Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bargain
As an amateur DSLR photographer I don't have a lot of money to spend on a studio set-up. These sockets have worked perfectly with 85 watt daylight CFL bulbs that are ten inches long. They hold the bulbs securely and have an easy off/on switch on the back of the sockets. My umbrellas mount on the sockets easily. The whole process of setting up stands, sockets,...
Published 11 months ago by Richard H.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Purchase was a little surprising!
Just received these today, haven't had a lot of time to test them under working conditions yet.
I bought two sets (four total) of these lights, one for a working set, and one for backups, they all (both sets of two) functioned when mounted on stands with CFL lamps. They seem a little delicate and cheaply made, (one umbrella set screw had hard black plastic all over...
Published 12 months ago by Artist_Illustrator


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bargain, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
As an amateur DSLR photographer I don't have a lot of money to spend on a studio set-up. These sockets have worked perfectly with 85 watt daylight CFL bulbs that are ten inches long. They hold the bulbs securely and have an easy off/on switch on the back of the sockets. My umbrellas mount on the sockets easily. The whole process of setting up stands, sockets, umbrellas and bulbs takes less than five minutes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Purchase was a little surprising!, January 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
Just received these today, haven't had a lot of time to test them under working conditions yet.
I bought two sets (four total) of these lights, one for a working set, and one for backups, they all (both sets of two) functioned when mounted on stands with CFL lamps. They seem a little delicate and cheaply made, (one umbrella set screw had hard black plastic all over the threads, which I got off with an x-acto blade), it now works like it should have.

Overall, I like the style of the lights, I try not to subject equipment to rough conditions, but I'm skeptical of the durability, as some other reviewers also state, hopefully usage will change my opinion for the better, time will tell.

Here's why I only gave *** 3 *** stars instead of more:
The lights each came in individual boxes inside the larger shipping box. Two of the lights were in what looks like factory cellophane sealed wrappers inside the box, the other two did not have these, they were just in the boxes with some loose black tie wraps lying inside?
It Sure Appears that they were opened at some point, I can't be sure if this was post Mfg, but I don't believe they left the factory like this, looks real Suspicious! I'm not going to return them, but will likely Not buy these again if I ever need replacements!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does not come with bulbs, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
They are nice. Don't expect to come with the light bulbs but all around pretty nice. The actual lightning is performed by the bulbs so they have nothing to add except for the power. You can screw them easily if you have the umbrella kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable quality for the price., January 28, 2014
By 
Mark (Lexington, KY) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
The lights seem like they are reasonably good quality.

I got them for shooting video, and I like the fact that they will fit on my light stands and use my photography accessories. They seem to work best with a shoot-thorough umbrella or umbrella box. If you use a reflecting umbrella, you get a fair amount of direct light from the bulbs, because they are no shaded. I made some shades to block the direct light, but it's no the best system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, July 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
The studio light sockets are a bit cheaply made but serve their purpose nicely. As long as you don't take it to rough on them they are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sooooooooooooo Easy, June 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
Since I purchased the one foot long fluorescent bulbs for my lighting set, my old sockets not only couldn't be used with the accompanying metal reflectors but also, the umbrella's didn't fit in the umbrella holder slots.

I ordered two of these sockets which fit nicely on the top of my stands plus my umbrellas fit properly into them.

At the backside of the socket is an easy on/off switch.

These were inexpensive and I'm happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and Effective, May 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
The cords are long and the housings are very sturdy and well crafted. Some extra plastic stuff from the molds it was made in, but not too much of a hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value and customer service v. good, too..., March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
Ordered two sets and by accident they only shipped one. Customer service immediately corrected the problem and mailed the second set (I needed four, in total). These are economical, so they're lightweight. Don't strip them out by over-tightening. These work great with CowboyStudio Set of Two 7 feet Photography Light Stands with Cases and Full Spectrum Light Bulb - Alzo 85 Watt Compact Fluorescent Cfl - Pack Of 4 - 5500K- Alzo Joyous Light Daylight Pure White Light - 4250 Lumins. Happy filming~*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
decent build quality, and affordable entry level option for beginners who are starting to build a lighting kit. cable is a wee bit short, and thin gauge, so it's probably really suited for CFLs, not sure if the components would be able to withstand a hot tungsten beyond 60W.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wish the cords were a bit longer and more sturdy but other than that they are what you need, December 24, 2014
By 
Gary Roberts (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: LimoStudio 2 x New Studio AC Socket Light Stand Mount Umbrella Holder, AGG428 (Camera)
Simple sockets work well with CFL bulbs. Wish the cords were a bit longer and more sturdy but other than that they are what you need. They are also switched at the head so you do not need to unplug them to turn off the light which is useful if your going to be using them often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.