat than a thriller or mystery. Anglophiles MUST read this. Anyone who cares about great books should read it. And anyone looking for a book that has stood the test of time should read it. Simply because you will be denying yourself a great experience if you don't. I would definitely want this with me during a long convalescence--it would be a great companion.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2010
I don't know if this is a good thing to admit or not, but I made it through this entire book reading it about 5-10 minutes per night just before nodding off.

Normally I would never a proceed through such a highly-regarded classic like this, but Boswell jumps from topic to topic so frequently, it's almost like each new paragraph is about an entirely different subject. I suppose this would have irked me had I approached this in a focused, solitary way, but as it was it made it possible get through one nugget at a time.

Maybe you should try it. I know of few who have managed to negotiate this one conventionally.

Anyhow, more to the point. If you're fishing around for a good edition, I would definitely go with this Penguin Classics edition, which has copious footnotes and some other stuff. The other one you see everywhere, the Oxford World's Classics has -- unusually for that series -- zilch for footnotes!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
Penguin did a shabby job of converting Boswell's masterpiece to the electronic platform. There are vast spaces between paragraphs and words run together within them. I've had the Everyman hardback for years but it's heavy and hard to read - I bought the Penguin edition because I'm a fan of David Womersley's editions (I have his massive set of Gibbon as well). So I'll learn to overlook, I suppose, the indifferent quality of the ebook. When will Penguin and other publishers learn how to create a book for the 21st century? Fine examples of how it should be done are evident in the apps created by Touchpress, e.g., Eliot's Wasteland; Shakespeare's Sonnets; Leonardo's Notebooks. All of these are excellent, deeply immersive, take full advantage of tablet technology and cost no more than crappy Kindle editions.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
James Boswell was the ultimate fan-boy. On page 702 (the text of the Penguin Classic is a little over a thousand pages, plus indexes and notes), Boswell tells a group of men, “I cannot help worshipping him, he is so much superiour to other men.” From the time Johnson’s English dictionary appeared, Boswell was hooked, and went out of his way to arrange a meeting, succeeding in 1763. From then on he became a near-constant companion and confidant for the next 21 years. Boswell’s The Life of Samuel Johnson heaps praise upon its subject to an almost embarrassing degree while simultaneously attempting to preserve unfiltered every morsel of barbed opinion, witty retort, and pithy remark ever uttered by Johnson.

The result is that Johnson comes across as a pompous but often hilarious windbag who seemingly could prattle for hours on virtually any subject, even taking contradictory stands just to keep conversations lively. Boswell admits on page 504 that Johnson saw “conversation as a contest.” Indeed, Johnson treated conversation as jazzmen do cutting contests, and he played to win even if it meant verbally zinging friends as well as foes.

Johnson was a staunch Tory devoted to king and country who hated Americans even before the Revolution. On page 693 Boswell notes in 1778 that Johnson “attacked the Americans with intemperate vehemence of abuse.” (No one would ever charge Johnson with being a liberal, though he was against slavery; curiously, fawning acolyte Boswell disagreed and saw slavery as sanctioned in the Bible.) Johnson was also devoted to the Church of England (on page 230 we find Voltaire referring to Johnson as “a superstitious dog”). But set him at a tavern table with a group of other loquacious gents, and the verbiage flew like shrapnel. (Johnson on page 505: “...there is nothing which has yet been contrived by man, by which so much happiness has been produced as by a good tavern or inn.”) One of their literary group, Colly Cibber, wrote in a play, “There is no arguing with Johnson; for when his pistol misses fire, he knocks you down with the butt end of it.”

Johnson’s often antique opinions can be startling, whether on the subject of women, marriage, politics (p. 716, on whether public officials should be appointed by seniority or voted for: “...there is no more reason to suppose that the choice of a rabble will be right, than that chance will be right”), the existence of witches and ghosts, or his belief that teachers should be free to beat their pupils. P. 344: “...a schoolmaster has a prescriptive right to beat; and that an action of assault and battery cannot be admitted against him, unless there is some great excess, some barbarity...In our schools in England, many boys have been maimed, yet I never heard of an action against a schoolmaster on that account.” Johnson’s defense of this is that it was done to him as a boy and he turned out all right.

The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations has about nine pages of quotes attributed to Samuel Johnson. Such collections are fine as shortcuts, but if you want the context of those remarks, as well as many, many others (along with a fascinating look at 18th century London life), Boswell’s biography is without peer as an entertaining history.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
Incomparable biography (or stalker's notes) of the great Tory grump Dr Samuel Johnson, packed with wit and wisdom. My favourite: Johnson speaks of one of Boswell's Scottish acquaintances who affects a savage, Rousseau-like disdain for civilised order: "if he does really think that there is no distinction between virtue and vice, why, Sir, when he leaves our houses let us count our spoons."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
If you live near or are visiting London be sure to stop at the 300 year old Dr Johnson House in London near Gunpowder square. It was Dr Johnson who famously said, "When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life'. Johnson was a committed Tory and a bit of a curmudgeon. Like all conservatives, he believed that words have definite meanings and must be used with care.

Dr. Samuel Johnson (1709 - 1784) wrote a celebrated dictionary of the English language. In it he defined "Lexicographer" meaning himself, as "A writer of dictionaries; a harmless drudge that busies himself in tracing the original, and detailing the signification of words," but he did more than any man, with the exception of Shakespeare, to shape the English language.

Dr. Johnson also told his biographer James Boswell, "There is nothing which has yet been contrived by man, by which so much happiness is produced as by a good tavern or inn."

Here is Johnson's definition the word "oats": "A grain, which in England is generally given to horses, but in Scotland supports the people."

Johnson's definition of "Politician": "1. One versed in the arts of government; one skilled in politicks. 2. A man of artifice; one of deep contrivance."

Compare his definitions of Tory and Whig...

"Tory" ("Conservative" in USA): "One who adheres to the ancient constitution of the state, and the apostolical hierarchy of the church of England, opposed to a Whig."

"Whig" ("Liberal" in USA): "The name of a faction."

Samuel Johnson had a cat named Hodge. Johnson loved his cat and oysters were as cheap in 18th century London as French fries are today; Hodge lived on a diet of oysters. There is a marvelous statue of Hodge and an oyster shell near Gunpowder square. Samuel Boswell wrote this about Johnson and his fondness for his cat Hodge...

"Nor would it be just, under this head, to omit the fondness which he showed for animals which he had taken under his protection. I never shall forget the indulgence with which he treated Hodge, his cat: for whom he himself used to go out and buy oysters, lest the servants having that trouble should take a dislike to the poor creature. I am, unluckily, one of those who have an antipathy to a cat, so that I am uneasy when in the room with one; and I own, I frequently suffered a good deal from the presence of this same Hodge. I recollect him one day scrambling up Dr. Johnson's breast, apparently with much satisfaction, while my friend smiling and half-whistling, rubbed down his back, and pulled him by the tail; and when I observed he was a fine cat, saying, 'Why yes, Sir, but I have had cats whom I liked better than this;' and then as if perceiving Hodge to be out of countenance, adding, 'but he is a very fine cat, a very fine cat indeed.'

This reminds me of the ludicrous account which he gave Mr. Langton, of the despicable state of a young Gentleman of good family. 'Sir, when I heard of him last, he was running about town shooting cats.' And then in a sort of kindly reverie, he bethought himself of his own favorite cat, and said, 'But Hodge shan't be shot; no, no, Hodge shall not be shot.'"

Christopher Kelly author, with Stuart Laycock of America Invades: How We've Invaded or been Militarily Involved with almost Every Country on Earth and Italy Invades
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2011
This is a fine abridgment of the ultimate biography. You can't go wrong with this one. Once you become a fan, you can move onto the unabridged. Think of this as like a greatest hits CD -- once you have it, you'll end up wanting to hear the original albums.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
This biography is a masterpiece in and of itself. It was the most thorough tracing of a man's life that I have ever read. It covers the years that Boswell knew him in the most detail. The exchanges with Boswell and Johnson are the high point. However, throughout most of the text Boswell intentionally antagonizes Dr. Johnson in order to gather his views on a variety of subjects. If you are a fan of the history of English, or a great biography then you will enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse