Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice assembly
Very sturdy assembly and full size hoop. So far its been a lot of fun. I only wish they provided a drain plug for the base. You can still drain by removing the two top filler caps and tipping it to the side though.
Published on May 11, 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great hoop - rust an issue
First, let me start with the positives. This is a great product out of the box. The plastic base, when filled with water, holds the pole and backboard securely. Metal hardware is heavy-weight and powder-coated an attractive blue color. Two screws / bolts allow you to adjust the angle of the pole (easy) as well as the height of the backboard and rim (moderately...
Published on May 4, 2011 by G. Peterson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 77 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great hoop - rust an issue, May 4, 2011
By 
G. Peterson (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
First, let me start with the positives. This is a great product out of the box. The plastic base, when filled with water, holds the pole and backboard securely. Metal hardware is heavy-weight and powder-coated an attractive blue color. Two screws / bolts allow you to adjust the angle of the pole (easy) as well as the height of the backboard and rim (moderately difficult). The backboard is attractive and substantial and the rim and net are high-end. This is the best basketball system I have found for a pool in that it feels like you are shooting hoops on a real backboard and not some cheap toy. It is not EXACTLY the same as shooting on an in-ground system, in that the pole wiggles a little and the backboard gives a little, but it is close enough considering you are in a pool :)

The big downside for this product is rust. I have owned this for three years and it is starting to degrade - large flakes of rust are falling into the pool and it appears that this will be its last year. It is rusting at the bottom of the pole, where the angle brackets meet the pole - even the rim is rusting (and discoloring the net). I live in Southern California where it never rains, so the rust issue is surprising. For a heavy steel pipe to rust completely through in a few years is unusual - I have steel all around the outside of our house that does much better (steel fencing, steel gates, etc). I hope they either improve the metal they use, or figure out some other solution.

UPDATE: This is such a good product that I threw out my old one (it rusted) and bought a new one. Perhaps it is wishful thinking on my part, but after one year with the new product, there is only the tiniest sign of rust on any parts. At the end of the summer I will take the unit down, clean it, and seal any rusting areas with clear epoxy. Just be aware that this maintenance is part of owning this basketball system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice assembly, May 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
Very sturdy assembly and full size hoop. So far its been a lot of fun. I only wish they provided a drain plug for the base. You can still drain by removing the two top filler caps and tipping it to the side though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wood highy reccomend., May 13, 2007
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
Works great. I would order it again. I will also be able to use it as a basketball goal for my kids during the pool off-season. It will take 2 people to put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basketball goal, July 28, 2008
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
We bought this basketball goal for our pool and have been very happy with it. Our son uses it constantly and it is holding up great. It was what we were expecting and we would recommend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant Pool BB hoop, September 2, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
This is a great pool basketball hoop. Very heavy duty to support the big jams and it looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good all around product but rust is beggining to come, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
Overall this is a very good product. Rust is beginning to appear around the rim and some other spots on the hoop within a month of use. Other than that it seems fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a FANTASTIC pool side basketball goal, September 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
This is a FANTASTIC pool side basketball goal. The fun rating for the family (including two 10-year-old boys and mom and dad) is a 10 out of 10. Well worth the money. Nice indention in base to store a basketball. Only negatives: it has indeed slightly rusted fairly quickly (around hoop ring and bolts) and it is a rather cumbersome process to put together. I would GLADLY pay $50-$100 more for this same goal with stainless steel components that do not rust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY!!!, December 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
I purchased the Lifetime 1306 Portable Basketball System in April of this year (2014). Do not waste your money on this item. It looks really nice at first, until it starts rusting inside the pole and on the rim bolts. The rust is leaving a terrible mess all over my patio pavers. I live in FL and have owned other products that have lasted much longer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After a few bad rainstorms, noticed rusting on a couple parts that ..., September 19, 2014
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
After reading reviews that it rusts quickly, I spent an extra $20 to put a rust proof primer and paint on the metal parts. After a few bad rainstorms, noticed rusting on a couple parts that didn't get completely covered. The rest is still 100% fine. If u buy, spend the extra money to protect it so it lasts longer. I love it as an addition to my pook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pool fun, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lifetime 1306 Pool Side Height-Adjustable Portable Basketball System with 44-Inch Clear Acrylic Backboard (Sports)
Bought this to replace an in ground basketball goal that had rusted. Looked at other systems but I liked the portability and sturdiness of this goal. It's higher above the pool than other goals we've had but it makes it more of a challenge. For the smaller kids, I bought a smaller ball. I'd recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.