Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional Hawaiian sci-fi film looks/sounds terrific on blu-ray
Lilo & Stitch is, in my opinion, one of Disney's finest films because it doesn't play by the rules. A young child and her older sister live together in a typical Hawaiian house under atypical circumstances (for a Disney movie). Their parents died in an automobile accident during a rainstorm, leaving the two girls with two broken hearts.

Lilo, the youngest,...
Published 15 months ago by Colby

versus
81 of 89 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-ray transfer. ZERO bonus features.
It can be argued that Lilo & Stitch is one of the strongest and most beloved Disney animated films. This holds true for many (especially myself), so you can imagine my excitement when Disney finally announced a Blu-ray release for the film. They even chose to include Stitch Has A Glitch, an excellent follow-up to the series and TV show. This also made me excited for a...
Published 15 months ago by KayJayBee


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 89 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Blu-ray transfer. ZERO bonus features., June 1, 2013
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
It can be argued that Lilo & Stitch is one of the strongest and most beloved Disney animated films. This holds true for many (especially myself), so you can imagine my excitement when Disney finally announced a Blu-ray release for the film. They even chose to include Stitch Has A Glitch, an excellent follow-up to the series and TV show. This also made me excited for a separate 2-pack with Stitch! The Movie and Leroy & Stitch.

That eagerness quickly faded.

As stunning as the transfer is on this Blu-ray release, it is completely lacking -ANY- bonus features. That's right, no deleted scenes, no special interviews, and ESPECIALLY lacking is the excellent commentary that many fans enjoyed for its thoroughness and loving care towards the film's creation. The back of the box has the audacity to claim that Stitch Has A Glitch is THE bonus feature, "with more fun, laughter and adventure for the entire family". Yes, the movie is a nice supplement to the main film, but it is not literally a bonus feature. Disney should have held out on Lilo & Stitch and made it a Diamond Edition if they're going to treat this release even worse than Home on the Range, which actually kept its bonus features when it made the Blu-ray transition.

Again, the video and audio quality on this release is STUNNING on both Lilo & Stitch and Stitch Has A Glitch, but if Disney is going to cheap out again you might want to hold off on this release and wait for the inevitable 3D Big Kahuna Anniversary Edition.

If you must purchase this release, at least swap this release's bare-bones DVD with the extras disk from the Big Wave Edition.

As a footnote, The Emperor's New Groove / Kronk's New Groove: Two-Movie Collection has unfortunately fallen into the same situation. Consumers will not appreciate Disney's recent trend of releasing classic films with ZERO bonus features. If you are a true Disney enthusiast, please send Disney a message by holding off on this release until it gets a proper treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shame on Disney for taking out ALL the special features!, June 11, 2013
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
My ONE star rating is not for the actual animated film, which is one of my favorite Disney films. I would give the actual film a FIVE star rating.

BUT, I can't in all consciousness give this so-called "special edition" Blu-Ray/DVD combo version more than ONE star. In fact, if I could, I would give it a ZERO. For anybody who had the two DVD releases, "Lilo & Stitch" came with a bunch of special features including some of the cute teaser trailers featuring other Disney characters and one of the BEST and LONGEST "making of" featurettes I've seen on a Disney DVD.

Instead of putting any special features, they try to trick us into thinking the so-called sequel IS the special feature.

I HATE, HATE, HATE, HATE, HATE that Disney Home Entertainment has been bundling their first run animated classics with their straight to video so-called sequels. They did it with Pocahontas and Mulan, which I didn't mind so much because they included special features.

But, this is a travesty to not include any special features at all. I'm afraid to open my "Emperor's New Grove" Blu-Ray.

I really wanted to be able to retire my DVDs by replacing them with the Blu-Ray, but, now I'm stuck with a "special edition" Blu-Ray/DVD combo that is useless and the ultimately more superior DVD version.

I would URGE anybody who likes special features to avoid this release like the plague and, hopefully, Disney will eventually snap to their senses and release a Blu-Ray version worthy of "Lilo & Stitch."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Rotten Blu-ray, June 15, 2013
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
It's disheartening to see Disney continue to release their Blu-ray titles with little or no extra content. They did this with "Avengers" and "Wreck it Ralph" but this takes it to a whole new level! I can't in good conscience purchase this release due to the zero extras in the Blu-ray, and I adore the movie itself! They could have at least tried to add in the extras from their prior DVD releases but they couldn't even do that! I really hope Disney will stop this trend of lack of extras but I fear as long as consumers buy their products and they continue to cut costs, don't expect anything less from the mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional Hawaiian sci-fi film looks/sounds terrific on blu-ray, June 20, 2013
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Lilo & Stitch is, in my opinion, one of Disney's finest films because it doesn't play by the rules. A young child and her older sister live together in a typical Hawaiian house under atypical circumstances (for a Disney movie). Their parents died in an automobile accident during a rainstorm, leaving the two girls with two broken hearts.

Lilo, the youngest, doesn't fit in with the other girls. While they play dolls Lilo plays with her homemade creation that she claims "has bug eggs in its head", takes pictures of obese tourists and pins them to her wall, and even sleeps with Spaceship bedsheets. She is completely unique and her own person, which causes problems for her in the social aspects of her life.

Nani, the older sister, has been forced to grow up and become a mother figure for Lilo. She struggles with work, cooking, and keeping track of Lilo. Disney was wise to be brutally honest with its depiction of Nani; she is a tangible character, real and human, trying hard to keep her "broken" family from falling completely apart. Nani has zero time for herself, including dating people, and puts all her energy into Lilo.

Lilo isn't exactly happy to receive that energy...the sisters often fight and yell at each other. To make matters worse: a stern Social Worker is keeping a close eye on both of them, and he isn't pleased with what he sees.

One night Lilo prays for a friend, or an angel, to come down and never leave her. The universe sends her something far less angelic...Stitch. He's an alien creature that was designed to destroy, and he's escaped his planet and fallen to Earth. Landing in Hawaii, he comes across Lilo (who mistakes him for a Dog) and slowly begins to further destroy Lilo and Nani's life.

Lilo & Stitch has developed a following of fans, making it feel more like a Cult-classic than a Disney masterpiece. Nevertheless its very entertaining. There is a surprising amount of emotional depth to the story, and its themes of loss, family, and fitting in are refreshing for a Disney film. There is some genuine humor in the film, too. The Hawaiian setting is awesome, and the film never feels cutesy or silly.

Adults will appreciate the honesty of the emotional material and enjoy the family drama which unfolds, especially the interactions between Lilo and Nani. Kids will get a kick out of Stitch and the adventure elements in the film. So, really, Lilo & Stitch has a bit of something for everyone. Film: 4/5 STARS

The blu-ray has perfect video quality. Characters are drawn simply but with much emotion, and the lines are crisp in 1080pHD. Hawaii is portrayed in gorgeous watercolor art, giving the film a rich texture. The only other film I can relate this to in terms of animation style is Ponyo. Other than that, Lilo & Stitch feels unique in its animation. Colors are vivid and overall there is a nice film-like texture. Video: 5/5 STARS

Audio is also perfect. The rousing musical score is beautiful during emotional scenes and exciting during the adventure segments. Elvis songs pop up here and there, as well as a few others. Dialogue is easy to hear as well. The DTS-HD 5.1 track will surely please old and new fans alike. Audio: 5/5 STARS

The only extra on the blu-ray is the inclusion of the sequel, Lilo & Stitch 2: Stitch Has A Glitch. Though this might not be considered an extra/bonus feature. The sequel is charming and well-animated, but isn't as good as the first. There are a few sneak peeks as well, but that's it. There aren't any true bonus features on the blu-ray. This is a 3 Disk release, so DVD copies of the first and second films are also included. Extras: 2/5 STARS

Overall: 4/5 STARS. Lilo & Stitch is an unconventional animated film, with sci-fi elements mixed into the human drama. It deserves to be seen on blu-ray with excellent video/audio.

Rating: PG. There is some sci-fi action that might frighten younger children. The emotional drama is much more complex and will be enjoyed more by adults. Thematic Material should have been included in the rating description. Ages 6 and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Package, But Beautiful Blu, June 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Lilo & Stitch has certainly suffered many an indignity in the ten plus years since it's initial release. The characters have suffered one of those infamous Disney sequels, multiple product placements, and an inane television series which squeezed every breathe of life from the original characters. So it's pretty easy to forget the charming film that started it all. Lilo & Stitch is just as enjoyable and entertaining of a Disney movie has it was in 2002. The jokes are still funny, Stitch's characterization is adorable to watch unfold, and the story doesn't skimp on heart and touching moments. It boasts an incredible soundtrack too, which features many of those Elvis Presley favorites. The Blu-ray release rejuvenates the look and sound of the movie. Crisp and beautifully detailed, the scenic pictures really take on a new life here. The soundtrack blasts and booms and it has a nice immersion factor, even in the more delicate scenes.Say what you want about Disney's otherwise cheap release, which features no Blu-ray bonus features, just the original features on the DVD discs, but the actual Blu-ray rendering of the film leaves little else to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Review: "Lilo & Stitch 2 Movie Collection" 3-Disc Special Edition, June 19, 2013
By 
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Disney's mission to release its entire catalog on Blu-ray continues with the "Lilo & Stitch 2 Movie Collection" 3-Disc Special Edition. It includes the original 2002 theatrical feature and the direct-to-DVD film "Lilo & Stitch 2: Stitch Has a Glitch." "Stitch the Movie" is actually the second entry in the franchise, but is obviously left out here because it was considered to be a sort of backdoor pilot for "Lilo & Stitch: The Series."

In "Lilo & Stitch," a lonely Hawaiian girl looks to fill the void in her life with a pet she adopts from an animal shelter. Little does she know that she hasn't taken in any ordinary dog. What she's brought home is a mischievous alien who's an escaped fugitive from another galaxy. Can Lilo tame the little creature before he complicates life for both her and her sister?

"Lilo & Stitch" is one of my favorite "new" Disney classics. What's not to love about a terrorizing extraterrestrial that has no sense of self-control and acts like an untamed beast? Add to that his love for classic rock 'n roll and you've got the equivalent of E.T. on crack. The rotten little brat inside me loves the little monster with all my heart.

The other reason I adore "Lilo & Stitch" is because it's not littered with characters breaking out in song in awkward places. There's music worked into it, but they're believable parts like a dancing number, a surfing scene, and a couple of songs Stitch performs for people or dances to with Lilo. Let's just sum it up by saying this isn't a typical musical.

"Lilo & Stitch 2: Stitch Has a Glitch" finds the cuddly rascal from another planet helping Lilo get ready for the big island hula contest. When there's a malfunction, his destructive programming is restored and he goes back to acting the way he did before he was "tamed." Will Stitch glitch out for good, or will he recover and repair his friendship with Lilo?

This sequel might not be quite as good as the original, but it still has a lot of going for it. As a direct-to-DVD project, you can't expect the same animation quality as you get from a theatrical release. "Lilo & Stitch 2: Stitch Has a Glitch" is still a charming and thoughtful follow-up.

It's always nice to see movies the whole family can enjoy together. Sure, there's some rude humor. It's nowhere near as crude as what we get from the "Shrek" movies or others of that nature. I also like the way the "Lilo & Stitch" movies promote the significance of family and friendship. They show viewers the importance of being compassionate and accepting people for who they are no matter their appearance or actions.

Both movies look and sound great after getting a quality high definition transfer by Disney. The picture is clean and the colors are more vibrant than they've ever looked. The 5.1 DTS Master Audio immerses the viewer in the bizarre dins of space and an alien environment as well as the natural sounds of Hawaii.

There's no bonus material included on the Blu-ray of the "Lilo & Stitch 2 Movie Collection" 3-Disc Special Edition. All of it is found on the two standard DVDs for each movie. Why would someone who bought the high definition upgrade of a film want to put in the standard DVD just to hear the commentary, play one of the games, or watch one of the featurettes or music videos? It's a shame that most people will never even see any of the special features. Take note that the "Lilo & Stitch 2: Stitch Has a Glitch" DVD features a bonus short entitled "The Origin of Stitch."

The "Lilo & Stitch 2 Movie Collection" 3-Disc Special Edition will no doubt please most normal Disney collectors. However, its lack of special features on the Blu-ray will frustrate many consumers looking to get everything they want on one disc. That doesn't change the fact that the movies are enjoyable and family-friendly with great messages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, great music HORRIBLE BLU RAY PACKAGE rating 4 film, June 14, 2013
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
I was VERY SURPRISED after I finally got this.

As a Disney fan I like the film, a rare Disney without Pixar hit from last decade. Gave us the character Stitch, popular although some people do not like the character.

Best music of any recent Disney film. And, gee do we wonder why? Elvis Presley!! There have been no real hit soundtracks to Disney films since the 1990's. They had to use Elvis to get this. And, having Stitch dressing as 1970's Elvis in the film

The sequel is of no interest to me. Just another in a long line of straight to video sequels Disney has done.

Why I am SO DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS PACKAGE.

WHERE ARE THE EXTRAS? My word. A hit Disney film and this package has NO extras for the original film. If you look at the back of the case it does NOT even give you the information the film is wide screen. Bomb Disney films from the 2000's like 2003's "Brother Bear" and 2004's "Home on the Range" their blu ray packages have extras. Where are the extras for an actual hit film?

I am so disappointed in this. If you like the movie get this-my rating is for the film NOT the package. The package would only get a 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, good extras, March 23, 2014
By 
Geoff (Sunnyvale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
This pack contains one blu-ray, which has just the two movies, Lilo & Stitch and the 'bonus' Lilo & Stitch 2, and two DVDs, which contain one movie each plus a variety of extras. The extras seem to be mostly the same as the ones on the Lilo & Stitch 'Big Wave Edition' DVD.

The two movies are well rendered on Blu-Ray. The lossless sound encoding is particularly valuable for the music in the original movie. The extras are in standard definition on the DVDs, which is unfortunate, but on the other hand this might be the first time I've watched everything on a Blu-Ray in the first sitting!

As for the actual movies, Lilo & Stitch is excellent, due to a solid plot, choice of setting, brilliant soundtrack, and careful animation. The sequel is merely OK; the setting is the same, the soundtrack is not quite so brilliant, the plot is has an unsatisfying conclusion ("and then everything is magically OK"), I found some of the scene transitions look a little too much like a color-pencil drawing of the place rather than the place itself, and the animation has a few sequences where Stitch looks oddly shaped, having acquired a neck and chin that he does not usually possess. Still, entirely watchable and worth spending the hour to see.

Overall a fine collection and well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LOOKING BLU RAY TRANSFER, BUT THE NO BONUS MATERIAL TREND IS GETTING OLD!, March 10, 2014
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Disney Studios 42nd full length animated feature film Lilo and Stitch for no apparent reason is a film I had never seen before now. I found it very enjoyable with top notch animation and story as usual from the kings of animation studio.

Starting out in outer space almost like a sci-fi serial, but soon finding another exotic location on Earth in Hawaii Stitch lands and slowly connects with a young girl. Stitch is by far one of Disney's strangest characters, but he does grow on you. It's not the best Disney animated film ever made, but it is different and a worthy entry in the on going Disney animation cannon.

The 3 disc Blu Ray combo is a bit misleading in that it is one Blu Ray disc and two DVD's. The good news is the Blu Ray transfer is flawless! It looks and sounds amazing, but that is where the amazing part ends. The previous 2 disc DVD had a enormous amount of extras on it, but I couldn't find any on this set,..at least not on the Blu Ray disc. The DVD's do hold some of the extras from the previous edition, but it isn't stated on the package. For a company that is so aware of marketing Disney certainly doesn't seem to be listening to their customers. I have bought these films over and over again so and I know I'm not alone, so I think my concerns are just as valid as Mom and Dad buying randon animated films to introduce to their kids. I have had to keep at least 70% of my old Disney DVD's because of the loss of great bonus material on the Blu Ray editions, or not including multiple aspect ratios where needed. It's ridiculous!

Sure it includes the sequel(who cares?), really?.. how can Disney keep doing this over and over again? I guess so we can get the upgraded set in a couple of years. This is really getting on my nerves, no one wants the direct to video sequels (Hello Disney?), so please stop shoving them down our throats. Carry over all(important)bonus material(games can be dropped)and PLEASE include both full screen and wide screen versions on the films that were shown that way in theaters(between 1961-1982)!

If you want Lilo and Stitch looking and sounding its best buy the Blu Ray, but if you like bonus material you'll want to keep or pick up the 2 disc DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Feature Lilo and Stitch., February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lilo & Stitch / Lilo & Stitch: Stitch Has A Glitch Two-Movie Collection (Three Disc Blu-ray / DVD Combo) (Blu-ray)
Absolutely love these films. Even though I am an adult, I still love a good animated movie every now and then, and besides Wall-E and Finding Nemo, this one ranks up there as one of the funniest. Great bonus features. I just love Stitch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.