Customer Reviews


165 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taylor Who?
This is country music. It's the equivalent of sipping on fine bourbon. Vince Gill is all over this record. This album should win the Grammy for Best Country Album.
Published 16 months ago by M. Brooks

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS LITTLE ANNIE
Good cd...had several good songs and a few not so good. But, her voice is the reason I bought the cd...love her in Pistol Annies and as a solo artists. Just needs more material in my opinion.
Published 9 months ago by Gail Rhodes


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taylor Who?, March 6, 2013
By 
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Music)
This is country music. It's the equivalent of sipping on fine bourbon. Vince Gill is all over this record. This album should win the Grammy for Best Country Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Traditional country, full of wit, charm, hope, despair, and booze., March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Music)
There's something undeniably charming about Ashley Monroe's LIKE A ROSE. And that's an odd thing to say, because with songs like "Weed Instead of Roses" ("Let's put up the teddy bears and pull out the whips and chains"), there's a noticeable lack of charm in the album's content. In fact, the title track is the only truly optimistic tune here, and chugs along at an appropriately addictive pace.

Perhaps the charm comes from hearing some real country music for once--fiddle, steel, and lyrics that cut to the core. On "The Morning After," she bares her soul: "This world can cut a heart so deeply/And we both gave 'til we gave up." "Monroe Suede" is a jaunty "bad girl" ballad; "Two Weeks Late" is a fun, uptempo anti-small town anthem (in the same vein as Kacey Musgraves's "Mary Go 'Round"; and "She's Driving Me Out of Your Mind" is a classic tear-in-your-beer ballad.

The only real misstep here is the closer, "You Ain't Dolly (And You Ain't Porter)," a duet with Blake Shelton. Why Monroe didn't sing with her producer/cowriter Vince Gill is a bit of a mystery (and no, referencing Shelton's gig on "The Voice" isn't a good enough justification for his presence); Shelton is a little too mainstream for this album, and the tune feels almost like an afterthought to the album (it's a good song, but out of place here). Still, for most of its length, LIKE A ROSE is like a postcard from the past; traditional country themes set to traditional country melodies. But there's still a modern backbone, with Monroe unafraid to break down cliches and sneak a peak at the dirt under the carpet. LIKE A ROSE probably won't spawn any hits (she's getting that through her membership in Pistol Annies, at least), but for anyone who likes their country music real and gritty, this album is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been waiting such a long time...., March 5, 2013
By 
J. Barclay "Photoguy" (Chalfont, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Music)
And I'm thrilled that Ashley has finally released a new album. It is as expected, excellent. The songs are well crafted and her voice, well, amazing. I'm a big fan and have been waiting a long time for this release. My only disappointment is the length of the set. 9 songs after such a long wait seems odd to me. I hope this is just the beginning of many great records from Ashley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songwriter, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
Saw her on Leno. She played TWO chords. Guess they handed her a guitar to combat stage fright. Her talent lies in
her songwriting. Give it a listen. Sounds like a young Dolly Parton. GREAT music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time, March 9, 2014
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Music)
About time some one is keeping it pure country with a twang. Do not let Nashville change you Ashley.
Keep it country. I am 61 years old and I remember when the music ran the business out of Nashville, now the business runs the music. Stick to your roots it sounds like you grew up around traditional country music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Country Album, March 10, 2013
By 
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
I've followed Ashley Monroe's career ever since Itunes featured Satisfied as the free single of the week. I recognized the talent then, but it pales to what she has shown on this album. Those familiar with her previous Satisfied album, will notice the re-recorded track Used. Normally I would criticise a re-hash of previously recorded material, but the maturity and production make what had been a good song, a great song and a highlight of the album. The heart breaking ballads are Monroes strength, but there is fun on this album too. Weed Instead of Roses is sure to bring a smile to your face and You Ain't Dolly (And you Ain't Porter) featuring Blake Shelton is as light hearted as it gets. At this price point, for any country music fan, this album is a no brainer, but once you give it a listen, I think you'll agree it's worth twice that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the price, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Music)
With all the junk out there they call country this says they need to take a listen to this gem. The music and words all say country and all the steel guitars and her voice says tradition. Bought myself one and plan on some gifts this is that good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a pure country voice!, March 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Music)
I really like this album because I love the "real" country music. Like Patsy Cline.
I heard about this album on NPR and the samples made me want to get it.
I love "You Got Me" "The Morning After" and "Driving Me Out Of Your Mind"
If you like country music by a girl with a beautiful voice, then get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute classic country sound, March 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (MP3 Music)
I was highly anticipating this album when I heard the first single and title track: Like A Rose. After hearing all of it, she's got a real classic twangy country sound to it and I LOVE it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, April 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Like A Rose (Audio CD)
I liked all of the songs. There were a good range of topics. I love her voice. If you are a fan of Emmy Lou Harris or Linda Ronstadt you will too. Nice variety of singing partners too. But there are only 3 songs that I can remember off the top of my head so I gave it a 4 not a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Like A Rose
Like A Rose by Ashley Monroe (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.