Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whistle Clean Thundermugs
Perfect 70's hard rock album. I always thought UFO was one of the most underrated bands of that era. I know Schenker gets most of the glory (deservedly so, he is an evocative/flashy/brilliant guitarist)but to me the real hero of this band has always been Phil Mogg. His singing and songwriting really jells on this cd.

I was lucky enough to catch them with...
Published on July 7, 2005 by lonesomedave

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much filler - but some truly great songs.
I had this record as a little kid. I forgot about this band until I saw 'Detroit Rock City' and heard a snippet "Lights Out", which is probably one of the best songs ever. I dug up the record. I reminded myself of "Too Hot To Handle" and "Love to Love", which are also great songs. I had liked "Alone Again Or" at the time, but...
Published on July 6, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whistle Clean Thundermugs, July 7, 2005
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
Perfect 70's hard rock album. I always thought UFO was one of the most underrated bands of that era. I know Schenker gets most of the glory (deservedly so, he is an evocative/flashy/brilliant guitarist)but to me the real hero of this band has always been Phil Mogg. His singing and songwriting really jells on this cd.

I was lucky enough to catch them with this lineup on tour in the US that year and they were very high energy and blew the headliner off the stage. They get lumped in as a metal band...but I never thought
of them in that genre....there was just too much intelligence and taste coming out of this band on stage and in the studio. And this album was where it all came together.

Most UFO albums have at least one stellar track on it (sometimes many more) but from start to finish you couldn't ask for a better hard rock record. Too hot to handle, this album is it.

Long Live Phil Mogg!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going out in a blaze of glory, October 29, 2004
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
According to the liner notes, UFO was in its death throes as a band when they recorded "Lights Out" in 1977, and that all the angst the band felt contributed to the unusual power of this CD. I'm not sure I buy that reasoning, but there is no question this band had power, and that this CD was their masterpiece. With German guitar master Michael Schenker at full stride and under the guidance of legendary producer Ron Nevison, this is a must-buy for any fan of '70s British heavy metal. It starts off with "Too Hot to Handle", a minor radio hit and a pure exercise in guitar power and ends with the beautiful "Love to Love" (Misty Green and Blue), another minor radio hit ("minor" hits were all this band could muster up, but that's not necessarily a bad thing) and featuring a string section in addition to the guitars. Other good tracks are the title track, "Getting Ready" and the ballad "Try Me" (yes, every album had to have a ballad in those days). Personal differences and, supposedly, extreme hedonism, tore this band apart after "Lights Out" but Schenker has reappeared with his own band (saw them in concert last year, and they looked good) and the music plays on. If you like Deep Purple, you should like UFO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UFO's Crowning Achievement., August 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
Lights Out is clearly UFO's crowning achievement. Complete with interwoven strings, each song is a meticulously arranged classic. The CD begins with Michael Schenker's fingers dancing up and down the fret board turning the relatively simple, straight-forward "Too Hot To Handle" into a rock anthem. Next, it's the Phil Moog composition "Just Another Suicide", complete with piano coda courtesy of, then recent addition, Paul Raymond. Then it's on to the ballad "Try Me." Arguably Schenker's finest solo. Rich and textured, moving from silky smooth to grinding distortion.
After "Try Me" lulls you into another state of consciousness, the driving rock of "Lights Out" runs you over like roadkill. "Gettin' Ready" puts you back on your feet and dusts you off. Though not a UFO original and poorly recorded, "Along Again Or" is one of their greatest efforts. Stings and horns are blended into this bittersweet classic, exemplifying the opulence and diversity of the music on this CD. Years later, a Fine Young Cannibals remake of this tune broke my heart; proving that even the greatest song can be butchered in the hands of pop hacks.
Shifting back into overdrive, "Electric Phase" gives Schenker a chance to showcase his talent on the slide, "With a rush and a strummin'". The lavish, epic "Love To Love" is a perfect crescendo (Complete with Chinese Gong) to complete this collage of songs. The arrangement, which switches tempo, blends acoustic and electric melodies with stings and ends with a searing Schenker solo, is a masterpiece. I even think the theme from the first "Halloween" movie owes a tip of the hat to this song.
This CD is a must. I first bought the LP when it first came out in 1977. I loved it then and it still holds up as a rock 'n roll icon today. It is truly an art milestone, mixing hard rock with orchestra arrangements. Though the recording is weak in spots (Particularly backing vocals on "Gettin' Ready" and acoustic guitar on Alone Again Or"), the strength of the songs and arrangements can't be denied. If you don't have this CD, do yourself a favor and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Lights Out' w/ 'extra live tracks', August 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
I purchased this because it has been remasterd as well as 4 added 'live' tracks. This CD is worth the price just for the live version of the song 'Lights Out'!! It is the exact same performance of the video clip that`s on the UFO DVD 'Too Hot to Handle'--that live video clip gives you an visual and audio appreciation of how good UFO and Michael Schenker were live back in the late 70`s and it is a GREAT performance!! And the exact same audio clip that`s included on this CD is audibly even better--the overpowered Marshall amp that Michael Schenker is using will 'explode' thru your speakers and you will hear the subtle use of his 'wah wah' pedal during his first solo [which he absloutely 'rips'!!] as well as the following 'chorus' etc!! And most likely, once you hear it, you will use the 'repeat' function on your CD player!

So if you are a fan of UFO and a fan of Micheal Schenker then buy this CD as there are some great 'studio songs' on it that demonstrate the creativity and different styles of this talented band along with the addition of the 4 'live' tracks that gives you some great 'live' UFO!! And as I already wrote, the 'live' version of 'Lights Out' is 'blistering' esp. the 2 guitar solos by Schenker!

BTW 'You Tube' has the video clip of this live 'Lights Out' performance so check it out if you haven`t yet seen it as I feel it is Michael Schenker and UFO at their very best! Also it is part of the UFO DVD 'Too Hot to Handle' which is also a 'must own' to any UFO fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LIGHTS OUT IN TOKYO :LIVE, December 14, 2006
By 
FLYING V "THE AXEMAN" (MARTIAN LANDSCAPE,USA.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lights Out in Tokyo (Audio CD)
This is going to be a short but helpfull info. review of this CD:
First let me start by letting you know Schenker is not playing in any of these songs,This is a concert recorded June 20/1992 I don't understand why it has the cover from the original album,I bought this CD some years ago and it has a different cover,now Laurence Archer does a better job playing Love to Love,Lights Out and the rest of the Schenker songs than Paul Chapman did,Archer played these versions pretty close to the versions of Strangers in the night,they sounded great, this is the line up:
Phil Moog(vocals)
Pete Way(Bass)
Laurence Archer(Guitar)(Dokken/Whitesnake)
Clive Edwards(Drums)
Jem Davis(Keyboards)
I should also mention there's another recording out of this concert I guess is something new that came out it's call( DVD-AUDIO ENHANCE)and I like a fool ordered right away without really reading about it,thinking I was getting the full concert on DVD, this is what you'll get the soundtrack and the lyrics on the screen and the ufo story which any UFO/MSG fan pretty much knows by now,so I was dissapointed regarding that deal,well, I hope this info. helps anyone in someway or another!
NOTE:DON'T BE FOOLED BY THIS CD FRONT COVER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High Water Mark, May 7, 2006
By 
John Skurat (Lakehurst, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
This is all record is UFO at their peak. UFO was a band that sadly got swept aside in the '80's, when peers like Scorpions and Judas Priest were getting their kudos for influencing the the NWOBHM. Look around though, and you can hear UFO in both Maiden and Leppard. Meanwhile, Phil Mogg had only one rival as a lyricist working in the hard work milieu - Phil Lynott of Thin Lizzy, (whose shortfall on the ladder of success is a injustice even greater than that of UFO.) Mogg had a much more mature approach to his writing - examine his take of the burgeoning punk scene and its excesses in the East End of London on "Lights Out", or the mental approach of "Gettin' Ready". These were no dragons and kings flights of fancy, a la Ronnie James Dio. There was gritty realistic look at everyday life in Mogg's lyrics. Meanwhile, Michael Schenker was simply the best guiatrist on the hard rock scene pre-VH. Lights Out is a great starter album for anyone looking to dip their toes in the UFO pool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T PANIC! IT'S THE SAME REMASTER!, February 2, 2006
By 
BOB (LOS ANGELES, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
So, you bought the 2000 EMI remaster & now you think you have to do it all over again?

Relax.

This is the same master used for the 2000 version. So, unless you're just dying to have the LP mini-sleeve for five times the price, don't knock yourself out.

WHAT IS A JAPAN "MINI-LP-SLEEVE" CD?

Have you ever lamented the loss of one of the 20th Century's great art forms, the 12" vinyl LP jacket? Then "mini-LP-sleeve" CD's may be for you.

Mini-sleeve CDs are manufactured in Japan under license. The disc is packaged inside a 135MM X 135MM cardboard precision-miniature replica of the original classic vinyl-LP album. Also, anything contained in the original LP, such as gatefolds, booklets, lyric sheets, posters, printed LP sleeves, stickers, embosses, special LP cover paper/inks/textures and/or die cuts, are precisely replicated and included. An English-language lyric sheet is always included, even if the original LP did not have printed lyrics.

Then, there's the sonic quality: Often (but not always), mini-sleeves have dedicated remastering (20-Bit, 24-Bit, DSD, K2/K2HD, and/or HDCD), and can often (but not always) be superior to the audio on the same title anywhere else in the world. There also may be bonus tracks unavailable elsewhere.

Each Japan mini-sleeve has an "obi" ("oh-bee"), a removable Japan-language promotional strip. The obi lists the Japan street date of that particular release, the catalog number, the mastering info, and often the original album's release date. Bonus tracks are only listed on the obi, maintaining the integrity of the original LP artwork. The obi's are collectable, and should not be discarded.

All mini-sleeve releases are limited edition, but re-pressings/re-issues are becoming more common (again, not always). The enthusiasm of mini-sleeve collecting must be tempered, however, with avoiding fake mini-sleeves manufactured in Russia and distributed throughout the world, primarily on eBay. They are inferior in quality, worthless in collectable value, a total waste of money, and should be avoided at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gem For Any Collection, December 6, 2005
By 
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
UFO continues to be one of the best bands of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal from the late 70's early 80's. Everything they have ever put out deserves a listen. But Lights Out is the album that started it all. Song for song one of their strongest albums. This has a song for everybody, from the rip roaring guitars of Too Hot to Handle to the tear jerker ballad Try Me to the power ballad Love to Love. And the title track Lights Out is their signature song. Every collection should include this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel amongst the finest rock, June 20, 2005
By 
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
Without a doubt, Lights Out is one of the best rock albums to emerge from the fabulous '70s. Every song here is a "10+". No other band managed the beautiful use of background strings on rock songs like these legends did back in 1977. The formula was repeated in 1978 with Obsession, and then again in 1981 with the highly underrated The Wild, The Willing and The Innocent.

The fabulous UFO chemistry was at its best when they recorded this one. No need for commercial airwave success to recognize how awesome this band sounded. Arguably, this is one of the top 3 hard rock albums stemming out from real rock's most prolific era.

The cherry on the cake: The remastered sound of this edition is excellent (Note: other low quality remastered versions such as the double CDs issued by BMG are to be avoided).

This is an absolute MUST HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start Your UFO Collection With "Lights Out", June 18, 2004
This review is from: Lights Out (Audio CD)
Easy choice to make if you are thinking about buying one UFO album. In my opinion, "Lights Out" (1977) was the band at their peak. Sure, "Phenomenon", "Force It" and "No Heavy Petting" were all great albums with some awesome (and now classic) songs. "Force It and "Obsession" each had stellar moments and either one could be UFO's 2nd best effort (tho I choose "Force It" as my 2nd favorite). "Strangers In The Night" is their best "live" release - and one of my favorite live rock albums of all time. But, "Lights Out" was head and shoulders above the rest featuring outstanding song writing, great vocals by singer Phil Mogg, and some incredible guitar work by Michael Schenker (the rest of UFO was in fine shape too). "Lights Out" features the blistering title track (my favorite UFO tune), "Too Hot To Handle", the near 7 minute "Love To Love", and a hidden gem "Just Another Suicide". Only bad thing about this album is that it's only 8 songs long - and too short of a listen. All UFO is good old fashioned rock & roll... but if you're looking for one to buy, get this one. A true classic from an underrated legendary rock band. 2nd best is "Force It" (1975)... look for all these UFO's classics soon to be remastered and re-released in 2006.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Lights Out
Lights Out by UFO (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.