Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK
Love the lights with umbrellas and the whole setup with the clamps, totally cool. The fabric is the only bad part. I've ironed it a few times...but the wrinkles just do not come out ugh. Otherwise it's the product is good.
Published 8 months ago by Juanita Orozco

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good lighting
havent really had a chance to try this out yet but I saw how bright the lights are and I like it so im going to try this out next week and repost my review.
Edit: Extremely too much light. These lights are crazy bright and the only way to make it better is to buy a smaller white light so they it won't blind your subject. still usable but totally not what I was...
Published 22 months ago by devante franklin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OK, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
Love the lights with umbrellas and the whole setup with the clamps, totally cool. The fabric is the only bad part. I've ironed it a few times...but the wrinkles just do not come out ugh. Otherwise it's the product is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, February 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
Product came well packaged. All pieces went together easily. Decent set up for backup, travel setup, or pro-sumer. Not a 3-500 dollar set, but didn't expect it to be. Good enough to get started with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Provides very good results, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
For a start-up and test it studio effort from a landscape photographer, this provides a low cost, yet quality system, to try out. Compare a Nikon D3200 and it's features to a D800. Both sets of photos are great because it is the way you use it for the outcome that counts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent if you're not a professional, and OK if you are., April 10, 2014
By 
Farthion (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
I did professional photography in the ancient days of film and 35mm. I've never been very happy with the quality of digital (though the convenience of it is really nice) and have a love of eating regularly, so I gave up professional photography in favor of working for a living.

Fast-forward 30 some years.

Digital photography is beginning to approach the quality of 35mm and the affordability of the working-class slobs like me, so I decided I needed something illuminating for inside work. After much consideration and research in value, quality, cost, etc. I settled on this bundle. Keeping in mind that prices often change, I found it to be an excellent little studio for the kind of limited, inside shooting I do.

The good:
- Set-up is relatively simple.
- Very portable.
- Decent lighting included.
- Backdrops are large enough for most indoor purposes.
- Very affordable

The bad:
- No clips to hold backdrops (they can drape, but you get wrinkles if you don't clip it).
- Cords for lights could use an extra six feet or so each.
- Case doesn't even come close to holding everything - only the backdrop stands.
- Not exactly professional quality.

When I ordered this, I added the cheapie clips (currently unavailable now) [http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005CRKZOM], white umbrellas [http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005AKF0XM] and a large gym bag to carry it all.

For indoor, non-professional photography of people, this is an excellent kit for those looking to expand their photography skills. It's one thing to point and shoot. It's another to work in a "studio" environment and hone one's skills in capturing the right lighting, pose, composition and other aspects of photographing people. It CAN be used for pets, but they had better be sedated or really laid back about it. It provides more than enough light for non-flash photography, which makes composition simpler prior to taking the picture. With a little thought (flipping the umbrellas around, or putting them on one side), lighting effects are easy to accomplish.

For pros: If you have a static studio and need portability, this will be a "do-for". It's not great, don't set it up in anyplace with a draft and you're set for some good shots. The backdrops can be layered to eliminate light bleed-through and with sunlight and lighting effects, the results can be pretty stunning. Just make sure you have the clips and some patience since the way the backdrops are folded, there are creases that need to be ironed out.

Back in the days of Coken filters and losing money on every bad shot, I was rather anal about making sure things were "perfect" before I ever pressed the shutter release. Today, the fudge factor is much higher (thanks in part to a general lack of manual focus in prosumer digital cameras), but the cost of taking, and examining, a photograph are nothing if you already have the camera. Assuming I get back into photography as heavily as I used to be, I'll be getting better cameras. But since I don't plan on doing it professionally, I think this studio starter bundle will provide excellent service for my relatively modest needs.

So for non-professionals who want a touch of professionalism in their photos and to inexpensively get into studio photography, this is five stars. For pros who need something in the field, this is three, since it will not replicate a full static studio in someone else's home, but it's adequate if you're a good photographer to begin with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, March 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
Needed the lights and backdrops for family pictures and this setup worked perfect...really easy to set up and well constructed...Thank You!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, May 25, 2014
By 
Gena Scott (SAN ANTONIO, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
Bought this for a Christmas gift for my daughter. She loves it. The lights are the perfect size and very bright. The screens that it comes with are very large. After everything was put together, it looks like a real professional studio! The stand that holds the screens is easy to use and sturdy. You will need to get the wrinkles out of the screens, but other than that it's very easy to assemble and I would definately recommend this to anyone looking to take professional pictures and have your very own photography studio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lighting kit!, September 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
Okay, keep in mind that you're not paying top dollar. With that being said, the muslins are rather thin but the cotton back up sheet helps out a great deal and with basic photo shop you can make the black screen work. You will need a steamer to get the wrinkles out, too. I priced similar items of higher quality and its well within the "yeah right" category. Lights are more than bright enough, almost too harsh but you can move them back and it comes out just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, August 16, 2013
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
This is my first light kit for my new photography studio. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good lighting, December 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
havent really had a chance to try this out yet but I saw how bright the lights are and I like it so im going to try this out next week and repost my review.
Edit: Extremely too much light. These lights are crazy bright and the only way to make it better is to buy a smaller white light so they it won't blind your subject. still usable but totally not what I was looking for. getting a strobe and using these as a backlight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very bright lights and the quality is great. cant beat the price, May 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Limostudio New Photo Photography Video Studio Umbrella Continuous Lighting Light Kit Set-2x Lighting Stand, 10' X 10' Black & White Double Muslin, Carrying Case_AGG712 (Electronics)
very bright lights and the quality is great. cant beat the price. the one bulb was sparking and smoking a little but I emailed the company and they got back to me the same day to send me two new bulbs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.