Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice assembly
Very sturdy assembly and full size hoop. So far its been a lot of fun. I only wish they provided a drain plug for the base. You can still drain by removing the two top filler caps and tipping it to the side though.
Published on May 11, 2007 by Tecate

versus
60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great hoop - rust an issue
First, let me start with the positives. This is a great product out of the box. The plastic base, when filled with water, holds the pole and backboard securely. Metal hardware is heavy-weight and powder-coated an attractive blue color. Two screws / bolts allow you to adjust the angle of the pole (easy) as well as the height of the backboard and rim (moderately...
Published on May 4, 2011 by G. Peterson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 62 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great hoop - rust an issue, May 4, 2011
By 
G. Peterson (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
First, let me start with the positives. This is a great product out of the box. The plastic base, when filled with water, holds the pole and backboard securely. Metal hardware is heavy-weight and powder-coated an attractive blue color. Two screws / bolts allow you to adjust the angle of the pole (easy) as well as the height of the backboard and rim (moderately difficult). The backboard is attractive and substantial and the rim and net are high-end. This is the best basketball system I have found for a pool in that it feels like you are shooting hoops on a real backboard and not some cheap toy. It is not EXACTLY the same as shooting on an in-ground system, in that the pole wiggles a little and the backboard gives a little, but it is close enough considering you are in a pool :)

The big downside for this product is rust. I have owned this for three years and it is starting to degrade - large flakes of rust are falling into the pool and it appears that this will be its last year. It is rusting at the bottom of the pole, where the angle brackets meet the pole - even the rim is rusting (and discoloring the net). I live in Southern California where it never rains, so the rust issue is surprising. For a heavy steel pipe to rust completely through in a few years is unusual - I have steel all around the outside of our house that does much better (steel fencing, steel gates, etc). I hope they either improve the metal they use, or figure out some other solution.

UPDATE: This is such a good product that I threw out my old one (it rusted) and bought a new one. Perhaps it is wishful thinking on my part, but after one year with the new product, there is only the tiniest sign of rust on any parts. At the end of the summer I will take the unit down, clean it, and seal any rusting areas with clear epoxy. Just be aware that this maintenance is part of owning this basketball system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice assembly, May 11, 2007
By 
Tecate (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Very sturdy assembly and full size hoop. So far its been a lot of fun. I only wish they provided a drain plug for the base. You can still drain by removing the two top filler caps and tipping it to the side though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Pool BB hoop, September 2, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
This is a great pool basketball hoop. Very heavy duty to support the big jams and it looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basketball goal, July 28, 2008
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
We bought this basketball goal for our pool and have been very happy with it. Our son uses it constantly and it is holding up great. It was what we were expecting and we would recommend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wood highy reccomend., May 13, 2007
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Works great. I would order it again. I will also be able to use it as a basketball goal for my kids during the pool off-season. It will take 2 people to put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
So far so good, decent install, needed wife to help with one part but the rest was easy. I would recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Hoop but shop for price, July 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Bought this hoop for my high school son. I wouldn't recommend it for younger kids with a built in pool unless they are phenomenal at treading water. It's great for teens and older

Installation will take 2 persons, possibly a third to attach the rim. The instructions are misleading. I contacted the manufacturer about the "middle" pole referenced multiple times in the instructions. They told me the instructions were wrong and that there wasn't a middle pole with this system.

Most importantly, shop around for price. I found it for $80 dollars less directly from the manufacturer. Amazon doesn't match price and I was too lazy to disassemble and return it. Today I see it has been reduced on Amazon by $40 bucks since I purchased it last month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars super solid; not exactly movable, June 17, 2013
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
It took me about an hour to put it together with about 2 minutes of help from my wife. There are a few mystery parts left over. It is solidly built and looks like it will outlast my kids' interest. When filled with water, the base is very heavy making very difficult to move. I guess that's good for stability but I had hoped to be able to routinely wheel it around so I could easily roll out my pool cover from that side of the pool.

The hoop came with a ball though it is not stated in the description. I don't know if that is routinely done by Lifetime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good Pool Goal, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
The goal is actually not that many separate parts.
Nuts/Bolts/Washers are separated in labeled bags for ease of use.
This does not come with a Basketball.
Easy to assemble but definitely takes 2 people.

Very happy with the quality of the goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Goal did not come with all of the parts needed to assemble the unit and it did not include a basketball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9481fe4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.