Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


157 of 168 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Limitless Mind, By Russell Targ
REVIEW OF "LIMITLESS MIND" by Russell Targ, reviewed by Keith Van Vliet
As a scientist, Targ is able to draw on a comprehensive knowledge of physics to give authority to what otherwise might be taken lightly. His background includes working in a traditional aviation corporate structure, which he left to pursue the field which is the subject of the book, remote...
Published on May 15, 2004 by Eldon K. Van Vliet

versus
64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING NEW HERE, BUT TARG IS A PIONEER
Russell Targ has a fascinating background, as one of the original founders of the government Remote Viewing program. Back in the 1970s, he and Hal Puthof put together experiments in psychic vision that very much interested the US military. Both men were at Stanford Research Institute (SRI) and got government contracts to test "viewers" - psychics who could see events and...
Published on January 13, 2007 by Theresa Welsh


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

157 of 168 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Limitless Mind, By Russell Targ, May 15, 2004
By 
Eldon K. Van Vliet (Glendora, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
REVIEW OF "LIMITLESS MIND" by Russell Targ, reviewed by Keith Van Vliet
As a scientist, Targ is able to draw on a comprehensive knowledge of physics to give authority to what otherwise might be taken lightly. His background includes working in a traditional aviation corporate structure, which he left to pursue the field which is the subject of the book, remote viewing. He states, "My personal goal has been, for many years, to turn a rocket scientist into a human being."
His additional education covers much material from the east, which he weaves throughout the material.
In 1972 he co-founded with Dr. Hal Puthoff the Stanford Research Institute program to scientifically investigate remote viewing, which he continued for over two decades.
He begins by introducing the term "nonlocality," a scientific term that my spell checker did not recognize. It means the separation of cause and effect over both time and space., which violates traditional scientific laws and causes great consternation in science. His investigations did much to attract the attention of colleagues and bring official recognition that this was something science had to deal with sooner or later. Although Targ does not dwell on this aspect overly long, he quotes Voltaire as writing, "It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong.
The actual experiments he conducted used people known to have some psychic ability, but throughout the book he insists that this power is natural, and possessed by anyone who is of a mind to practice. The descriptions given by the viewer were accurate well beyond any estimates of chance guessing, and were double blind, where the subject site was not known by the interviewer. Many times the viewer was able to give a description prior to the site being chosen. Even with the gifted viewers, there is a lack of completeness that would prevent most remote viewing from having practical value, except is certain cases. Targ does not go into this, choosing to emphasize the other more positive reasons that he pursued the research.
One of the remarkable statements he makes is, "To me, these data suggest that all of space-time is available to your consciousness, right where your are. You are always on the edge." He sees consciousness and awareness as the causal action in all of reality. His choice of title, "Limitless Mind," accurately describes the conclusions he reaches in the book, although he describes "enlightenment" as the ultimate goal for each human being, with PSI ability being something that will move you along towards the goal.
Targ includes many examples of PSI that have been supported by scientific verification. One of which covers the ability of precognition. In the cited experiment it was labeled presentiment, and in it the subjects were shown graphic slides that carried potentially emotional charges with them. The subject was connected to electronic devices to record their nervous and biological responses to the slides. The remarkable thing was that these responses began three to five seconds PRIOR to the showing of the slide, and corresponded to the material shown. The subjects were non gifted people who volunteered out of the general population, which supports Targ's conclusion that everyone already has a measure of PSI ability.
He supports his descriptions by liberally quoting other people who have contributed to the field, such as Edgar Cayce, Ernest Holmes, The Dali Lama, and ranging to philosophers like Emerson and Thoreau, with a whole chapter given over to the leaders in examining the phenomenon, Distant Healing. He ponders the various ways healing can take place from the efforts of the mind, and at what stages it might not be possible to effect healing. He brings the time factor into this thought process, wondering if help could be obtained for some seriously ill person by influencing their condition at an earlier time in the illness.
It was refreshing to encounter the number of times he referred to IONS, and researchers Marilyn Schlitz, and Dean Radin as being experts in the field.
Early in the book he mentions "The Course in Miracles." He had some involvement with it near the beginning of its publication, but didn't begin to study it until several years later when he started to take personally the implications of his experiments, and he quotes from it liberally. He also quotes freely from Buddhism, Hinduism, and Christianity in what each of them has to say about the path to enlightenment.
Targ refers several times to the work of his daughter, Elizabeth Targ, who conducted prayer research at California Pacific Medical Center, with much the same scientific accountability that her father did at SRI. Only at the end of the book does he go into more of a memorial for her. Elizabeth died recently of a deadly form of cancer.
His comments range much wider than just remote viewing, although he views that practice as a concrete step to a more contemplative existence. To me, the book seemed to add up to an examination of the concept of personal enlightenment, the reasons for seeking it, and the various pathways to its attainment. Looking back on the scientific community for the past fifty years it is refreshing to witness the number of scientists who are now speaking out in favor of seeking personal transcendence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOTHING NEW HERE, BUT TARG IS A PIONEER, January 13, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
Russell Targ has a fascinating background, as one of the original founders of the government Remote Viewing program. Back in the 1970s, he and Hal Puthof put together experiments in psychic vision that very much interested the US military. Both men were at Stanford Research Institute (SRI) and got government contracts to test "viewers" - psychics who could see events and places ("targets) in their mind. They developed a set of protocols for these experiments and successfully demonstrated that this could be done. In Limitless Mind, Russell Targ discusses those experiments, which were to influence his later work and eventually become once again his main profession. At present, he sponsors seminars on remote viewing, often working with Dr. Jane Katra, with whom he has written several books.

This book is a combination of information on how anyone can try remote viewing, and how work with remote viewing led the author to related activities, mainly distant healing. Targ repeatedly explains that remote viewing is not specifically a spiritual activity, but it led him in the direction of further inquiry into the nature of consciousness and that led him into spirituality. He came to believe that man is more than his material body, that consciousness transcends our physical senses. Consciousness can move beyond place and even beyond time to actually take in remote locations and events. Targ became interested in how healers can affect the bodily health of another person, noting that many can affect people who are in a distant location, without seeing or touching them. How is this possible, unless consciousness is not local?

Information on how to do remote viewing is available in other books and websites, but Targ's preferred methods all involve working with a partner. He is insistent that anyone can do remote viewing, although some viewers are more talented than others. Targ worked with some of the best, and he writes about them in this book: Ingo Swann, Pat Price, Hella Hamid, to mention a few. Targ and Puthof had all the facilities of SRI and full time to work at remote viewing experiments, while, for most people, finding a partner and designing and carrying out workable experiments is going to tax their time and resources. Like other learned skills, remote viewing takes practice.

The book reproduces some of the more famous drawings of the SRI viewers along with pictures of the actual targets. I found most of them familiar because I've seen them reproduced in other books. And, yes, they are amazing and do indicate the validity of remote viewing.

I was looking for more theory on what these experiments tell us about ourselves, but I found Targ's discussion rather disjointed and felt his topics wandered. In addition to covering how to do remote viewing and telling us about his experiences with healing and psychic diagnosis, he also writes about his daughter, Dr. Elizabeth Targ, who passed away at too young an age. I found his tribute to her very touching, and it is clear she was a remarkable person. Elizabeth Targ was a scientist who sometimes worked with her father and he certainly credits her for her contributions to the field of psychic research.

Targ refers to many teachers and guides who have helped him develop psychic skills and spiritual awareness. It seems his early work, pioneering a field he regards as scientific research but which others often ridicule, has led him to question most mainstream ways of thinking. Ridicule can be a significant stimulus to examine the reality of what others have called "consensus consciousness." Or, to put it another way, just because most people believe something - it ain't necessarily so. But again, Targ's personal acquaintance with so many practitioners of alternative systems of thought is unusual, and most of us are just left with our books and an occasional conversation with a like-minded individual. Targ actually quit his job as a scientist for a major corporation, a gutsy move for sure, that has let him immerse himself in an atmosphere of alternative thought.

There wasn't anything new in this book, but it is a good introduction to remote viewing and it drives home the point that everyone can expand their consciousness. The personal stories from a pioneer in the field of psychic research make the book a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Introduction to the Limitless Possibilities of Mind and Spirit, May 12, 2006
By 
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
I found Limitless Mind to be an exceptional introduction to the study of consciousness and psychic abilities. The book describes many studies relating to fascinating topics such as remote viewing, distance/spiritual healing, precognition, and the fluidity of time and space. It describes the theory that time and space are "nonlocal." This theory suggests that it is an illusion that we occupy a specific area of space at a specific time. But in fact "each region of space-time contains information about every other point in space-time" (8). This is to "suggest that all of space-time is available to your consciousness, right where you are" (5). Or in other words "the whole universe is in some way enfolded in everything, and that each thing is enfolded in the whole" (8). And this would explain the phenomena of remote-viewing where a person describes a place or an object from a distance in which that person could have no sensory perception of the object. In remote viewing you're simply clearing your mind of all the "mental noise" (thoughts, memories, sounds, etc...) constantly running through your head thereby tapping into that part of you that is connected with the universe. Then by focusing your attention on a particular place or object you can access any point in space-time and bring it to your awareness.

However remote viewing is only one area the book touches on. It also delves into how you can use this power for intuitive medical diagnosis, spiritual healing, and most importantly discovering who you are.

Filled with scientific research studies supporting his claims, helpful guides to using these hidden abilities yourself, and written in an easy to read style this book is a must have for anyone interested in expanding their awareness and discovering who they really are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but Not Quite What I Expected..., October 3, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
This book left me with a vague feeling of unease. It was as if I were on the edge of a great enlightenment and then...the book ended. There is some interesting material on Remote Viewing, but you should note that you need at least one partner to practice for the most part. Since this is not a topic of much interest in the Midwest, I don't think I'll be able to practice much.

I purchased this book because I was looking for a scientific examination of psychic experiences. I got some of what I was looking for, but I also got a lot of personal stories and anecdotes that were interesting, but not necessarily enlightening. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it as an introduction to the techniques for Remote Viewing. If you are looking for a more broad-ranging work, try "The Field," by Lynne McTaggart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remote Viewing with Your Heart, February 2, 2005
By 
Simeon Hein "Planetary Intelligence author" (www.OpeningMinds.info, Boulder, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
Russell Targ's latest book is a broad-ranging, indepth coverage of remote viewing and nonlocal consciousness. As one of the original RV researchers, working with natural psychics such as Pat Price and Ingo Swann to develop standardized remote viewing protocols and testing procedures, Targ knows his way around the subject matter in all its aspects. From some of the early RV experiments in the 1970's to the most recent studies in distant healing, some of which were conducted by his daughter, Elizabeth, Targ covers a whole gamut of related consciousness topics, including after-death communications and the incredible research of F.W. Meyers. But most importantly, Targ has an important message for us: to quiet our noisy minds, transcend our personal stories, expand our awareness, and merge with the larger consciousness of the universe. It is a timely message and one that stands out throughout the all of his recent writings: a legacy of decades of research into the nature of consciouness. I recommend Limitless Mind for readers who are new to the subject and also to more experienced researchers who want to be reminded of what a vast subject area the study of nonlocal consciousness encompasses. Overall, this book is a gem. (Dr. Simeon Hein is the author of Opening Minds: A Journey of Extraordinary Encounters, Crop Circles, and Resonance (Mount Baldy Press, Inc.))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Mind Adventure From Targ, March 7, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
For years Russell Targ has been one of my favorite "inner voyagers" documenting the potential of human consciousness. I picked up this latest book from him at the same time as another one called LUCKY YOU! by Randall Fitzgerald, (a book that had been highly recommended by Dean Radin, Ph.D) and I found them to be exploring similar sorts of material about the anomalous effects of consciousness, but from different provocative angles. Targ is a true pioneer and this book extends his body of work to an even deeper level. Don't miss this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chock full of freedom, August 10, 2006
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
I found this book to be easily read, yet contain some fairly complex ideas. The stories and experiences presented as evidence for remote viewing and the extra-material senses of the human mind were fascenating. If you're interested at all in remoteviewing, or even just evidence for science actually "trying" to break into the spiritual, then it's a good book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spirituality Gained From ESP, April 21, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
Remote Viewing and Self-Realization
What would Edgar Cayce think about the recent fascination with remote viewing? He'd have to admit he'd done it himself sometimes, like when he announced from his self-induced clairvoyant consciousness that his next client had not yet arrived at home where he was to be for his reading from Cayce, or when Cayce noted that the prescribed remedy, "oil of smoke" was hidden in the back room shelf of the pharmacist. Cayce used remote viewing, and especially "remote knowing" to help others, and thus he would be satisfied with its serviceability. On the other hand, so much of his readings were filled with wisdom, providing much more guidance than could be provided by what a remote video camera could see, that his work involved more skills than simply remote viewing.
I believe that Mr. Cayce would say remote viewing was, in itself, not sufficient. I suspect that, independent of the purposes toward which remote viewing might be applied, its procedures make self-actualization doubtful. Simply relaxing the mind may be sufficient to experience and report imagery that others might evaluate for its validity, but it doesn't seem sufficient to provide self-actualization guidance to the person practicing this skill. Something else has to be added. What is required beyond merely freeing consciousness is "raising one's consciousness to an ideal." Such grooming of consciousness might prove useful to become a channel of wisdom. The purpose to which value added remote viewing might be applied would also affect its serviceability for self-actualization. Remote viewing sessions typically begin with a "tasking assignment." As a tasking focus, I suggest something akin to an Edgar Cayce affirmation, with a bit of precognition thrown in: "I foresee an opportunity coming to me today where I may be of service to someone else by discovering more of my soul's abilities."
I turned to a recent book by one of the pioneers of remote viewing. Russell Targ, Ph.D., writes in Limitless mind: A guide to remote viewing and transformation of consciousness (New World Library), to discover that the author writes, "Why bother with ESP? ...Dzogchen [Buddhist ideal of "great perfection"] teaches us to look directly at our awareness and experience the geometry of consciousness--the relationship of our awareness to the space-time in which we live.... these teachings of expanded awareness and the experience of spaciousness are not about self-improvement or gaining power; they are about self-realization: discovering who we really are.... This can be revealed in many ways, one of them being the practice of remote viewing....we discover through this process that we are the flow of loving awareness that is available to us whenever we are quiet and peaceful."
The question I have in considering Targ's thoughtful and valuable book is whether his support of remote viewing as a tool of self-realization comes from the meditative part of the practice (in which case meditation itself may be a more direct route), from what is remotely viewed (as in my suggested tasking focus), or from the theoretical implications of the results of remote viewing, namely, that ESP is real and that there is more to us than the space-time materiality. Many have experienced ESP effects, yet go on living in material consciousness, so I suspect that this third alternative is not much of a candidate for the source of remote viewing's support of self-realization.
Targ does provide four proven applications of remote viewing: evaluating given choices, locating objects or persons, medical diagnosis, and forecasting. At the end of his book, he confesses that he has spent his life trying to change a rocket scientist into a human being. His ESP research motivated him further, but it was contact with a spiritual teacher, Mangaji, that did the trick, opening his heart. In the final analysis, Targ admits that remote viewing itself is not a spiritual path. He claims that it is the meditative skill developed by it that can, when furthered by spiritual mentoring, lead to the self-realization that "we are the love we seek". The meditative skill he refers to is that of becoming aware of awareness itself, because that is where the boundless self awaits discovery.
I find myself uplifted by Targ's book and feel a kinship with his desire to explain the value of ESP research in the context of the spiritual search. I now realize that my own suggestion about how to use remote viewing for self-actualization, although of value, actually misses the mark. There really is no need to go "remote" as what I'm seeking is within my own open heart. I agree with the author that the best way to keep it open is through gratitude. With such an attitude, I'm sure I'll have many opportunities to grow by helping others without having to remote view the opportunity in advance. Read a summary of this book at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, Love, Love, July 3, 2007
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
This was the first book I ever purchased because I wanted to. It was the smartest decision I ever made. It covers remote viewing of which I was quite interested in, and gave me many more things to pursue my goals of existence. Also helped me reach deep meditation and peace within the first 3 pages. Thank you Russell Targ. I hope to meet you someday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nonlocal reality, November 24, 2009
This review is from: Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness (Paperback)
Using just the info from this book, i partnered with an acquaintance to try this out. each of us traveled to a place and took photos at a pre-arranged time while the other stayed home, RV'd and drew pictures of what the traveler was seeing.

the experiment was a remarkable success. we each were able to RV the main geographical conditions (urban vs remote), objects and colors in the photos. my acquaintance drew in accurate shape and color, the inflatable raft that i photographed and the bridge that i photographed it from. that spooked him. he wont try it anymore.

if you're emotionally fragile, you might want to skip this.

i'm reminded of the joke about the bumpkin who sees his first giraffe. "That's impossible". :-) i think that's the root of the hardcore skeptics' outlook. they cant deal with shocks to their little world model. when Copernicus first uncentered the earth, he wouldn't even publish his work. he didnt need the bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Limitless Mind: A Guide to Remote Viewing and Transformation of Consciousness
$15.95 $12.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.