Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
51
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 29, 2007
This book is a visual masterpiece. Page after page of challenging picture puzzles that tease your brain. This book makes a super airline take-along. You can spend hours working the puzzles while needing no pencil, no batteries, or any other device. The graphics are colorful and engaging. One word of caution for the literary set...this is a graphics puzzle book. There are almost no words. Love it that way.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 30, 2007
I know that's trite, but it's true -- our whole family (ages 6 to 52) has enjoyed working on the puzzles in this book. A variety of difficulty levels, great photography, and G-rated pictures makes this book a winner!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2007
So often we are inundated with a wealth of information. Yet, our minds are seldom given the chance to exercise themselves in order to achieve greater clarity. The brain teasers provided in this book are welcome and provide a welcome respite from the triviality of the everyday world.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2007
I got this for my son, for his 10th birthday. He had other presents to open, so his 15 Y/O brother took it, and could not put it down.

Soon, Grandma was competeing with the 15 Y/O (all in fun), and then my 5 Y/O boy jumped on Grandma's lap and was playing too.

They timed themselves, trying to beat the time listed on each puzzle.

Once you start the book, honestly, you don't want to put it down until you have solved them all. The easy ones are really easy, but the more difficult ones can really make your head spin (in a good way). I am glad that they have another one. I will get that one, and will also send this to my neice.

Great Brain fun. Very cool to see instead of the kids playing video games.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2007
This is the second Life picture puzzle book I've bought, and they both are terrific. The pictures are engaging, and it's so much fun to work out the "picture puzzle" and find the differences. I wish there were more of these books available. I had hours of fund with this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 28, 2007
"Life: The Original Picture Puzzle" is the second book to come from the feature in the currently defunct Life Magazine. The book has over ninety puzzles in which readers look at two pictures of the same thing and try to find the differences between the two pictures. A few of the puzzles have six pictures of the same thing and solvers have to find the one puzzle out of the six that has been changed. There are also some new puzzles called "Cut-Ups" in which the editors took a picture, cut it into 4, 6, 9, 12, or 16 pieces and scrambled them up and solvers have to figure out how to unscramble the pieces.

For the most part, "Life: The Original Picture Puzzle" is a fun, challenging book. There are five puzzle levels: Novice, Master, Expert, Genius, and Classic (which features old pictures that once appeared in Life Magazine). The editors do a good job of sorting the puzzles into the appropriate difficulty level. Each puzzle has a suggested amount of time to solve it and a change in this book from the first is a keep score section where you can put a check mark after you've found a change. The answer section should be checked for a couple of reasons even if you find all the changes - for one thing many of the explanations of the changes are humorous. Also, ten of the puzzles have an extra bonus change and the answer section lets you know which puzzles have the additional change. However, in order to find that extra change, you need to go on Life's website to find the answer but I could not find it on the website.

While I enjoyed most of the puzzle book, I did not like the new "Cut-Up" puzzles. The puzzles with four pieces were easy enough, but the more pieces, the harder it was to solve the puzzle just by looking at it. I don't want to ruin the book by cutting up the pictures and copying the pictures isn't all that effective since the pictures are in color.

Outside of the "Cut-Up" puzzles, "Life: The Original Picture Puzzle" is well done.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2007
this book by Life and it's original version are great. I'm a great crossword puzzle fan but wanted something different and not suduko. these picture puzzle books really make you look, I've looked at the very few other books out there and none compare, I hope there keep on producing new editions
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
It was fun and challenging. The only problem is it was a used copy and some pages had pen marks.
Suggestion:
Please, when you by this kind of books, use a crystal clear plastic sheet on top of the page, and mark the answers on it with one of those white board markers that can be erased with a dry cloth. That way, you keep track of your scores, but when you finish you do not ruin the game for the next person that uses the book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2014
We have several of these books and use them until all pictures and done. My wife will do them and not mark the items but put here own list down. Then I fine them the same way and the grandchildren does the picture also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
This book is as much fun as the weekly [now no more] puzzle. I think it is a good stimulus for the older brain, and definitely a patience-maker for the youngest ones. My granddaughter and I had fun together with this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse