Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Lincoln: An Illustrated Biography
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 5, 2000
The quality of this book is what first grabs you. The paper is thick, glossy and has weight, it reproduces 19th century photographs beautifully. The text is ancillary and never intrudes upon the primary focus here, which are the photographs of Lincoln, his family and the people who shaped his extraordinary life. The text illuminates and expands upon the photographs, giving dates and other pertinent information.
If you're looking for a full-scale biography of Lincoln, look elsewhere, this is primarily a visual treat and one of the better photographic compilations on any President.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 13, 2000
Philip B. Kunhardt is to be highly commended for this outstanding photographic history of Abraham Lincoln. Not only are the photographs captivating, but the narrative of Lincolns life and the important events during his lifetime are interesting and enhance this book. Many interesting stories go along with the photographs of Lincoln from his 40's to his last days, however the most interesting part in my opinion is the month by month account of his presidency and the important events that occured. So much about the man has been written, but until this book was published not as many photos of President Lincoln were circulated or published. Just as important, are the events and stories which swirled around Lincoln. From his habits and humor to his history changing decisions are written in clarity and interesting form. His life and his loves are given with compassion, and his impossible losses of his sons and his mentally unballanced wife Mary Todd Lincoln is given unflinchingly. The last chapter of the book is about the assassination and the controversy surrounding Lincoln's remains, a very interesting and informative chapter to close with. I highly recommend this book to anyone with an interest in U.S. History or 19th Century U.S. History.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 1999
This gorgeous book is now the crowning centerpiece of my new coffee table. I am the proud owner of several Lincoln books, but none seem to capture the words unsaid in pictures quite like this. We are privy to not only Lincoln himself, but Mary Todd in her old days (adorned by a pseudo-ghost behind her), along with Robert and Tad after the White House years. Each page is filled with stories and anecdotes about our 16th president. Well worth the money listed. Indulge and enjoy your backstep into history.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2001
Kudos to the publisher Knopf and all involved on the quality of this book. The reproduction of the 19th century photographs is first rate. The sepia toned image of the great man inside the front cover is exceptionally gorgeous - just breathtaking.
John Updike said Knopf publishes the most physically beautiful books in America, and this book leads me to believe he's right.
This is not a comprehesive, scholarly biography of Lincoln, nor does it pretend to be. But the text reads well, and the Lincoln photographs are beautiful, all-inclusive and presented in sound written context. The large size of the book works particularly nicely here. Well done!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 1997
Over 400 pages of pictures of Abraham Lincoln, his family,
friends and enemies. This volume contains every known
picture of Lincoln, including the ones used on the penny and
5 dollar bill. Which are 2 of his worst presidential poses.
The compilation is so complete it contains a picture of his
horse, Old Bob, (unfortunately, there is no extant picture
of his other horse, New Bob) and his dog, Fido.

The text is easy-going and informative without any scholarly weightiness and the only mistake I could detect is on p. 71. Can you find it? The same consortium produced a very fine 4-part documentary for PBS.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2013
Beautiful, unforgettable and majestic just like every other Kunhardt Lincoln book. I could read a new book by this author every week for life if he chooses to focus on Lincoln. It's possible to truly get lost in time.

A painful little detail about the assassination that I'd never heard or read before...that the President might have seen Booth out of the corner of his eye at the very last second before Booth snuck up behind him at Ford's Theater on Apr 14 1865.

I pray that it didn't happen that way.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Very pleased with this book especially the price. It is very detailed, with numerous pictures as well as some background on those who took part in compiling this book which is almost as interesting as the book itself. I became interested in Lincoln after seeing the movie. I realizied how much I really didn't know about Lincoln before, especially the struggles he went through during his presidency trying to abolish slavery and the death threats he had against him even before his first inauguration and the loss of three of his sons four sons. Very interesting insight into this sixteenth president.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
Wonderful large book full of rare photos and memorabilia. As someone interested in both the civil war and early photography I loved this book. I bought it as a gift but decided to keep it for myself. I became interested in Philip Kunhardt while watching the documentary Living with Lincoln. This was a nice addition to the dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
I had no idea this would be such a sumptuous book and so fully of interest for me. I actually bought it to give to someone but I'm going to keep it! can hardly wait to go thru it in detail. The photographs are fantastic and new to me. Well worth buying if you are interested in history-Lincoln, the Civil war and what surrounded his life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
A well designed book that truly illustrates a picture is worth a thousand words. Thank goodness, someone out there had the obsession and then the dedication to collect all these photographs. The two people who carried on the work actually developed lung disease sorting through those pictures and archiving them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.