Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice assembly
Very sturdy assembly and full size hoop. So far its been a lot of fun. I only wish they provided a drain plug for the base. You can still drain by removing the two top filler caps and tipping it to the side though.
Published on May 11, 2007 by Tecate

versus
69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great hoop - rust an issue
First, let me start with the positives. This is a great product out of the box. The plastic base, when filled with water, holds the pole and backboard securely. Metal hardware is heavy-weight and powder-coated an attractive blue color. Two screws / bolts allow you to adjust the angle of the pole (easy) as well as the height of the backboard and rim (moderately...
Published on May 4, 2011 by G. Peterson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great hoop - rust an issue, May 4, 2011
By 
G. Peterson (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
First, let me start with the positives. This is a great product out of the box. The plastic base, when filled with water, holds the pole and backboard securely. Metal hardware is heavy-weight and powder-coated an attractive blue color. Two screws / bolts allow you to adjust the angle of the pole (easy) as well as the height of the backboard and rim (moderately difficult). The backboard is attractive and substantial and the rim and net are high-end. This is the best basketball system I have found for a pool in that it feels like you are shooting hoops on a real backboard and not some cheap toy. It is not EXACTLY the same as shooting on an in-ground system, in that the pole wiggles a little and the backboard gives a little, but it is close enough considering you are in a pool :)

The big downside for this product is rust. I have owned this for three years and it is starting to degrade - large flakes of rust are falling into the pool and it appears that this will be its last year. It is rusting at the bottom of the pole, where the angle brackets meet the pole - even the rim is rusting (and discoloring the net). I live in Southern California where it never rains, so the rust issue is surprising. For a heavy steel pipe to rust completely through in a few years is unusual - I have steel all around the outside of our house that does much better (steel fencing, steel gates, etc). I hope they either improve the metal they use, or figure out some other solution.

UPDATE: This is such a good product that I threw out my old one (it rusted) and bought a new one. Perhaps it is wishful thinking on my part, but after one year with the new product, there is only the tiniest sign of rust on any parts. At the end of the summer I will take the unit down, clean it, and seal any rusting areas with clear epoxy. Just be aware that this maintenance is part of owning this basketball system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice assembly, May 11, 2007
By 
Tecate (Phoenix, AZ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Very sturdy assembly and full size hoop. So far its been a lot of fun. I only wish they provided a drain plug for the base. You can still drain by removing the two top filler caps and tipping it to the side though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wood highy reccomend., May 13, 2007
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Works great. I would order it again. I will also be able to use it as a basketball goal for my kids during the pool off-season. It will take 2 people to put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basketball goal, July 28, 2008
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
We bought this basketball goal for our pool and have been very happy with it. Our son uses it constantly and it is holding up great. It was what we were expecting and we would recommend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Pool BB hoop, September 2, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
This is a great pool basketball hoop. Very heavy duty to support the big jams and it looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rusted through after two pool seasons and it became a hazard., June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I run a community pool - The Price was right for this for sure - very sturdy. But it should last more than two pool seasons... yes? I just had to take it to the dump because the rusted steel parts became so rusted it was a hazard to put by the community pool ledge any longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pool fun, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Bought this to replace an in ground basketball goal that had rusted. Looked at other systems but I liked the portability and sturdiness of this goal. It's higher above the pool than other goals we've had but it makes it more of a challenge. For the smaller kids, I bought a smaller ball. I'd recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kids love it. If it came with stainless steel nuts ..., July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Kids love it. If it came with stainless steel nuts and bolts I would have given it a 5 star rating. I will probably replace all the bolts with SS myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good all around product but rust is beggining to come, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
Overall this is a very good product. Rust is beginning to appear around the rim and some other spots on the hoop within a month of use. Other than that it seems fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Others decide to buy one, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 44 Inch Acrylic Fusion Backboard Poolside System (Sports)
We have only had the Life Time goal for a couple weeks so I can't really comment on its durability. It was easy for two people to assemble, it would be more difficult to do so by yourself.
The backboard and rim give good feed back when playing. Others who have played with it in our pool have decided to buy a Life Time for their pool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.