Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starter Kit At An Affordable Price
No complaints here! (although I was skeptical at first...)

They arrived in record time and the lights themselves are decent and exceeded my expectations. In a current sign of the times, I needed to contact the seller with a concern and fully expected a rat race of 800 numbers and emails that would go unanswered and/or ignored, but this seller replied fast,...
Published 16 months ago by finaldraft151

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light
This product came with a broken light bulb and to make matters worst, I cannot replace this light bulb from stores online and locally. What good is a lamp if you cannot buy light bulbs for it?
Published 4 months ago by Isadore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Starter Kit At An Affordable Price, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
No complaints here! (although I was skeptical at first...)

They arrived in record time and the lights themselves are decent and exceeded my expectations. In a current sign of the times, I needed to contact the seller with a concern and fully expected a rat race of 800 numbers and emails that would go unanswered and/or ignored, but this seller replied fast, shipped fast and went the extra mile. Kudos to them. The added true customer 'service' gave them the 5th Star that so many other companies are LACKING on here and Ebay.

As for their product: The general complaint regarding these lights (and similar light sets) are that they are cheaply made and get way too hot, smoke, etc. Not a problem here.

Remember: Lights get hot - Even a $2000 ARRI will get hot enough to fry an egg on. That's why most grips carry heavy duty gloves so they don't get third degree burns when handling lights on set... Yes they smoke - At first. You can reduce the toxic smoke by wiping down the scrim and barndoors with a rag and some Windex before installing them for the first time. I've found that helps out a lot. Also, not a bad idea to test (initial) them outdoors if possible - They usually only smoke for a few minutes as the oils burn off. Plus if they are faulty it's always better to have a blazing light outside than indoors...

These are def not ARRI lights; HOWEVER they do a great job when you need to flood something with tungsten; So far I have used several Lee Gels without a single meltdown (Blue and Orange Color Correction and standard neutral diffusion) - The Lee Party Gels seem to have a lower tolerance to the heat intensity, but the regular CTO and CTB Gels work fine - Even when clipped directly to the barn doors and not used in a frame ...

Dimmer switches work great and come in handy for getting creative with gels. So far the bulbs are working fine and any Home Depot or Lowes stocks replacement bulbs for cheap.

PROS
Decent lighting at an affordable price
Set up and break down in minutes
No special adapter(s) needed - Plugs straight into any standard 110V household plug
Dimmer switch adds greater control over lighting conditions and reduces the need for additional diffusion
Compact and great for small rooms but intense enough to light large areas if needed

CONS

Light stands - I think every bargain lighting co in the world uses the same cheap third world made light stands; Don't expect much from these stands. They get the job done and are okay for interior shoots where there is no wind... I would not recommend using these on exterior shoots unless the conditions are ideal. Sandbags are almost worthless since the weight of the sandbag usually just bends the cheap 'supports' on the stands ...

Cords are rather short, so plan on using extension cord(s) -

Buy the lights, set aside the stands and use better stands - Keep the cheap stands for conditions where you won't lose any sleep if a light stand (or 10) gets destroyed ...

Lastly - Again, these lights will get hot - I wouldn't advise using them to 'simulate' sunlight filtering in through a window by stashing the lit unit behind a curtain (unless you're filming a sequel to "Backdraft") - They can and WILL start a fire. Other than that - Great product for film and photography. Even better if you're sick of your film consisting of DIY PVC Pipes and hardware everywhere (not that there is anything wrong with that either, but these eliminate the DIY look)

Will update any pertinent info as I use them more - So far they have gotten plenty of use and no epic failures yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
These lights work great! I use them for a very niche type of portraiture that I do.
I anticipated the rare bulb screw base. And picked up some E14 to E26 adapters before they arrived.
When the supplied bulbs burn out. I can get much cheaper bulbs anywhere in town.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light, February 13, 2014
By 
Isadore "martiniamphibian" (Manchester, CT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
This product came with a broken light bulb and to make matters worst, I cannot replace this light bulb from stores online and locally. What good is a lamp if you cannot buy light bulbs for it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best !, January 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
I make documentary films and got tired of dragging my soft box light around until I found these lights. They are smaller and easier to carry around and set up. The stands the lights come with are strong and very stable and adjust to any hight that you need. I wish that they came with a carrying bag but I use my bag that my Cowboy Studio soft box light came in and works just fine. The lights are not to bright and at 8 to 10 feet away they are perfect to light your subject for filming. The lights get hot but not enough to burn your hands but I do give them 15 minutes to cool after shooting to safely to put back into my bag. I think they are worth the money .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good products for the price, December 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
I recently bought LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch. Product itself deserves the price for the quality. Easy to use and setup. Dimmer switch is great. Bulbs are not so bright but can't complain because that wasn't what i looking for i easily replaced them with better ones. Doing good for me so far.

Update (12/10/2013)

Additional information which is about usage area. These lights are not good for studio or film shooting by that i mean don't think they will be sufficient. However they are good for a light box and taking small product pictures. Also need to say that the bulbs which comes with these are pretty useless so don't expect a good light bulb and replace them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the price, not great, December 12, 2012
By 
D. B. D. (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
I like these lights. The fixtures are decently made and very useable. But the bulbs are actually 150W each and not so bright. One of the bulbs burned out after less than 3 hours use, and it's a very unusual bulb to replace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars missing parts, October 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
I bought this item but it came with parts missing all metalic flags or banddoors are missing its sad thati have tried to reachthem with no reply, the bulbs,the pole, are all there just the. Parts to attach are not its very sad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing product, one problem., July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
I love these lights. There is one thing that isn't the greatest about them and that is the cord length. With how tall the lights can go the cord is not long enough and I need to use an extension cord. The lights work amazingly. The dim switches make them even a better purchase. I also find the stands to be pretty sturdy as well. This is a full out recommend item by myself just purchase an extension cord with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Burns very warm but is fantastic!, July 1, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
I was so excited to get these lights in. They have a very warm color tone, but they are fantastic. We used them as fill lights. The dimmer switches work perfectly. The cords are a bit short, but an extension cord isn't a big deal. The stands are light, so if you are in a small space or have clumsy people about, you may want to sandbag these. They are perfect for what we use them for - video and photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bad Lighting, June 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 Photography Photo Studio Lighting kit, Photo Video Light Barndoor Light with Dimmer Switch, LMS682 (Camera)
This is great if you use it at a low setting, Once you turn the lights up, they begin to smoke. I sent this item back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.