Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Disco needs Kylie
This album is one of the best albums of the year, as far as i am concerned. It is a true return to form for the princess of pop.
Starting with the UK no 1 hit "Spinning around", followed by the no 2 hit "On a night like this", the album goes from strenght to strenght.
As far as i am concerned "Disco Down" has to be the best track...
Published on October 11, 2000 by Derek Burgess

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Kylie Minogue delivers a decent dance heavy album
This album has a lot of 70s disco undertones in the dance tracks, but Kylie still make it work with her great voice. This isn't my favorite album from her but it is still a decent dance track heavy album that should please any Kylie fan.
Published 4 months ago by Q. Blunt


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your Disco needs Kylie, October 11, 2000
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best albums of the year, as far as i am concerned. It is a true return to form for the princess of pop.
Starting with the UK no 1 hit "Spinning around", followed by the no 2 hit "On a night like this", the album goes from strenght to strenght.
As far as i am concerned "Disco Down" has to be the best track on the album and the next single. The campest record since the Pet Shop Boys "Go West", "Your Disco Needs You" does sound second rate compared to the Almighty remix on the single of "On a night like this", but it is still great.
The albums only ballad, "Bittersweet Goodbye", is just beautiful. The title track is great and must be down to be a future single. Also put on the album is the much talked about duet with Robbie Williams, another fine song.
Just for your information, there is a hidden track, "Password", at the very beginning of the album. When "Spinning around" comes on, you need to hold your finger on the rewind button of your cd player and rewind into the song (this must be the first time a hidden track is at the beginning of an album).
This really is a great album, a must for pop fans everywhere.
Derek XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the guiltiest of pleasures, May 28, 2002
By 
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
While Fever is the album that has finally broken Kylie in North America, this previous set is in fact a far more infectious, highly camp and totally satisfying FUN album. Light Years combines all of the best elements of 70s disco-pop wrapped up in state of the art production, lyrics that are disposable (without being insulting), irresistible beats and a completely winning sense of humour. Imagine the perfect soundtrack to a cocktail/disco/pool party and you have it. I still return to this album when getting ready for a night on the town - there's none better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop doesnt come much more fun than this!!!, February 2, 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
This is Kylie the way we love her - fun, camp and ready to party!
Without a doubt her most commercial and brilliant album.
Loaded wth great singles, Spinning around, On a Night Like This, Kids (with Robbie) and Please Stay, the rest of the album is actually stronger than the singles, but all the songs complenting each together so well. ALL but one of the tracks are upbeat pop tunes, with the exception of Bittersweet Goodbye, a sweet ballad which falls halfway through the cd.
Difficult to list a favourite as they are all so damn good, but if forced, Disco Down, Your Disco Needs You (a CRIME this wasn't an international single release!!!), I'm So High and the very Donna Summer-ish Light Years.
If you are unsure which kylie album to get - this one wins HANDS DOWN. Its pop / disco / dance at its best.
A truly brilliant pop album.
The extras - additional remixes, most very good. The new cover is in actuality a card slip-sleeve, with the original sliding into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm spinning around...., October 12, 2000
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
...dancing to this excellent new album by queen of discopop! 14 great songs and most of them reminds you of something from the 70's but can't really figure out which songs. Kylie is back doing what she best at, being glamorous, looking fabulous and doing the disco! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DISCOFYINGLY DELICIOUS!, March 22, 2001
By 
K. Henry (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
This CD is a total blast! With obvious hits like "Spinning Around," "On a Night Like This," "Your Disco Needs You," and "Please Stay," you'll be grinning from ear to ear and incessantly shakin' your booty. "Spinning Around" is destined to be a disco classic. "On a Night Like This" is Kylie at her finest...an awesome song with a hyponotic beat and K's beautiful, yearning vocals. "Your Disco Needs You" is a Pet Shop Boys meets the Village People anthem with a captivating Kylie commanding you to the dancefloor. Hilarious! On "Please Stay," with its sensual Latin beats, Ms. Minogue welcomes you to her own "La Isla Bonita." (There are some thumpin' re-mixes of these songs out there, as well, that you should check out.) There are several other gems packed on this release of unadulterated fun. "Kids," a duet with Robbie Williams, is pure pop pleasure. "Loveboat" is camp cuisine at its most scrumptious. This would have made the perfect theme song to that old TV show ("The Loveboat") from the late '70's to the mid '80's. ALL ABOARD! "Koochacoo" is very retro-cocktail-hourish...thirst quenching. Could she be more precious?! "I'm So High" has some Deborah Harry-sounding ah ah ah ah ahs at the beginning of this tune full of sweetness. The song, "Light Years," cross-breeds Donna Summer with Madonna as K transports you to an outer-space intergalactic trance. "So Now Goodbye" and "Disco Down" are a couple more delightful disco diddies. And then, there's "Butterfly." This tune will open up your wings and have you flying high in the club...or at least in your room. This is the most explosive track...here Kylie will set you free! Her combination of sexiness and innocence is a rarity. She's a talented disco divafying showgirl...babe-ilicious! Luscious and yummy...this CD is one tasty treat you don't wanna pass up. YOU'LL LIKE IT LIKE THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two cd set of Light Years plus bonus remix cd., July 11, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
I had ordered this cd because I was looking for the remix of "Butterfly" and a Vocal mix of "Spinning Around" which is on here. First off I actually bought "Light Years " for my brother earlier this year(from amazon.co.uk) and listen to it before I gave it to him. This cd is more disco in feel than her new "Fever" cd. You get the hits "Spinning Around","On A Night Like This","Plaese Stay" and "Your Disco Needs You" plus even better non hits like "So Now Goodbye","Under The Influence Of Love","Light Years","I'm So High" and the beautiful (and rare)ballad "Bittersweet Goodbye. "Kids" with Robbie Williams and "Butterfly" which was released on a small label in 2001 are here too. A great album of disco dancing fun by Kylie.
Disc 2 features remixes of tracks from the cd that are great too. "Spinning Around" comes in the vocal mix by 7th District and a dub by Sharp. "On A Night Like This" comes in two mixes :the Rob Searle dub mix and the Bini & Martini piano driven 6:35 mix. Missing is the superior Movtiv8 Mix but I have it. Then 3 mixes of "Please Stay"- A dub by Hatiras and a single and 12" mix by 7th District again. This is really good too. Then the 9 minute Sandstorm dub of "Butterfly".I just bought an American cd single of "Butterfly" from another on line place that features the vocal Sandstorm mix as well as mixes by Illicit and E-Smoove that are even better. And lastly you get the Casino radio mix of "Your Disco Needs You". A really good price for both the full cd and bonus remixes. The cd is from Holland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, June 21, 2002
By 
"jetboy77" (Far Hills, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
Granted, this CD may be a little difficult to find, but but's well worth the trouble ... As a fan of mostly hard rock / punk, it takes an especially good dance / disco CD to excite me ... And Kylie Minogue's "LIGHT YEARS" is that good ... While not TOTALLY retro sounding, LIGHT YEARS does have the feel of the great disco era of the 1970s : a song like "So Now Goodbye" could sit proudly next to many of the great disco songs, and would have been great at Studio 54 circa 1977 .... And "Disco Down" is right there between "Dancing Queen" and "Love To Love You Baby" on my favorites list ... "Disco Down" even has lyrical references to the ABBA classic and "Le Freak" ... But that's not to say LIGHT YEARS is in a time-warp ... The songs and performance on LIGHT YEARS is timeless, filled with great songwriting and wonderful production ... Not to mention one great singer :) ... I was drawn to this CD because ( despite my love for rock and roll ) I absolutely love ABBA and 70s disco in general, and I think Kylie has created an album that sounds fresh and timeless, while continuing to bring out a feeling of an era that still has yet to be equalled ... In my opinion, a great song is a great song, regardless of the style: and LIGHT YEARS has alot of great songs !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goosebumps!, November 13, 2000
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
This is definitely my album of the year so far. Kylie fans will love it as it is a total return to her roots for the Aussie Diva after the breathtaking (but sadly poorly received) experimentation of Impossible Princess. Don't by this CD if you are expecting groundbreaking, cutting edge sounds or lyrics...that's not what Light Years is about. Buy it if you want a CD that you can put on at any time of the day - morning to get you going before heading off to work...Friday night getting ready to go out. This is guilty music. You'll find yourself singing along out of sheer enjoymnet. Personal favourites are 'On a Night Like This', 'Under the Influence of Love' and 'I'm So High'.
US readers should note that this CD has already produced 2 Australian #1 singles and 3 UK top 2 singles. A US release is reportedly slated for September 2001 - by which time the feel of Light Years will have passed....RECORD COMPANIES SHOULD TAKE NOTE: THE MUSIC BUYING PUBLIC NOW HAS GLOBAL ACCESS TO CD'S UPON RELEASE...DELAYS SUCH AS THIS WILL ONLY HURT SALES IN THE US.
Enough of my ranting! Buy it. Do it now. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disco Kylie, November 16, 2000
By 
Chris S. "cscotts" (atlanta, ga United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
After a brief flirtation with alternative pop/dance with 1997's interesting but uneven Impossible Princess, Kylie Minogue resurfaces on familiar territory with a new, full-on dance album. Unlike alot of stars who seem to be going the Europop way of Cher's comeback Believe, Minogue seems to be going more for a retro-disco feel, and does so for the most part to good effect. While not all the tracks have the immediate hooks of Spinning Around or On a Night Like This, alot of the tracks, upon repeated listenings, will definately work their way into your brain. Definately recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kylie Rocks!, July 29, 2002
This review is from: Light Years (Audio CD)
I bought this to add to my Kylie Collection. I started with her 'Fever' CD and knew I wanted more. Unfortunately her stuff is hard to get. This Album was definately worth buying. This is one of those CD's where you can listen to the entire thing and like every song. This is now my favorite Kylie Album. The songs are so upbeat and catchy. The remixes are an added bonus as well. This is one cd all Kylie fans must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Light Years
Light Years by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.