Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer ctstrph2 ctstrph2 ctstrph2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 28, 2005
I got to see Lilo & Stitch 2: Stich Has a Glitch, on Sunday, July 17, during the last day of San Diego Comic Con International. The presentation was part of Comic Con's "Kids' Day" program, an acknowledgment that some of the biggest comics fans are indeed actually little bitty kids. The audience for the film (which was projected onto a screen from a DVD) consisted of my husband and myself, plus a room full of families with little kids. The room was filled to capacity, and people had started lining up at least half an hour before showtime.

I'm pleased to report that, for me at least, Glitch is a welcome return to the spirit of the original movie. The animation, even projected on a large screen, is fabulous. I was especially impressed by the use of shadows. But, it is also very fluid, and the character designs, though noticably different from the original film (somehow, everybody comes out looking "rounder"), are true to Chris Saunders' unique drawing style.

This film also captures the emotional pitch of the original movie, while in some ways, deepening the characters. One main plot thread involves Lilo attempting to win the annual hula competition. For the first time, the movie explicitly mentions her mother. Lilo is initially depressed, because she doesn't have a mom to help her make her costume for the contest. Moses perks up her interest by showing Lilo an old scrapbook, with pictures of her mom, winning the hula contest! A very cute touch: mom is a ringer for little Lilo.

Lilo is also searching for inspiration for her hula dance, which must, of course, convey the spirit of aloha. The King himself provides a welcome hint.

Stitch's story is a little darker in tone. It begins with a bad dream about coming back to wreck havoc on the Island, including threatening his friend Lilo. Something is making Stitch lapse back into his old, naughty ways. Jumba, in making his diagnosis, reveals at last the story of hiscreation of Stitch, and how something that went wrong may spell doom for our little alien friend.

This sets up the main conflict with Lilo: is a victory in the hula competition, her attempt to get closer to the memory of her mother, more important than her continued friendship with Stitch, who suddenly seems intent on wrecking everything? I won't tell you how it comes out, but remember to bring plenty of Kleenex--near the end, many young'uns in the audience were openly bawling, as was a certain adult.

Oh, and try not to sip your coke while Lilo is thinking up ideas for her hula dance, as you'll probably snork it up your nose!!
11 comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2006
"Lilo & Stitch 2: Stitch Has A Glitch" picks up the title as a worthy sequel to the original Disney masterpiece, in the stead of the somewhat-dissapointing "Stitch! The Movie". Though this film never made it to theatres for reasons unknown, it goes all the length to reinvigorate the specialness of the original film, supplying us with the original animation and voice cast (with the exception of Dakota Fanning replacing Daveigh Chase as the voice of Lilo...but more on that, in a moment).

L&S2 supplies us with a story that's more of a drama between the characters, rather than the comedic space opera that the original one was. Nonetheless, despite the lack of space battles and Captain Gantu, the film more than qualifies by supplying the viewer a story of Stitch and Lilo's conflict with the blue alien's mysterious malfunctions, filled with many traditional-L&S wittisisms (without falling back on pop culture references), music by Elvis Presley, and touching/amusing/priceless Stitch/Lilo interaction.

Staying true to its originality and presentation is a feat undaunted by switching voice actresses for Lilo; fans need not worry, for Dakota Fanning fills her shoes with all the heart and emotion needed to make her come alive as she did in the original film. Within five minutes of watching the film, viewers will most likely forget to notice the transition, or at least cease to be troubled by it.

Doubtlessly the only true and worthy successor to the original "Lilo & Stitch", "Stitch Has A Glitch" goes all the way to touch upon the audience the meanings of friendship and Ohana, all whilst ingesting the brash-yet-delicate humor that served to make the original film just so good.

"Lilo & Stitch 2", plainly said, is a more-than-worthy sequel. All fans of the original film or franchise should be sure to see it.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2005
Okay, so we're back from California and the Comicon. Saw a lot of cool stuff, but one of my favorites was "Lilo and Stitch 2". It was mobbed. I almost didn't get in. But it was worth it! The movie is awesome. It's as good, if not better than the first. The characters are fun. The animation is awesome. And Dakota Fanning was great as Lilo. I don't want to spoil the story for you, but it's called "Stitch has a Glitch"... so Stitch is up to no good. Funny. Touching. A+

OLD POST:
Hey. I'm so excited! I'm going to see the new "Lilo and Stitch 2" movie at the Comicon in San Diego, California THIS SATURDAY!!! I loved the first one and I can't wait to see this one. I hope it's good... more like the first movies and less like the tv show. The reviews look promising. I'll let you all know what I think when I actually see it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
My son fell in love with Stitch at Disney World. I'm not sure what prompted it because we didn't own the movies, but then of course, we had to get them all. As an adult, they are good, but my 7-year-old son loves them all. And the takeaway is that he says family comes first and puts that into practice. For that alone, he can watch them as much as he wants.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2011
Lilo and Stitch 2: Stitch Has a Glitch is a 2005 Disney animated sequel to the 2002 theatrical feature film of the same name. In this film, which takes place right after the events in the first film and right before the events in Stitch: The Movie, Stich, Lilo, Nani, Jumba and Pleakley are enjoying life in Hawai'i and are getting ready for May Day(a local Hawai'ian holiday the occurs on May 1) when Stitch started to act strange and becomes volatile towards everyone. Once Lilo, Jumba and Pleakley discover the cause of Stitch's problem, they must race against time to save Stitch before it is too late. The special features includes a bonus short that reveals Stitch's origin and how he came to be, as well as a music video by Jump5 and sneak peeks for other Disney favourites Like Kronk's New Groove. Lilo and Stitch 2 is perfect for any Disney DVD collection and destined to be one of Disney's great sequels.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2005
This movie is great for a disney sequel because most disney sequels stink. It has a easy to follow story line and good story line too. This movie gets quite emotional at the end though! It made me ALMOST cry. (Hint: Nobody dies!) This sequel isnt as good as the first movie though. Mostly because the first movie is more...well better in some way! Also the title should have been Lilo and Stitch 2: A glitch in Stitch.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2010
Like most people, I went through a little stage where I'd immediately scoff at any direct to dvd Disney sequels. You can't blame me- there were TONS being released over the last 6 years, and it seemed like they wanted to beat the Land Before Time sequel record or something. But my daughter showed interest in Lilo & Stitch 2 when she saw a preview for it on an older Disney dvd, so I got it for her. As long as she enjoyed it, that's all that mattered, right? Low and behold, the movie hooked me with the opening scene, and I watched the whole thing with just as much interest as her.

The movie starts out with a fairly dark sequence, and ultra protective parents may have complaints about it. We see Stitch snap, and he goes back to his old destructive ways. He runs around shooting things, crashes his ship into Lilo's house, and even smacks her, leaving two claw scratches on her cheek. It turns out to be a dream, and Lilo wakes him up so they can start the day. Lilo's excited to take part in a hula contest, especially after learning that her mom won it when she was Lilo's age, and gets a picture of her from the competition from the dance school she attends. Unfortunately, Stitch's bad dream turned out to be a warning- he has short episodes where he'll act crazy again, and becomes destructive for a short time. His eyes turn green, and the best way to describe it really is that he has a glitch. Jumba tries to invent something to fix this, but isn't having much luck. At the same time, Lilo's focused on nothing but winning the hula contest, ignoring family issues in the process.

I might get negative votes from people who like to read reviews for things they've already seen and don't understand the 'helpful' part of voting, but I have to say that I liked this sequel a bit more than the first movie. The darker tone, deeper family issues, them actually addressing Lilo's mom, and the fact that the animation was nearly up to par with the original's and not rushed like the Cinderella or Aladdin sequels makes this a winner in every aspect. They even went the extra mile to use 3 Elvis songs here! And because there's mainly one problem, Sitch's glitch, the characters are much more fleshed out this time. The only complaint I have is that there was a little too much comic relief from Pleakley, but maybe that was just me wanting them to go on with the story. Kids will get a kick out of him for sure. This is an excellent movie, and had they upped the budget for the animation just a little bit, it could've easily been a theatrical release. All the voice acting is great, the soundtrack includes Elvis songs (those couldn't have been cheap) and the story have some real heart and soul put into it, which is more than I can say for the majority of animated movies from Disney that hit theaters after the first Lilo & Stitch.

The dvd also has some quick special features that don't take up much time. You get a video by Jump 5 for Hawaiian Roller Coaster Ride, which will make you wonder where those kids are now. There are two short games that feature Pleakley and Jumba, nothing special here. But then there's the 'Origin of Stitch' short, which is a bit misleading. We get to see a good number of the other experiments that were made before Stitch, and Stitch gets worried when he sees what he was originally used for. But Jumba comforts him and all goes well. There's not much to this short, and they could've made it a real origin story, showing more than a quick clip of Stitch shooting things in a simulation, but hey, it's more Stitch for the kids.

I can't recommend this movie enough. Fans of Lilo & Stitch should have this in their movie library, especially with how cheap it is now. If you were worried about it being rushed, don't be- it's great. Now I wonder how the other ones are...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2012
...but still a great movie. It's animation quality and production is the same as the original, so anyone who's a fan of the original Lilo and Stitch will like this one. It meshes nicely after the first one too without getting weird like the TV show. It's a good view!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
I bought this for my grandson as a surprise and he watches it sooooooo often that I think he may wear out the Kindle!!!! He loves being able to move back and forth to his favorite movies scenes and create his own sing-a-longs. I highly recommend this for children of all ages - even grown ups!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
The green eyes part was a little scary for the little ones. The cross-dressing alien was a little odd. The storyline was cute, focusing on Lilo and Stitch's friendship and how it conquers all. Not educational but adorable and entertaining, even for the movie weary adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.