Truck Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Bob Dylan Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Grocery The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Recreation SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 30, 2005
On February 7, 2003 Marin Scorsese put together a blues concert at Radio City Music Hall.
This is probably the greatest group of blues player ever assembled in one concert.
There are many performers, so I will hit the highlights.
Mavis Staple does a version of "See that my grave is kept clean.
This is one of the better versions of the song I have heard.
Next is probably the "Gem" of the CD. David "Honeyboy" Edwards does a very strong acoustic version of his song "Gamblin Man.
It is a masterful performance, it is slide guitar at its best. Honeyboy is a classic Mississippi Delta blues player, and this performance is among the finest I have ever heard.
Keb Mo does a version of Love in Vain which is similar to the version the Rolling Stones did on Let it Bleed. This is another strong performance.
Another song on this CD that warrants a listen is the version of "Sittin on top of the World". James "Blood" Ulmer along with Allison Krauss on violin, puts in a solid performance.
I listen to this one over and over.
Buddy Guy does an acoustic performance of "I cant be Satisfied" This I have to say is the first time I have heard Buddy play an acoustic.
John Fogerty the former CCR lead man does a version of "Midnight Special" by Huddy Ledbetter. This is almost an exact copy of his version with CCR. His vocals are very strong.
Bonnie Raitt does a version of "Comin Home" the Elmore James song. This is Bonnie Raitt at her best playing her blues slide electric guitar. This is another song you will want to hear.
Buddy Guy does a version of "The First time I met the blues".
This is the Buddy Guy we have all come to love. Buddy is at his best. Buddy Guy in my mind is one of the finest electric blues players ever and this will show you why.
Shemekia Copeland and Robert Cray do a version of "I pity the fool" Robert Cray plays a nice solo on this one.
BB King does a version of "Sweet Sixteen". This is classic BB King at his best. As I said I hit the highlights. You definately need to give this one a listen, you wont be disappointed I promise
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2005
(So you know the source, I've been listening to the blues and blues-rock for decades, I'm a budding guitarist, and have been influenced by my brother who's played rock and blues for three decades.)

The only "flaw" in this CD set is that it doesn't include the songs found as bonus tracks on the DVD (there you will find an electric blues piece by Buddy Guy, another one by Steve Tyler and Joe Perry, and a piece by 21st Century Blues - all three of which are scorchers and well worth having). Shame on the producers for not including those gems on this set. That said, the rest of it is a combination of a lesson in the blues punctuated with some amazing pieces. However, to get the full impact you might have to view the DVD. The Billie Holiday piece "Strange Fruit" is counterpointed by stills and videos of blacks hanged and left to rot in the south; The Buddy Guy rendition of his teacher's "I Can't Be Satisfied" (Muddy Waters) has lead-in still, movie and audio of children singing the original song that preceded it (as well as the well-worn tale of Guy's first attempts to make a guitar); there is footage of Guy talking about being invited to play with Muddy Waters, and of meeting and playing with Hendrix; the piece by 21st Century Blues is remarkable; Tyler and Perry burn the place down with their two performances. Gamblin' Man by Edwards is great, as is Turn on Your Love Light by Solomon Burke. Burke's recounting of having been hired to play for a KKK rally is chilling. Again, some these references are to the DVD and its bonus material. The CD would make it much easier to manage the songs.

If you're looking for recycled blues with hex-fuzz renditions of old mountain blues or Muddy Waters tunes, without the soul, feel or phrasing, then borrow the CD or rent the DVD before you buy. But, if you like the blues at their roots, I'm betting this compilation will have a well-worn place on your CD/DVD shelf.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2015
This is a fabulous collection of blues music - one of the best out there. I'm surprised I had never heard of it. I bought the soundtrack and the DVD of the show. The CD collection does not include all the numbers you see on the DVD so buy both. Natalie Cole is outstanding in the two numbers she does. Buddy Guy sings and/or plays in three numbers so we hear the best of the best. A couple of the Aerosmith guys do a number that is really rockin' in a blues sort of way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
This is a once-in-a-lifettime concert: great and diverse performances, new arrangements, knockout big band. I bought both the DVD and the soundtrack CD. Artists that you can't see any more: Solomon Burke, Ruth Brown, Clarence Gatemouth Brown, David "Honeyboy" Edwards, Hubert Sumlin. Must see/hear performances: Mavis Staples (See that my Grave is Kept Clean), James Blood Ulmer (Sitting on Top of the World), Macy Gray (Hound Dog), David Johansen & Hubert Sumlin (Killing Floor), Angelique Kidjo & Buddy Guy (Voodoo Child). A+ for every aspect of this production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
Anyone who is interested in this download should also, or first, consider getting the DVD. It is a fantastic musical anthology in live performances by gifted musicians and singers which tells the history of music in America. More than that, it gives insight into the plight of Black Americans and the unbelievable fortitude of the human spirit to overcome centuries of oppression. Beautiful pictoral scenes add to the story as the performers demonstrate just how very important music is to stave up human resolve. Yet, it's content is not heavy, but instead is a well-woven balance of truth, instruction and celebration. It sticks with you. The performers are national treasures like Solomon Burke, Buddy Guy, BB King and yes, Steven Tyler. Try to watch it without crying, laughing and dancing. Then buy the soundtrack because the music is the story, afterall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2005
I beg to differ with you M. Towne. Martin Scorsese is a brilliant film maker; does that presclude him from being being just as brilliant producing music? And who else, could or would, bring two hours of the blues with some of the best artists in the business to both the screen and on CD. Music and definitely not the blues are your forte. The music is excellent and only someone with his ability could put a show like this on at Radio City Music Hall. Reality check...there's a lot of great music and diversity here.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2004
if you wanna know about the history of the blues, get this CD. i just saw the film and its amazing. so many great performances of blues classics done by today's hottest artists. plus all the blues greats that are still kickin and jammin are on this too... it will make you wanna get up and dance, shout and sing the blues! hallelujah!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2006
This is an outstanding CD. The music is great. It has the artist talking about the songs unlike other CD's that cut the talking out.

The songs are great and I look forward to the DVD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
Actually, it was for my husband, it was'nt quite what he was expecting, ( not sure what he was expecting) but he enjoyed listening to it. Have seen some other CD's that are available, I'm sure my husband would love some of those, he LOVES blues music including Buddy Guy, & Eric Clapton
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2013
Great album. Second disc is better than the first depending on what you like. No regrets and I would recommend any blues lover to buy this album. It is a "live " album if you like the background noises.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.