Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 18, 2010
I found this book extremely helpful. I have been to Maine several times and was looking for a guide to the coastal areas. This book hit the spot, with Very descriptive narratives and precise directions. The photography is beautiful and helped me decide what venues to visit.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love lighthouses and lucky enough to live in New England. We take a number of trips up and down the New England coast on "lighthouse trips" with the goal to see every lighthouse on the East Coast. This book has been very helpful in our trips. It has good direction, interesting narrative, and beautiful photography. It made it easy to navigate just to the right spot to view the lighthouse from the best vantage point.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
JUST gave this to someone for a Christmas gift and it was well-received. A good guide to where the lighthouses are for photos or just sightseeing. The colors are great and the photography is excellent. These pictures could guide a photographer to where the best angles are for a great picture of each lighthouse. Book is about 4 X 7, so it would be easy to pack for a trip. Price very reasonable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2013
Information and pictures were what I was looking for. Excellent colors in the pictures. Will share this with visiting friends and relatives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2015
If you love Maine lighthouses this is the book for you! The details in it make it simple to visit them. A must for the lighthouse lover!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2014
awesome book and great pictures!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
My husband loves this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
Wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2015
Love it thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2012
Though this book offers many fine photographs and nicely written histories, it is incredibly misleading in its coverage. With a title like "Lighthouses of New York" one would think they were picking up a book that includes a thorough inventory of the state's beacons, or at least a fair representation of the state as a whole. An excerpt from the back cover description states that this book is "your essential guide to maritime beacons in the Empire State." Hogwash.
In truth, there are more than 60 lighthouses in New York; this book only covers 33 of them (one of which was demolished in 1948). So maybe the reader could accept that this is just a sampling, except for the fact that they have entirely omitted the Lake Champlain Region. On the New York shore of the lake are 8 very historic and relevant lighthouses, none of which are even acknowledged in this book. A large portion of the St. Lawrence Seaway is ignored as well, with another 7 lighthouses being left out. Both Lake Champlain and the St. Lawrence have long been major transportation routes, moving goods and passengers along the state's northern borders.

I don't know whether these omissions were an intentional slight by the authors or if they are just ignorant to the fact that New York State continues north of the Thruway. In any case, the book was a disappointment. If you are seeking an accurate representation of the state, and information on the real breadth of New York's historical navigational markers, then I would not recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.