...Like Clockwork

June 4, 2013 | Format: MP3

Song Title

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: June 3, 2013
  • Label: Matador
  • Copyright: 2013 Matador Records Limited
  • Total Length: 45:59
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B00CY1JUW2
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (438 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,807 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

If your a fan of the band get this album.
I can listen to this whole album, I think all the songs are great.
Overall The new Qotsa Sounds great and the music feels good.
Dawn R Hicks

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

66 of 74 people found the following review helpful By T. A. Daniel TOP 1000 REVIEWER on June 4, 2013
Format: MP3 Music
...Like Clockwork isn't as immediate as Songs for the Deaf or Rated R, but its real value comes from repeated listens. It's surprising that this album has had such a complicated history (line-up changes, guest spots, delayed production, etc...) because it is easily the most cohesive record created by Queens of the Stone Age since Rated R. While I enjoyed Era Vulgaris quite a bit, some songs didn't quite stand up to the rest of the album while others rank among the band's best. Now, after what feels like an eternity's wait, ...Like Clockwork is here.

The band's sound is firmly intact despite a few personnel changes -- Queens of the Stone Age brings their dark, slippery sound to the table once again. The guitar riffs are lumbering giants -- the drums are near-mechanical in their bombardment -- and the music strattles the line with both heavy melodies and heavy rhythms. New to ...Like Clockwork is a sense of slickness: songs like "If I Had a Tail" groove nicely, but never feel soulless. The only real complaint that I have with the record is its mastering. Tonally, the album feels a lot like the Them Crooked Vultures debut -- loud guitars but the bass can be buried in the mix.

So where does it rank among Queens of the Stone Age's past records? I'd say that it's better than Lullabies to Paralyze and Era Vulgaris (both great in their own right) but not quite as good as Rated R or Songs for the Deaf. Unfortunately, everything Josh Homme and company creates will be compared to Songs for the Deaf, so I hate to make the comparison myself. I don't think that ...Like Clockwork has songs that blow up the radio like "No One Knows" or "Go With the Flow", but that's all right -- the album is incredibly enjoyable and easily worth any music lover's time and money.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
65 of 73 people found the following review helpful By Cameron H. on June 4, 2013
Format: MP3 Music
The sixth studio album from Queens of the Stone Age is a rock album that is definitely a defining moment for all participating members. It is the most revealing, most focused album for the veteran rockers and it is definitely their most ambitious effort yet.

Keep Your Eyes Peeled - A perfect opener that puts everything out on the table atmospherically for the album. Filled with their trademark falsettos (also an appearance by Jake Shears from Scissor Sisters) and awkward guitar riffs, a very raw and heavy track that just takes you for a ride from start to finish. Intense harmonies and pauses make this a dynamical treat. It sets the precedent for the whole album. 10/10

I Sat By The Ocean - Goes right into a nice groove with an elegant lead before getting straight to the vocal. Lyrics match perfectly with the overall feel of the music. More polished than what you would hear on their previous works but necessary in this instance. This is classic Queens right here and will please any longtime fan such as myself. My only criticism is that the chorus could have been more dynamic but nonetheless a good track. 8/10

The Vampyre Of Time And Memory - A slower track that rides on the piano and leans on smooth breathy vocals. The build up to the harmonies is beautifully written and is definitely emotionally heavier than what you would ever expect from these guys. 9/10

If I had A Tail - The albums pop song but still containing the dark undertones from before. The keyboard effects and the guitar being in sync with each other just adds this unique feeling that makes this a standout track. Mark Lannegan makes a subtle appearance which is always a pleasure on a Queens track. 8/10

My God Is The Sun - A defining track that just straight up kicks you in the teeth.
Read more ›
6 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
42 of 47 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on June 5, 2013
Format: Audio CD
I obviously can't speak for anyone, but if you are still comparing every album to QOTSA's SFTD album, I'm guessing that even Josh Homme would recommend that you skip this album. Check out Anthony's Bourdain's intro to ...Like Clockwork. He quotes Mr. Homme as saying the only pressure for doing a new album is to make sure it isn't like a previous record. And this one won't be accused that. Instead, it combines so much of all past influences and expands to new areas. Just like Amazon's "if you like this" suggestions, Like Clockwork has enough of the core elements that you recognize (and love) about QOTSA, but expands your palate beyond what you've heard before.

If you want to get some perspective on this album, take some time to see what Mr. Homme has been through over the past 6 years. Near death experience (on knee surgery!), two kids, depression... A lot of the lyrics are more personal than previous releases.

But, they still do rock! "Keep your eyes peeled" is robot rock at its darkest. "If I had a tail" has the dark swagger and a similar in-your-face message to the misguided. "My God is the sun" is as close to old QOTSA but with a bit more production. "I sat by the ocean" is more of a classic rock tune. And the funky licks in "Smooth sailing" is the offspring of Eagles of Death Metal and Them Crooked Vultures.

But the most intriguing stuff on the album is what we haven't seen before by QOTSA. "I appear missing" followed by "Like Clockwork" is Mr. Homme exposing his somewhat fractured soul - something that didn't happen so openly in past records. In "I appear missing," the lyrics are paired with music that is so intricate and layered - you can get lost in its depth. It's a highlight that also illustrates how talented all the members of the band are.
Read more ›
5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category